Home > 30 > 30: 2 Week Check-In

30: 2 Week Check-In

January 31, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

I’m a guy that likes concrete numbers. For example, when my wife says, “Let’s go shopping!” is FAR more daunting than, “Let’s go shopping for x because I really need it.” Granted, I know the second is probably a lie anyway, but at least mentally, it allows me to prepare by thinking of how many potential stores/malls we’d need to go to find the perfect x. So when it comes to following through on my goals for my 30th year, concrete numbers help me. Every week, I’ll be posting some metrics I’ll be tracking as well as some thoughts on the past week. This week, I’ll be covering 2 weeks since I didn’t get a chance to do a check-in last week.

Previous Week’s Weight: 210 (at the start)
This Week’s Weight: 207 (lost 2lbs the 1st week; 1lb the 2nd)
# of Times Exercising: 1 the first week, 2 the second

I lost 3lbs by merely adjusting my diet, specifically, I ate more vegetables and ate in more. We set a goal that we wouldn’t go out to eat unless friends asked us to go out. Note: dear Reader, will you be that friend when I need you in a few months? Pretty please?! And who knew that I’d have a much harder time eating chocolate if I don’t buy chocolate or keep it in the house?

Another thing I’ve found helpful is not to obsess over my weight by weighing myself every day and agonizing over every single food-related decision. Taking it week-by-week is allowing me to focus on bigger goals and not being too discouraged when I do cave in – like when our office had TONS of free catered food. What can I say? I’m a sucker for free food.

I’ve also been taking weekly photos – I won’t post those here b/c I’d rather not be responsible for making you nauseous. I may post them at the end of the year though, we’ll see.

I’d still rather nap than go out and exercise. “I’ll nap in the room next to the kids just in case they wake up,” I say, even though my wife will tell you that I don’t respond when they do wake up. ^_^ So I’m making it a point to try and meet my goal of exercising at least 3 times this week.

And being the dork I am, it’s nice to know that I am 3.846% done with this experiment. My goal is that by the end of it I’ll have more energy, which will help me be the best husband and dad I can be, and that I would have developed healthy habits for life. After all, I hear kids stop napping around 4 or 5, so I can’t use that as an excuse.

What about you? How are your resolutions going? Do you miss the days your kids would take naps?

Categories: 30 Tags: , , ,
  1. January 31, 2012 at 11:03 am

    You’re off to a good start!
    Yes, I wouldn’t weigh yourself everyday…that would be maddening. Like say one day you are constipated…that would mess the numbers up…or you’re on your period and bloated…wait…that never happens to men…jerks.

    • Pop
      January 31, 2012 at 11:16 am

      Not to mention the fact that knowing exactly how much you pooped is a little disturbing. For example, on a previous diet, I was a tad constipated (who knew that there was such a thing as too much fiber?!). Then I had an epic Titanic BM (think iceberg – you see the tip above water but there’s a lot more underneath). The next morning, I lost 5lbs or so.

      TMI?

  2. January 31, 2012 at 11:07 am

    Likely, in a month or two, I’ll be in DC, looking for someone to have lunch with . . . so I’ll take you up on the “need to head out to eat” part.

    As for the rest, I’ve been a firm believer that diet is actually significantly a greater factor to weight loss than exercise (exercise being better for maintenance). The analytic me knows that it’s “if calories in > calories out, you gain weight,” but my weight has yo-yo’d all over the place, and it’s only when I’m serious about what I’m taking in (as opposed to what I’m burning off) that I can lose fat.

    That said, my weight has been keeping steady while my clothes keep fitting me better . . . there may be something to “muscle weighing more than fat.” Or, I’m just really lying to myself about what I eat on a daily basis.

    • Pop
      January 31, 2012 at 11:19 am

      haha. You sir are a good friend.

      I agree. Now if I can manage to do both (exercise and eat healthy), I’ll be golden.

  3. January 31, 2012 at 3:02 pm

    Once you eat a lot more vegetables and a lot less chocolate, your body will start to crave the healthy stuff instead of the junk.

    So I’ve heard.

    (I may have cried when my kids stopped napping. I may still cry. So keep up the good work while you can…)

  4. February 2, 2012 at 10:55 am

    OK.

    OK.

    I’ll put away the chocolate.

    GO FIT WIN…win one for Samoa!!

    • Pop
      February 17, 2012 at 10:20 am

      STEP. AWAY. FROM. THE. CHOCOLATE…..SLOWLY.

  5. February 7, 2012 at 5:43 pm

    Well done on the progress so far! I finally got my butt in gear (whenever I say that, my husband always says, “make sure you don’t put it in reverse” lol) and started the 17 Day Diet and have lost 5 lbs this first week. Not exercising much though so I need to get with it on that front.

    • Pop
      February 17, 2012 at 10:20 am

      LOL. You’ve got one funny husband! Exercising’s been the difficult thing for me – hard to find time/motivation. 😛

  6. February 15, 2012 at 7:31 pm

    Good for you! I’m also still working on exercising consistently and eating more veggies and other good stuff (and less bad stuff). It’s going well so far!

    • Pop
      February 17, 2012 at 10:19 am

      Good job, Nina! You can do it!!!

  7. February 17, 2012 at 10:18 am

    Hey…don’t take this the wrong way..please…don’t..but di dyou see Fat Chef last night?

    Right? amirite?
    how incredible did they look? Granted, they elapsed 4 months worth of weight loss into a one hour show but shazaam!

    • Pop
      February 17, 2012 at 10:19 am

      LOL. I’m not familiar with that show, but I will be this weekend.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

