Home > God > Pop and Fam Go to Thailand – Part 3

Pop and Fam Go to Thailand – Part 3

I have a well-documented hatred for mosquitoes (here, here, here, here, here, and here). My hatred for mosquitoes has only grown since having D1 and D2. Not only because of the diseases they can carry but because D1 and D2 scratch the crap out of their bites. I’m not gonna lie – there’ve been instances where I’ll tell D1, “D1, stop scratching your mosquito bites!” only to have my wife tell me, “Uhhh, hun. You’re scratching yours…” ^_^

To make matters worse, my parents read an article in the Korean Newspaper that talked about malaria and other diseases mosquitoes can carry shortly before we left for Thailand (for those planning on traveling to Thailand with kids, malaria can be a problem in some areas according to the CDC). If you know anything about Korean immigrants, they believe everything the newspaper says (think Fox News). So for about 2 weeks, I kept hearing how we need to protect our kids from mosquitoes every.single.day. from my parents.

In previous visits to Thailand, I’ve found that mosquitoes love me. The locals say it’s because I’m fat (seriously, I’m an XL there; M to L here) and I eat a lot of sugar (guilty). The nice thing is, even mosquitoes in Thailand don’t mess with the heat, so you don’t have to worry about being bitten between 10am and 5pm. But after that, it’s like a high blood sugar buffet for those pests when I’m there.

So on Sunday, July 17, we were heading up to our pastor friend’s home for dinner around 7pm. D1 and I playfully ran ahead of my wife, D2, our pastor friend, his wife, and 2 of his kids. We raced up the hill, and as usual, she won. I opened the door to enter the house and told D1, “HURRY! Or mosquitoes will come in.” We enter the doorway and I tell her to take off her shoes. I go to close the door since we’re both inside and then D1 SCREAMS! I look down thinking that something bit her feet and see nothing. She continues to scream and I look over at the door and I closed the door on her finger. I figured it’d just be bruised and calmly opened the door.

Now my wife and I aren’t the type to normally cuss, but I definitely screamed *($##^* in my mind. Her hand was positioned in the doorway in such a way that my closing the door on it caused the fingernail of her right index finger to tear completely off of her finger and loosely hang on by a sliver of skin, and was bleeding profusely. I remained calm, or at least tried to, picked her up, and slowly walked back towards the rest of the group, who had just made it up the hill. I calmly call out, “I think I need some help.” Once everyone saw the finger, they knew we had to rush to the hospital.

*&%* You are such an *#$&ing idiot! I repeating to myself in my mind. Not even a week into the trip and I hurt D1 like that. We put an ice pack on the finger and rush to the nearest hospital.

But what was amazing was how the day worked out. We tried to put D1 down for a nap earlier, but for whatever reason, she would not nap. So by this point, she was so utterly exhausted that she slept through the entire ride over to the hospital. Thank God.

When we get to the hospital, the doctors decide to clip the little bit of skin and take the fingernail off. So far, she’d been a trooper but no one likes getting open wounds cleaned, and she about screamed her head off.

The doctor taped it up with a lot of gauze and told us to keep it dry and come in for cleanings daily for about a week. Great….keeping a toddler’s finger dry in the rainy season in Thailand.

On the ride home, she’s still exhausted and looks sleepy. I’m feeling horrible at this point and replaying that moment over and over and over and over. Why the #$& was I so concerned about mosquitoes?!?! I’m such an idiot!!! GAH!!!!

And then…

In the softest whisper…”daddy, I love you.”

If that’s not grace, I don’t know what is.

The doctors prescribed a crap load of medication, mostly antibiotics and pain meds. But since she missed her nap earlier, she was absolutely exhausted and slept through the night without any medication.

Thankfully, there’s a nurse on-site at the hostel we stayed at, so she was able to clean it – my wife ended up calling the saline solution she used to rinse D1’s finger  princess water. That made the daily cleanings much more fun.

It was a challenge keeping the gauze dry and concern over it getting infected did wonders for my prayer life.

It’s sad for me to admit, but it took me injuring her, her courage through the situation, and the grace she showed me that began a change of heart in me.

  1. August 24, 2011 at 11:00 am

    Ouch … so glad you are back safe and sound and sharing all your experiences with us!
    What a blessing … cannot wait to hear more about all your ‘happenings’

    • Pop
      August 25, 2011 at 11:40 am

      Thanks Nicole! Hope you’ll enjoy the rest of the posts!

  2. August 24, 2011 at 11:07 am

    It’s so hard when we injure our kids on accident. A few months ago, I was swinging my daughter by the arms for just a little bit, and I pulled her elbow out of socket. I felt so bad! But thankfully, we got it fixed up and she hasn’t been holding a grudge against me. 80) I’m not sure I’d feel the same way if someone yanked my elbow out of its socket.

    • Pop
      August 25, 2011 at 11:41 am

      I’m not sure how I would feel if someone tried to pick the boogers hanging out of my nose like I do to D1 and D2.

  3. August 24, 2011 at 12:37 pm

    I remember, being in high school and at an acolyte convention in DC when my sister got her finger stuck in a door . . . that was a LONG night in an emergency room. I, seriously, can’t put myself in your shoes.

    But, obviously, things came out ok – and that “moment of clarity” is wonderful – even if it had to come at such a difficult cost.

    • Pop
      August 25, 2011 at 11:42 am

      It’d be nice if clarity came without such high prices. Is there such a thing as discount clarity? And does it go by the name Malt Beverage?

  4. August 24, 2011 at 3:34 pm

    I’m cringing in pain just thinking about losing my fingernail. Urghness. That said, I’ve lost plenty of toenails, and while it’s painful, the pain quickly goes away. Your daughter probably won’t even remember it in a few weeks. And I’m so glad you’ve found a beautiful lesson in all of it.

    • Pop
      August 25, 2011 at 11:43 am

      It looked HORRIBLE for the first week or so. Now it just looks like there’s something missing.

  5. August 24, 2011 at 9:07 pm

    EEKS….really though accidents do happen. Like this one time my husband forgot to buckle the straps on the swing and my son fell out and cracked his head on a brick.
    I think that his guilt hurt more than the actual injury my son sustained. Kids are very resilient (that doesn’t give you the go ahead to test that theory out by the way) and their hearts are ever forgiving.
    So glad that her finger is going to be ok

    • Pop
      August 25, 2011 at 11:43 am

      Kids are incredibly resilient. And forgiving. Thank God for that.

  6. August 26, 2011 at 5:37 pm

    Having taken Chalupa to the hospital twice this year, I know of what you speak. And boy does it suck. But your right, kids are such troopers and so resilient. Princess water – perfect! Glad everything turned out okay.

    • Pop
      August 27, 2011 at 10:01 am

      Wife is a genius! D1 loves princess water!

  7. August 26, 2011 at 7:38 pm

    A little princess water fixes everything. Except Malaria. And then you would never hear the end of it from your parents.

    • Pop
      August 27, 2011 at 10:02 am

      haha. Definitely.

  8. TK
    August 26, 2011 at 11:35 pm

    Children are always the first to forgive. I truly believe that I learn more from my children than they will ever learn from me.

    • Pop
      August 27, 2011 at 10:03 am

      If I could forgive as quickly as they do, I’d be a much better person. If I got over things as quickly as they do, my wife would a much happier person 😛

  9. August 28, 2011 at 5:12 am

    Oh poor baby but she’s such a trooper. Proud moment there for sure that you are raising strong brave girls! Standing ovation 😀

  10. August 30, 2011 at 1:36 pm

    I second the “strong, brave girls” statement.

    You are human, true. But you showed quick-thinking and compassion in the face of an accident.

    Of course your little girl loves you.
    No matter what.

    That’s the best blessing of all…

  11. September 11, 2011 at 12:47 am

    Beautiful grace in action. I hope you forgave yourself as much as you were forgiven.
    🙂

    • Pop
      September 14, 2011 at 12:37 pm

      Hi Angelia!

      Yeah, I find the following scenario happens all too often: I’m sulking because I feel like a terrible dad, but D1 has moved on and has done an infinite number of things during that time. Thanks for the reminder! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

