Home > Family > It’s a Boy!

It’s a Boy!

My wife and I welcomed our son into the world this past weekend! Mom and baby are doing well, but naturally, no one ever asks how I’m doing. So I’ll go ahead and tell you anyway.

Contractions became regular around 10:50pm – about 10 minutes apart and 20 seconds in duration. I think for D1, I timed contractions to the tenth of a second; for ?3, I got close enough. My next note is at 12am – “starting to get more intense.” About 12:15, her contractions were now a minute in length and about 12:45, we left for the birth center. We got there an hour or so later and she was 6cm, 90%, and -1 station. Around 2:10am, she was 6.5cm. Having only progressed 0.5cm in 30 minutes, I figured we were in for a long night, so I guzzled a 16oz coffee refusing to be as sleepy as I was during D2’s birth.

30 minutes later, my wife had a crucial contraction. The midwives and nurses were attending to other mothers in the birth center and I had a more than a mild freakout thinking that the baby would be born right then and there. Thankfully, only her water broke and the midwives entered the room. 4 minutes later, ?3 was crowning, and 2 minutes and 2 pushes after that, my son was born.

My wife told the midwives she didn’t want them to announce the sex of the child and she wanted to look for herself. Amusingly, she took her glasses off during the pushing and my wife, God bless her, is pretty blind without her glasses. So when ?3 initially emerged, she was inching closer and closer to his/her crotch to figure out what the sex was, exclaiming, “I…can’t see….what is it???”….”I think….it’s a boy? Is it a boy?!?!”

He weighed 7lbs14oz and was 21″ in length. He found the boob pretty quickly and had a good old time nursing. We took a nap and my mother-in-law arrived around 5:30am with food. While the midwives were making sure my wife was ok and I was packing the car, my son pooped all over my mother-in-law. Yup. A pile of meconium on her dress.

Numerous people have asked me, “So are you happy it’s a boy?” Yes, but no more happier than if it had been a girl. When I said I just wanted the baby to be healthy, I really meant it. My parents on the other hand? They were definitely happy we had a son.

Frankly, changing his diapers is a bit of a pain. Parents of sons often told me how changing a boy’s diaper is easier – that may be the case later, but right now? Not so much. You see, I too am a penis-carrying male, and as such, I’m super gentle when I wipe my son down since I know what it feels like when your testicles experience even the slightest bit of force. And I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t shocked at how big his sac was. It kind of reminded me of that dog in the Van Wilder movie.

I’m definitely tired but I’m far more in love. And also, a little addicted to how he smells.

Tomorrow: how D1 & D2 reacted to their brother and how a mohel nearly made me faint

Categories: Family Tags: ,
  1. Duffy
    May 30, 2012 at 9:43 am

    Congrats! I find boys easier change do to less crevices. However, enjoy watching your son’s relationship with his penis grow. It is a bonding experience, at least from what I have observed between My hubs and son.

    • Pop
      May 31, 2012 at 8:35 am

      Thank you!

      Lack of crevices is a plus but as he gets older, I certainly hope he learns how to wield his penis. We recently visited a friend’s house – they have a boy in kindergarten – and there was pee all over the bathroom. The husband of course, blames the son.

  2. May 30, 2012 at 9:46 am

    Ahhhh!!! I am so excited for all of you!!!
    Changing boys is a challenge since any draft of air that hits their peen is sure to trigger a yellow rain. We used to open the diaper and throw a washcloth over top.
    Yea, we are resourceful.
    Again, congrats!! I’m so happy for you all.

    • Pop
      May 31, 2012 at 8:36 am

      Thanks, Kim! We’ve already encountered the yellow rain and learned to use the washcloth. But I swear that little bugger is smarter than we think b/c when we use the cloth, he never lets it rain; but the one time we don’t cover it? SPLASH!

  3. May 30, 2012 at 10:33 am

    big fat congrats to you and your family, Pop.
    LMAO at Kim’s “yellow rain” comment. It’s true. But at least you, um, know how to handle the goods.

    • Pop
      May 31, 2012 at 8:37 am

      My wife might disagree with your statement that I know how to handle the goods. At least in the morning when I have to pee.

  4. May 30, 2012 at 11:08 am

    Awesome news!! You didn’t mention it – but I assume you took some pictures of him – these are so necessary when you want to embarrass him in his teenage years. Anyway, congratulations, Pop!

    • Pop
      May 31, 2012 at 8:44 am

      Oh…there ARE embarrassing pictures of him, for sure. We don’t Facebook much anymore, but I wonder how teens will feel when they not only see embarrassing pictures of themselves that their parents posted, but that there were dozens of Likes and comments.

  5. vanessamorrison
    May 30, 2012 at 11:20 am

    CONGRATS! Great post. I almost felt like I was in the room. We can’t wait to see pictures.

    • Pop
      May 31, 2012 at 8:37 am

      Thank you.

      (Quasi)pics coming soon. Only the ones where the kids are relatively anonymous. 😛

  6. May 30, 2012 at 11:27 am

    Congratulations!!! I’m sure the coming days are going to be a whirlwind for you all – I hope you all get to enjoy and relish them. 🙂

    • Pop
      May 31, 2012 at 8:39 am

      Compared to D1, we’re enjoying him a LOT more. I was so neurotic with D1 – basically worried that I’d inadvertently kill or disable her, or if she hit/missed milestones – that it wasn’t all that enjoyable. Now as veterans? It’s heaven. Even for 3am feeds and diaper changes.

      • May 31, 2012 at 10:50 am

        OMG. Could totally relate with the paranoia with a first-born. There were times I lay in bed not able to sleep, even after an exhausting day, worrying that I’ll wake up to find something awful had happened to her during the night, then I’d pass out eventually!

        • Pop
          May 31, 2012 at 10:55 am

          I can absolutely relate. First time D1 slept through the night, I woke up and RAN to her room b/c I thought she died.

  7. Mei^2
    May 30, 2012 at 11:38 am

    Congratulations Pop! I’m so happy for you and the family. I used to put a cold baby wipe at the side of the inner thigh before I start changing N’s diaper to avoid another the “yellow rain.” Please give wife a hug from me.

    • Pop
      May 31, 2012 at 8:39 am

      Thanks Mei^2! I can’t believe how big N is now!!!

  8. May 30, 2012 at 2:10 pm

    Congratulations!! I thought my weekend was pretty good, but yours was better! 🙂 And don’t worry too much about the tenderness of his sack…they don’t mind a good wiping. And the sack gets smaller or the rest of them gets bigger, so things aren’t always so disproportionate. 🙂 I know – I’ve had four.

    • Pop
      May 31, 2012 at 8:40 am

      LOL – I never knew that men grew into their balls.

  9. May 30, 2012 at 6:30 pm

    Congratulations!!!!! So excited for you guys and the kids.

    • Pop
      May 31, 2012 at 8:40 am

      Thank you, Nina! There’s never a quiet moment in the house these days, but it’s fun!

  10. May 31, 2012 at 12:59 am

    So very very awesome. Much love to you all…
    Enjoy the ride.

    • Pop
      May 31, 2012 at 8:41 am

      Enjoy the ride? That makes it sound like the greeting they give you prior to sending you off on a roller coaster. May as well throw my hands up and enjoy the ride!

  11. June 4, 2012 at 4:10 am

    A boy a boy a boy a boy.

    *stopping for breath**

    A boy a boy a boy a boy.

    • Pop
      June 4, 2012 at 10:18 am

      Thanks, Empress!

      xoxo
      SS

  1. August 27, 2012 at 9:53 am

Leave a Reply

