Home > Son #1 > A Longing Fulfilled

A Longing Fulfilled

November 30, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Part 1 is here if you missed it yesterday.

While my wife took care of the copay, I took the referral for the sonogram and hurriedly called the closest locations, hoping that we could get squeezed in that evening even though it was already 4:58pm. The first location I called led me through some menus and then to the prerecorded message: “We’re sorry. The office is now closed. Our normal business hours are 8am to 5pm Monday throu….” I hung up and hurriedly called the second location. Same message. ARGH! At this point, I’m panicking more than a little. I called the third location and…YES! A human! While they couldn’t see us that evening, she scheduled us for the very first appointment available the next day at 12:45pm. The drive home was filled with anxiety.

I always have a lot to say but I’ve learned over two pregnancies that it’s best for a man to keep his mouth shut whenever it comes to anything regarding pregnancy. Telling a woman, “WOW! I’ve seen my fair share of pregnant women but you are PREG NANT!” will get you slapped and ensure you won’t be getting any action in the foreseeable future; telling a woman the wrong thing in a situation like this could wound her for the foreseeable future.

“Remember at the couples retreat a few weeks ago,” my wife began, “and how they prayed for all the pregnant women? I felt like a fraud because the other ladies were clearly pregnant. Maybe I imagined this whole thing? What if the baby’s gone?” Numerous other what if’s followed but for some reason, I was sure the baby was still in there. I placed my hand on my wife’s belly and reassured her, “It’s going to be ok.” What else could I say?

My wife texted a few ladies, one who went through numerous miscarriages. We got home and I told my mom the news. We agreed that we’d be praying. Hard.

The Bible says, “Hope deferred makes the heart sick, but a longing fulfilled is a tree of life.” Our house had been on the market for a very long time. We got an offer in late September but the potential buyer flaked out. It looked like our home would never be sold. Finances were getting tight and living with my parents was challenging. To my wife, this just seemed like another case of hope being deferred.

The next morning, as we were getting ready for work, my mom pulls me aside and says, “You know you lost the baby because you told people too early, right?” Most Koreans I know are more than a littlestitious, and my mom is no different. Apparently, one of her friend’s daughters told people immediately after she got pregnant and she miscarried. For D1 and D2, we waited until the 1st trimester was over before making announcements; for this one, we announced it about a month and a half in.

After a half day of work, I picked my wife up and we headed to the radiologist. The way my wife was carrying that referral, you’d think it weighed a ton. She also had to pee really bad. As if it’s not enough that they insist your bladder be completely full, they then jab around your bladder with the vaginal ultrasound thing.

The technician inserted the probe and

Baby #3

Categories: Son #1 Tags: , ,
  1. November 30, 2011 at 10:19 am

    Congratulations!

    • Pop
      November 30, 2011 at 10:27 am

      Thank you!

  2. November 30, 2011 at 10:25 am

    YAY!!!!! So glad for this happy picture! My doc couldn’t find a heartbeat at first, and there are so many reasons – but the anxiety is insane. Congrats, friend!

    • Pop
      November 30, 2011 at 10:27 am

      The anxiety was insane. Thanks!

  3. Tu-Van
    November 30, 2011 at 11:25 am

    OMG – congratulations! May your family be as beautiful and happy as ever πŸ™‚

    • Pop
      November 30, 2011 at 3:06 pm

      Thanks Tu-Van! Bringing another carnivore into the world!

  4. November 30, 2011 at 12:03 pm

    I know all about the having to pee during an ultrasound. I had a 20 week ultrasound recently, and ended up having to leave to go to the bathroom like 4 times during it. lol

    I also know the feeling of anxiety during and after an ultrasound. I’ve experienced both the best (“oh there there it is.”) and the worst (“it’s a blighted ovum…”) outcomes.

    Yet, praise God for His faithfulness!

    • Pop
      November 30, 2011 at 3:07 pm

      20 weeks? Congrats!

      And amen on praising God for His faithfulness! We definitely have much to be thankful for!

  5. November 30, 2011 at 12:05 pm

    Phew! I am so glad to see how this turned out! Congratulations, and well done. Obviously a good looking kid! πŸ˜‰

    • Pop
      November 30, 2011 at 3:09 pm

      Good looking? Goes without saying. Just look at the mom πŸ˜›

      And we know we are very, very fortunate this one didn’t end in heartache. But it definitely woke us up to the need to pray. hard.

  6. TK
    November 30, 2011 at 1:06 pm

    Praying for a continued healthy pregnancy and a successful delivery. I am happy for your family Pop!

    • Pop
      November 30, 2011 at 3:09 pm

      Thanks, TK! We are very excited! Though I’m still getting used to the idea that we’re going to be outnumbered.

  7. November 30, 2011 at 1:38 pm

    Whew!!!!! What a relief. So thankful. Yay for B3! πŸ™‚

    • Pop
      November 30, 2011 at 3:10 pm

      YAY B3! Wonder if it’ll be D3 or S1? Hmmm….

  8. November 30, 2011 at 3:33 pm

    Oh,

    sigh of relief.

    HAPPY NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Pop
      December 1, 2011 at 9:41 am

      Thank you, Empress! Hope all is well!

  9. November 30, 2011 at 3:47 pm

    That was a little too dramatic even for me! So happy for all of you.

    • Pop
      December 1, 2011 at 9:42 am

      Kid isn’t even born and already giving me heartburn.

  10. November 30, 2011 at 4:03 pm

    Squee! So happy to see the follow up post is full of good news. Congratulations πŸ™‚

    • Pop
      December 1, 2011 at 9:42 am

      Thank you! Yeah, I didn’t want to wait too long before posting the follow-up

  11. November 30, 2011 at 4:55 pm

    I couldn’t even comment yesterday because….well because.

    So now I’m happy to wish you all so much joy.
    And good luck with the pregnant lady πŸ˜‰

    • Pop
      December 1, 2011 at 9:44 am

      3rd time around, I’m a PRO! So far…

  12. kim
    December 1, 2011 at 7:10 am

    Totally crying over here. I read one post after the other and I was literally holding my breath. Praise God! So thrilled for you all — 3! It’s such fun!

    • Pop
      December 1, 2011 at 9:44 am

      Thanks, Kim! We’re definitely looking forward to it.

  13. December 1, 2011 at 9:26 am

    And now…I can breathe…
    Congrats on number 3!!!
    What a way to start into this world wee one..giving your parents a coronary already.

    • Pop
      December 1, 2011 at 9:45 am

      I know right? I hope this isn’t a sign of things to come (though likely)

  14. December 3, 2011 at 2:35 am

    Congratulations, Pop! You’re on for quite a ride… This baby is going to give you grey hair!

    Your story reminds me of the time I was pregnant with my first child and I hurt my back and ended up in excruciating pain. I went to urgent care to get examined. While there they used the doppler to check the baby’s heart rate. Since I was in so much pain, they wanted to make sure the baby was not under stress.

    The doctor tried for almost 10 minutes to find a heartbeat and couldn’t. I was in tears and my husband didn’t look well either. I couldn’t believe this was happening as I was already 4 months along and had 2 miscarriages before this pregnancy.

    Well, some other doctor came over and within 30 seconds had a heartbeat. I cried of joy and that’s when I knew I just loved that baby so much!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

