Home > Amusings > I’m ALIVE!…I think

I’m ALIVE!…I think

How long has it been since I’ve logged into my blog? It took me several concentrated minutes to remember my login and password. So if you’re still following this here blog, I’ve missed interacting with you and I hope to catch up with my favorite bloggers here shortly.

So where have I been? Well, for the past 3 months, my wife and I were preparing to take our family on a month-long missions trip to Chiang Rai, Thailand. Between this and the stresses of trying to sell a home, not to mention the stress joy that comes with raising a toddler and infant, I had zero creative thoughts to share with you on this blog. Anywho, our church has been sending teams to the same ministry since 2004 and my wife and I led 2 teams (’06 and ’07) prior to having kids. In 2009, we took D1 on a 1-week trip to visit our friends in Thailand prior to spending 3 weeks in South Korea. This year, we lead a team of 6 and it was incredible!

By God’s grace, my wife and I somehow managed to survive a total of 40 hours of travel with 2 kids. But between jet lag and D1, D2 and myself catching pretty nasty colds toward the end of the trip, the last week has been torture interesting.

So I’m back and I hope to share some awesome stories and pictures of our summer abroad.

How was your summer?

  1. August 15, 2011 at 10:18 am

    Wow! Amazing. I can’t wait to hear more about your mission trip.

    So glad to see you appear in my email this morning – welcome back!

    • Pop
      August 15, 2011 at 10:28 am

      Hi Missy! Thanks! I’ve certainly missed you and your writing this summer. But trust me, I did my fair share of wondering this summer, e.g., wondering what in the world we were thinking bringing two kids across the globe 😛 Hope you’ve enjoyed your summer!

  2. KLZ
    August 15, 2011 at 10:34 am

    I was just thinking about you yesterday. Glad to hear that things went succesfully – hope everyone’s colds are better.

    • Pop
      August 15, 2011 at 10:38 am

      Thanks, KLZ! We’re slowly getting better. D1 needed to get antibiotics though. How’s your summer been?

  3. August 15, 2011 at 12:14 pm

    That is awesome. The missions trip, not the travelling and colds! Welcome home. I hope life is much less stressful for you now. I got promoted at work and finally have a permanent position with benefits & job security. Well, I’m on probabation for 3 mo but if I don’t mess up during that time, THEN I’ll have job security. 🙂

    • Pop
      August 15, 2011 at 1:01 pm

      That’s awesome! The job, not the probation.

  4. NotJustAnotherJennifer
    August 15, 2011 at 12:27 pm

    Wow! That’s so cool! I can’t wait to hear all about it. Summer here has been… HOT. Well, I did a photo post link up that summarizes it when you get a minute. http://midwestmomments.blogspot.com/2011/08/shells-summer-link-up.html
    Glad to have you back!

    • Pop
      August 15, 2011 at 1:00 pm

      I’ll definitely have to check that out!

  5. August 15, 2011 at 12:30 pm

    You have been so missed. I just checked your blog a few days ago to see if there was any activity. I can’t wait to hear all about your mission trip in detail please and even the colds too. I’m all about the snot.

    • Pop
      August 15, 2011 at 1:02 pm

      Thanks, Poppy! Don’t you worry – I’ll bring the snot.

  6. August 15, 2011 at 2:50 pm

    The summer has been quite interesting on this side – constant, busy, non-stop, crazy . . . how many more adjectives can I use to say that I don’t even know what day it is half of the time?

    Glad you’re back & with us – may you recover from those colds quickly (I’m incapable of flying anywhere without picking up a cold of some sort) and get back here to share your stories!

    • Pop
      August 16, 2011 at 1:02 pm

      After stopping by your blog, I think you are excused from not remembering what day it is.

  7. August 15, 2011 at 4:13 pm

    I just stumbled across your blog today while searching for poop advice. Er, #2 potty training advice. I enjoyed the writing and got sucked into reading several of your other blog posts. Good stuff! I’m looking forward to reading more about your kids, wife, relationship with Christ and cooking. 80)

    • Pop
      August 16, 2011 at 1:03 pm

      Thanks for stopping by Sarahbeth, and I wish it were under better circumstances. Then again, D2 has entered the ripping-my-poopy-diaper-off stage so things aren’t that great for me either.

  8. August 16, 2011 at 2:22 am

    Good to hear from you..and when, will there be a post on the missions trip???

    How did the DD ‘s do???

    • Pop
      August 16, 2011 at 1:04 pm

      Empress!

      I’ll be posting on the trip shortly. And I hope to get a lot of it down on the blog so I can remember it in the future.

      The DD’s did really well. The other people on the planes? I can’t necessarily say the same.

  9. August 16, 2011 at 10:36 am

    Fantastic to see you around!! I can’t wait to hear about the trip! Have you been able to sell your house, or is that a work in progress? Hope it’s going/went well!

    • Pop
      August 16, 2011 at 1:06 pm

      Still a work in progress. We just dropped the price by $15k so we’ll see what happens. Living at my parents hasn’t been all terrible but after we got back from Thailand, we ended up hosting my cousin and her two sons (7 and 4) in our home. That has been less than pleasant but it has made me (and my food budget) grateful that we don’t have sons.

  10. August 16, 2011 at 12:51 pm

    WOW impressive! Welcome home, Pop! Can’t wait to read more about your journey in spreading God’s love in Thailand 😀

    • Pop
      August 16, 2011 at 1:06 pm

      Thanks, Maureen! First post should be ready tomorrow. WOOT!

  11. August 16, 2011 at 1:30 pm

    Looking forward to reading all about it. And yes, you are a SAINT for travelling FORTY HOURS w/ 2 kids. WOW…that or mental.

    My summer: maternity leave, YEAH! Returning to work, boo and BlogHer…um, still in detox.

    • Pop
      August 16, 2011 at 1:34 pm

      A mental saint?

      Most people rest during maternity leave not train for a triathlon. But you go! And based on several recaps I’ve read, it seems blogher is light on the blog and heavy on the wine.

  12. Liz
    August 16, 2011 at 7:29 pm

    I TOTALLY thought you were gone! You have been so inactive from the blogging and social media world, but I get it. And I think it’s great you cut away to live LIFE that we bloggers too often neglect doing. 🙂

    • Pop
      August 17, 2011 at 9:08 am

      I’d never be gone, gone…I think. But definitely enjoyed a month with the family.

  13. August 17, 2011 at 3:35 pm

    Okay – so my summer has been and still is beautiful, but I’m humbled by what has occupied your time in the past few months…

    Glad you returned safely and I hope it was a lovely, enlightening, fulfilling trip…

    Hooray for family time! (and also for being home again).

    • Pop
      August 27, 2011 at 10:00 am

      Family time is the absolute best!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

