Home > Family > Home

Home

This was the place we fell in love with after looking at numerous other locations.

This was what caused me to call my fiancée excitedly, “They accepted!”

This was the reason we signed and initialed endless forms.

This was the place I carried my wife across the threshold after our honeymoon.

This was where my wife and I had our biggest fights and learned all the more that we are better together than we are apart.

This was where we once fed 20+ high school students and 20+ college students on consecutive days.

This was where I honed my BBQ skills.

This was where I learned to edit videos (and play Starcraft).

This was where, after 9 painful, stressful months of having trouble conceiving, the pregnancy test finally read: “Pregnant.”

This was D1’s first room.

This was where I learned the joys of parenthood.

This was also where I cried out to God, “God, why have You forsaken me?” when my wife was having trouble with breastfeeding, we had issues soothing D1, and we were all exhausted.

This was where she said her first word: umma! And said, “Appa” for the first time.

This was where she learned to say, “No.”

This was where she got timeouts.

This was where D1 took her first steps.

These are the stairs D1 learned to climb up.

These are the stairs D1 fell down. Whoops!

This was where we wintered several blizzards & have awesome photos like this.

This was our respite from a long workday.

This was often a headache that needed repairs and often took up many of our weekends.

This wasn’t just siding and building materials; it was where countless memories were made over the past six years.

This was home.

And now, this is goodbye.
————————–
Over the past 4 months, as my wife and I have been contemplating moving, we’ve often wrestled with our decision. Fact is, since we plan on having 4 kids, a 2 bedroom townhouse is going to be rather tight so we knew that we’d eventually have to move. So we thought about putting our house on the market by appointment only, which meant we’d have to clean up the house whenever there would be a showing. The fact that we never managed to actually clean the house tells of how tough it is to keep a neat house with 2 small kids. So we thought about putting off the move until next year. But after prayerful consideration, we’ve decided to move forward. We’ll be moving all of our stuff out, moving in with my parents (a likely source of blog fodder) and hoping to sell soon.

I’m a fairly nostalgic guy – as evidenced by my collection of cards my wife has given me over the years, which I consider one of my prized possessions and the fact that I find it so hard to say goodbye. So we’re doing a video walk-through of our house today and recalling all the memories we’ve had in the home.

What about you? What are some of your favorite memories of your first home?

Categories: Family Tags: , ,
  1. April 26, 2011 at 11:38 am

    Hey – congratulations on a new chapter of life. It is hard to say goodbye, but you’ll have so many new stories to tell. Life goes on – and it will be great. Just don’t off yourself while you’re with your parents. Hell, if I can live with my mother in law for three and a half months – you can surely handle yours. Cause I bet they aren’t nearly as horrid as mine. I was nice about it on the blog though, since her kids read it.
    A-hem. Got a little off the mark there. Sorry.

  2. April 26, 2011 at 11:42 am

    I moved a lot as a kid – and even have moved since I’ve been married. I wish I had memories like this in one home…so far, we’ve got a lot – but I know it’s not our forever home. The memories will go with you…

  3. KLZ
    April 26, 2011 at 11:50 am

    It’s hard to leave the place your mind pictures. It’s for the best though, I’m sure. Good luck!

  4. April 26, 2011 at 12:15 pm

    I will always remember the first home I lived in as my safe haven. I spent half of my life in that one home.

    Now I will remember the house I live in now (the first home I owned) as the place where my babies came home to.

    Good luck with selling!

  5. April 26, 2011 at 12:45 pm

    Just think of all the new memories you’re going to create!

  6. April 26, 2011 at 1:35 pm

    I’m living this nightmare: the cleaning every morning to make sure its ready to show. Its been a bitch.
    But moving in with family, I’m thinking may be worth it…AND the fodder, oh, the fodder! But then, think of the free child care? Date night? Yeah baby!

    Good luck. I wish for you a timely and as pain free as possible sale!

  7. April 26, 2011 at 2:26 pm

    Our first home was a condo in Adams Morgan. I had hoped this last move was final since we are probably done with having kids. But now we are thinking of moving back down south. I hate packing. I would rather sell everything and start over. Good luck!

  8. April 26, 2011 at 2:59 pm

    My sister got devastatingly drunk a little while ago, because she was convinced that my dad was selling the house we grew up in. We moved there before I was three, when my sister was barely a month old. My parents divorced when both my sister & I were in our 20’s, so the house has changed somewhat since my mom hasn’t lived there . . . and my sister somehow managed to deal with that. But, selling it (which was never in the plan – at least, it hasn’t been yet) drove her over the edge.

    Me, it’s a house. I’ve never felt the connection to inanimate objects – houses, cars, momentos . . . sure, it’s great to have a little knick-knack to remind you that you’ve been somewhere, but that’s all it is, and if it’s not that knick-knack reminding you of a memory, something else will.

    I realize that I probably need to come up with some sort of sentimentality in the near future with the kids – but, even then, I have no issues throwing/giving away a favorite toy that, simply, isn’t played with.

  9. April 26, 2011 at 6:50 pm

    Exciting news! I’ve always loved moving, prob something to do with my distant gypsy heritage I expect. Hate the moving process though and detest seeing the old house empty once everything’s been packed. Hope it’s a smooth move for you 😀

  10. April 26, 2011 at 8:47 pm

    Even though I love my home, I took great pleasure in taking a hammer to the bathroom wall 2 weekends ago. What? The bathroom was entirely decorated in pink. Every time I took a poop I got angry because of all the pink. Angry poops. Angry.

  11. April 27, 2011 at 9:18 pm

    I feel for you. But I cannot wait for some blog stories related to the parental living arrangements.

  12. April 28, 2011 at 2:51 am

    I remember our first home we bought together, and the little twang I felt when moving out. Such good memories.

    Good luck with your move! Moving with 2 kidlets in tow… you might be my new hero. Not to mention living with the parents. 🙂

  13. April 29, 2011 at 4:10 pm

    My husband and I closed escrow and received the keys to our first home on June 22, 1996. On June 22, 1997, our first child was born.

    Two years later, we brought our baby girl home to meet her big brother.

    Christmases and birthday parties and births? Yes. To all that.

    But also, in between stuff: the dinners and baths and naps and laundry. All of it.

    I cried the day we moved. Ten years ago this summer.

    And yet I have never once regretted our decision.

    Now we have two homes of memories. Two places we filled to bursting with love.

    Always.

  14. Kim
    May 6, 2011 at 2:17 pm

    We’re on house #2, it’s where our last 2 kids were born, I fell into the depths of depression, clawed out of it and have learned the love of family. I miss the simiplicity of house #1, the easy way I cleaned it and lived there. But new, larger memories are growing here. I wish the same for you! (and awe.some times with the rents.)

  15. May 6, 2011 at 7:01 pm

    I think it’s great you’ll soon get the chance to move into a house you really like and that your kids will call home hopefully for a long time. We moved a year and a half ago, when my kids were 3 and 1 and 1/2. My oldest still remembers the old house a little, my youngest not at all. I hope we get to stay where we are until they move out, or even longer. I moved many times as a kid and I think the home should be a kid’s constant, especially in today’s uncertain world. You’re doing the right thing.

  16. May 11, 2011 at 3:14 pm

    Oh, Pop, I totally know what you’re going through, having gone through a nostalgic goodbye ourselves with the place that first housed and welcomed us as a family. But you know what? We are in our new place now and it’s wonderful – a decision that was absolutely right for us and this growing family, and somehow, we’ve managed not to look back, in spite of the memories. Guess it helps that my daughter loves it here.

    Good luck on the sale of your place, your move to another and the interim solution with your parents. Sounds like blog fodder for sure!

  17. Melinda
    May 11, 2011 at 5:18 pm

    What a sweet walk through the history of the house. My first one was the only one I had built and did “sweat equity” which means I (family and friends) installed the insulation, painted the entire inside starting with drywall, and seeded the yard, so I was only sad to leave because I had such a role in the building of it. And..I brought home my first child there. Occasionally I drive by to see how it’s doing. 🙂

  18. May 17, 2011 at 2:31 pm

    It’s so bittersweet, isn’t it? My parents moved a lot when I was a kid. A LOT. They flipped houses to make extra money so they could afford for my mom to stay home with us. I think I lived in 13 houses? The longest I’ve lived anywhere was with my roommates before I got married – 4.5 years. The house my parents are currently in and the first house DH and I lived in after we were married run a close second at 4.25 years each. Now that DH and I are in our “forever” house, we plan to be here, well, forever. Or at least until our old, arthritic knees prompt us to move to a retirement village. I’m incredibly sentimental, so even though DH and I were only in our first house together a short time, it was the toughest move I’ve ever made. So many firsts for us there, too. Best of luck to you on finding your dream home!

  19. May 24, 2011 at 10:41 pm

    Aww – what a touching post! I love how sentimental you are and how you remember all the good (and tiring) memories that were made in the house. We moved around so much growing up that a house was less important than the home (wherever my parents were). xoxo

  1. January 24, 2012 at 9:54 am
  2. February 17, 2012 at 9:56 am
  3. November 29, 2012 at 9:47 am

Leave a Reply

