Home > Daughter #2, iPPP > My Toddler, the Hipster

My Toddler, the Hipster

February 22, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

D2’s taken a liking to “taking photos.” My wife and I both dabble in photography, so D2 has been imitating us with the toy camera we bought for her. Last week, I decided to have a little hipster fun and let D2 take a mirror self portrait – I’m sure you’ve seen them before, or maybe you were taking mirror self portraits before they became so mainstream. Here’s the result.

Self-portraits with real cameras are so mainstream

I love her asymmetrical pigtails.

This post is part of #iPPP (iPhone Photo Phun), where we link up photos taken from our smart phones. Any smart phone.

iPhone Photo Phun

  1. Liz
    February 22, 2012 at 10:31 am

    Asymmetrical piggies are ALL the rage among the toddler set. 😉

    Thanks for joining in, Pop!!

    • Pop
      February 22, 2012 at 10:41 am

      The asymmetrical piggies are much cuter than her mullet.

  2. February 22, 2012 at 10:40 am

    I’ve tried putting my daughter in pigtails, often . . . they never, ever stay, but she gets the most amazing wavy hair once she pulls them out.

    About pictures, this past weekend, we were at a birthday party for twin 5 year old boys. Some time ago, both boys were given cheap digital cameras, and digital cameras have buttons, so we had my two toddlers taking random pictures of everything. It was kind of cute – until the boys wanted their cameras back.

    • Pop
      February 22, 2012 at 10:43 am

      You can always tell when mommy does the girls hair or I do them: it’s either some elaborate thing with ties and pins or it’s a just a hair pin holding their hair to the side.

      We got D1 a toddler camera. She loves that thing.

  3. February 22, 2012 at 10:43 am

    Those pigtails are super-awesome! So’s the picture.

    • Pop
      February 22, 2012 at 11:18 am

      Thanks! I also love all the orange stains on her shirt.

  4. February 22, 2012 at 11:43 am

    Her photo turned out so cute! Baby got skillz!

    • Pop
      February 22, 2012 at 11:45 am

      I love when she motions me over after she takes a “pic” and says, “See?!” even though it’s the same reel of cartoons. Love her!

  5. February 22, 2012 at 11:47 am

    How adorable! I love that you got her her own camera! Love the pigtails!

    • Pop
      February 22, 2012 at 2:04 pm

      her pigtails are awesome but I sure do miss her baby mohawk

  6. February 22, 2012 at 1:13 pm

    Wow, who is her stylist??? So cute!!

    • Pop
      February 22, 2012 at 2:04 pm

      Hair by mom
      Shirt accents by eating an orange

  7. February 22, 2012 at 1:39 pm

    Oh how I miss the days of pigtails and tulip tops.

    Enjoy.

    • Pop
      February 22, 2012 at 2:05 pm

      And footed jammies. D1 likes to wear two-piece PJs now…so sad.

  8. February 22, 2012 at 2:31 pm

    My kid tried to take my picture this morning with a matchbox car. Perhaps I need to invest in a toddler camera as well?

    • Pop
      February 22, 2012 at 2:32 pm

      Not at all. Imagination is great! Not to mention cheap.

  9. Klz
    February 22, 2012 at 2:47 pm

    So adorable!! She’s a natural – and I want her shirt.

    • February 22, 2012 at 3:04 pm

      She looks like such a little professional!

    • Pop
      February 24, 2012 at 8:51 am

      Tulip shirts are awesome

  10. February 22, 2012 at 4:23 pm

    So stinkin’ cute!

  11. February 22, 2012 at 4:45 pm

    You win.

    (So, so very cute!)

    Love!

  12. February 23, 2012 at 4:50 am

    Aw, cute!! I think my little man needs his own camera too. 🙂

  13. February 23, 2012 at 1:46 pm

    Now that is a facebook profile picture in the making.
    Ever see those ones? Where half of their junk is hanging out and they make those stupid duck bill faces.
    Maybe it’s just me and the fact that all of my husband’s girl relatives are whores…yea, I feel super dirty for writing that down with your cute baby girls picture there.
    I apologize.
    PS. Those pigtails rock.

    • Pop
      February 24, 2012 at 8:51 am

      You make me laugh, Kimberly. If either of my daughters start Duck Face-ing, I will have failed as a dad.

  14. February 26, 2012 at 11:39 am

    The pigtails are awesome! And, D1 and D2 are getting so big!!! I still think of D1 are your toddler, but she’s a big girl now. xoxo

    • Pop
      March 1, 2012 at 10:22 am

      It’s still strange for me not to call her a toddler.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

