Home > Family > An Update on My Family

An Update on My Family

Good morning Readers (or those who forgot to unsubscribe). It’s been a while – so much so that I had to sit and think for a few minutes what my wordpress password was this morning.

So let’s get down to it.

What’s going on Pop?

A lot. It’s been more than 2 months since my last blog post.

– First, Baby #3 or ?3 as Poppy coined him or her is almost a week overdue. Listen kiddo, your mom’s a patient person and all but this isn’t cute. Just kidding. Sort of. Our bags have been packed and the infant car seat has been installed for more than 2 weeks. We can’t wait! I’m sure I’ll regret saying that in a day (or is it a week?) or so when I’m sleep-deprived and wondering what we were thinking when we let our kids outnumber us, but nothing a little newborn baby smell can’t solve. Seriously. Sniffing a newborn is intoxicating.

– I sprained my ankle more than a month ago playing basketball with church members. When I came home limping, my wife’s jaw dropped and she said, “You have got to be joking.” Yup. My very pregnant wife had to take care of both the kids. This effectively ended my weekend warrior career. In my defense, I sprained it when I got bumped and landed on someone’s foot. You’re right – that’s a terrible defense.

So my very pregnant wife had to drive us to the ER to get me x-rayed. We must’ve been quite the sight: a preggo pushing a guy around in a wheelchair.

While at the ER, my wife felt something itchy in her hair. ACK!!!! DOG TICK!!! We had more than a mild freakout at this point. Thankfully, it didn’t bite her.

– After we got home from the ER around midnight, I started having serious stomach pains. You see, about 7 years ago, I had symptoms of pancreatitis for 3 months. After being misdiagnosed numerous times, they finally found it was due to a duodenal duplication cyst and they removed it. I also had my gall bladder removed as a precaution. So my very pregnant wife had to drive me back to the ER. This time, she pushed me around in a wheelchair while I was carrying my crutches.

Basically, the Dr. and nurse blew me off at this point. I can’t say for sure why, but I’m guessing they thought I just came back for pain meds. Maybe that’s cynical but they seemed more annoyed by me than wanting to find out what was wrong, especially with my past history. Anywho, they discharged me after giving me pain meds and not doing anything beyond a blood test and putting me in outpatient care.

The next day, I wasn’t able to keep anything down – not even water. So I made an appointment to see the doctor a soon as possible. Thankfully, she was much more understanding and concerned.

– So for the past month, I’ve been going through a series of test. They couldn’t figure out what caused it from the tests they ran so my doctor decided to order a capsule test. My insurance deemed it cosmetic and not medically necessary so they rejected it after they initially approved it. So I have no idea what caused my pancreatitis symptoms to return. Thankfully, after about a week or so of eating nothing but jello and broth, I was able to hold down some solid food.

– That medical scare put the fear of God in me. Turning 30 (more like feeling lethargic and fat, not necessarily the fact I turned 30), spraining my ankle, and pancreatitis reminded me that I’m not guaranteed to be here to grow old with my wife and raise our kids. And since my wife will be homeschooling starting in the Fall (read: we’ll be a one-income family), I decided to finally get serious about my health.

But weren’t you serious about your health this year?

I said I was. But I was terrible at it. In fact, from the beginning of the year until I got sick, I was slowly getting depressed. I tried to eat healthier and exercise, but it seemed fruitless. Here I was, supposed to be getting excited about ?3 but instead, I’m sitting in a wheelchair in an ER waiting room, crutches in hand, with my pregnant wife sleeping in an uncomfortable seat, feeling sorry for myself.

So I decided to make a change. For real this time. Better late than never.

My wife and I finished watching Fat, Sick and Nealy Dead, which we started back in February but never finished. I had a Vitamix at home, so rather than buy a new juicer, I decided to do a 15-day juice fast using the Vitamix.

Not going to lie. It was tough at first. I think my daily caloric intake was less than 1,000 calories, which was nothing when compared with my typical caloric intake, which was closer to 3,000. But after 3 days or so, I felt great!

I lost 12lbs over the 15 days and in the 3 weeks following, I’ve lost 5 more pounds, mostly through diet (lot less meat and eating out, smaller portions) and exercise. Other than this point – ironically, a sprained ankle derailed my fitness goals at that time – I’m probably in the best shape of my life. Which leads me to my next update:

– I’ve been enjoying taking my kids to Pump It Up. I prefer Pump It Up over other bounce places because the adults can play too. I may or may not get winded trying to keep up with D1 but I love being active with my kids. A few months ago, I would’ve rather preferred taking a nap over taking my kids out to do something active.

While I’ve neglected this blog for far too long, I’m back to where I began: I want to be the best dad I can be. Go, Pop, go!

P.S. Bring on the sleep deprivation!

Categories: Family Tags: , , ,
  1. vanessamorrison
    May 24, 2012 at 9:55 am

    That was a very inspiring post, not to mention comical. I wish you and your very pregnant wife much success with the pending birth. Congrats on the weight loss and getting healthier.

    • Pop
      May 24, 2012 at 9:58 am

      Thank you! At this point, my very pregnant wife wishes she wasn’t so very pregnant. It’s always amusing to see everyone’s reactions when she’s out and about.

  2. May 24, 2012 at 12:06 pm

    Here’s to those contractions kicking in ANY MINUTE NOW. I mean ?3 has to come out sometime, right?

    Glad you’re feeling better and working toward a healthier future.

    And good luck with the sleep-deprivation. Just remember. Baby smell. Totally worth it.

    • Pop
      May 24, 2012 at 1:09 pm

      Indeed, ?3 will have to come out sooner or later. And I’ll join you in saying ANY MINUTE NOW!

  3. May 25, 2012 at 7:57 am

    Know how Chunky came out?
    Yup. Huh uh…
    Now that you are well it’s time to hop on the horse (no offense Mr. Go Pop) and scare the bejesus out of that baby to come out.
    It works.
    Sorry to hear about how you’ve been feeling. That must have been so scary. But you’re a fighter. Ready to catch a baby whenever it decides to come on out.

  4. May 25, 2012 at 7:58 am

    I mean no offese to Mrs. Go Pop Go…don’t tell her that I said horse…she is not a horse. She is a beautiful glowing pregnant woman. And then buy her some ice cream for me.

    • Pop
      May 30, 2012 at 9:33 am

      LOL. Will do.

  5. May 29, 2012 at 2:43 pm

    Good luck with ?3 . . . but I’m incredibly excited to hear about the new plans in life, even if it took tandem ER visits to manifest.

    This is the first week in a long, long while that I won’t be visiting a gym for at least an hour . . . and I’m freaking out about it a bit. I took a bike ride yesterday, and that was good – but then my sister had her second baby last night, so today is out. Tomorrow, I need to leave for travel for work. The next day, I’ll be in East Rutherford, NJ, sitting in a hotel conference room. Then I’ll be playing catch up with work all day on Friday. I’m just trying to tell myself that a single week “off” doesn’t un-do 26 weeks “on.” We’ll see, though.

    • Pop
      May 30, 2012 at 9:34 am

      Good job, John! It’s sad how a bad week (or even a day) can set you back so far, but I’m sure you won’t miss a beat next week!

  6. May 29, 2012 at 10:52 pm

    Let me be the first on your blog to say WELCOME S1! So happy for you and loved this post. Totally miss you around these parts. All baby smells are good the first month – enjoy. Congratulations to the Mrs. and the girls too. You are blessed.

    • Pop
      May 30, 2012 at 9:35 am

      Yes. The smells start to become all sorts of funky shortly thereafter.

  7. June 4, 2012 at 4:09 am

    Oh. Pop. I almost started crying. I didn’t know you were so sick! Why didn’t I feel a disturbance in the force? I’ll tell you why, b/c we’re all too wrapped up in our own you know what.

    My apologies, I am so sorry. I’m happy you’re better and happy you have energy and determination to be the best dad you can be.

    We only get one chance…thanks for reminding me today.

    xo

    • Pop
      June 4, 2012 at 10:19 am

      This comment was so sweet, it should come with an insulin shot. And yes, the bad jokes will continue on this blog.

  1. August 27, 2012 at 9:53 am

Leave a Reply

