Home > Blog Memes > HALP! I Haz Blogstipation!

HALP! I Haz Blogstipation!

Bethany over at Organic Enchilada just chided me for not blogging in all of April. My initial response was much like the response I give my wife when she reprimands me for not doing something for a long time: “What??? How dare you! I’m pretty sure I did [whatever I am being reprimanded for].” So I open up my blog, blow off the dust  and sure enough my last post was on March 31. ^_^

It seems there’s quite a massive case of blogstipation going around. Whether it be lack of motivation, lack of clever ideas, or trying to find your bloggy self, it seems I’m many bloggers are struggling.  So what is it? Is the Internet hitting critical mass where there are so many content creators that it’s hard to come up with any new ideas? Or maybe we’ve been feeding ourselves too much pulled pork and not enough vegetables and we’re backed up like D1 was and can’t pass a massive turd of a post and need the help of someone to reach in and pull that post out of us. Well, Bethany, congratulations! You just grabbed the groundhog and pulled it out of my a…errrr, blog.

Being a responsible blogger, before writing a post related to constipation I decided to do some research and it led me to this Wikipedia page: the Bristol Stool Scale. It was developed by Dr. Ken Heaton, and it’s safe to say, he’s had a pretty crappy job. And his 7 types reminded me of this old, old page: The Different Types of Poop. Wow. I can’t believe I linked to an angelfire page on my blog. I feel like I should sign up for an AOL account and throw up some random gifs like Strong Bad’s website.

Anywho, I’m hoping to get on an Internetamucil program here shortly and should be more regular, but until then, what are some of your remedies for blogstipation?

  1. April 21, 2011 at 9:36 am

    I’ve got blogstipation too! I love the word you’ve coined. Surely don’t know how to get out of it. Thought about going with a picture blog, or a good ol’ tag.
    I’m not going to click on your poo links. Too early for that. Maybe tonight, after a few cocktails.

    • Pop
      April 21, 2011 at 9:39 am

      The pages will be -that- much more entertaining after a few cocktails.

  2. April 21, 2011 at 9:41 am

    I’ve got it too! But maybe it’s mommy brain, my 3 are driving my NUTS lately! lol! Not sure what it is, but hopefully I can get a nice flow soon. 🙂

    • Pop
      April 21, 2011 at 9:44 am

      It’s hard for me to think straight now that I’ve got 2 little ones running around – I can’t imagine what it’s like with 3.

      Yay for flow! I’ve got a ton of ideas so once I get going, I’m sure I’ll have blogarrhea.

  3. April 21, 2011 at 9:50 am

    You haven’t figured out that, when I can’t figure out what to write, I go from blog to blog to blog, reading & commenting? I simply go out & try to find just a single thread, with just a little bit of fiber, that will “get things moving”

    • Pop
      April 21, 2011 at 9:55 am

      True. Even a little bit of fiber will get things moving.

      So you wouldn’t recommend going from blog to blog to blog, and ctrl+c, ctrl+v-ing the good ideas? 😛

      • April 26, 2011 at 11:17 pm

        Yeah – that probably wouldn’t work so well, though I do find there are some blogs that I visit that I might as well visit with a notepad because I just am constantly taking notes about what that person is doing right & I need to start doing, myself.

  4. April 21, 2011 at 9:57 am

    I was really stuck for a while and ended up reading a great book on writing and it got my brain moving. Now I’ve got more ideas that I can blog about. It’s called “Bird by Bird” by Anne Lamott.

    • Pop
      April 21, 2011 at 1:42 pm

      Just looked up the book – sounds pretty interesting. I haven’t read a good book in a long while, just stuff on the Web (or playing games on the iPhone). Maybe it’s time to look away from my monitor, put down Angry Birds, and pickup a page-turner.

  5. April 21, 2011 at 10:17 am

    I didn’t write a word for most of April, either. Sometimes I just think a break is necessary. In my case, a minor meltdown was the catalyst, but the end result was the same: a blog break. Although I had a twinge of guilt now and then over not posting, it really felt good to walk away for a bit. Now I’m back and feel somewhat revived.

    Take your time! We’re here.

    • Pop
      April 21, 2011 at 1:44 pm

      It’s always good to take a break and glad to hear you feel somewhat revived!

  6. April 21, 2011 at 10:41 am

    Hey, I’m sure many of us are wondering where the heck this pop guy is. Glad you’re able to pull something out of your a- err…head, even if it’s a Strong Bad link (nice work btw).

    When I’m out of ideas, sometimes I just rely on photos and let them do all the talking. But if I’m out of those too (like now because I still can’t locate the camera from my move), I just let things stew in my head for awhile and try not to beat myself up over not having any material. Keeping silent is better than free-associating gibberish on the blog right? 🙂

    • Pop
      April 21, 2011 at 1:46 pm

      It’s been a LOOOOONG time since I’ve watched a Strong Bad email.

      “Keeping silent is better than free-associating gibberish on the blog right?” That’s not only good blogging advice – it’s good life advice. Especially for husbands.

  7. JB Kohl
    April 21, 2011 at 11:12 am

    BLO-OG-STIPAAAATION, It’s making me waaaaiittt. Hmmm. I recommend a strong soap suds enema and a walk through Wal-Mart to observe how old people handle fruit. That always gets me past a bout of writer’s block.

    • Pop
      April 21, 2011 at 1:57 pm

      A walk through Wal-Mart always provides good fodder for writing. Not to mention pulling all my hair out after waiting in line for 30 minutes while somehow picking the ONE line where someone decides to pay with a check will allow me to save money on shampoo.

  8. April 21, 2011 at 11:26 am

    My whole life revolves around poop. Believe it or not, I have printed out a copy of the Bristol Stool Scale to give to my sister. #6 on the scale was making my life hell. From her kid.

    I’m having blogging issues, too, so I feel your pain. You, however, must have the good sense to stay away from blogging when you have nothing worth saying – as is demonstrated by your absence. I, on the other hand, cannot help but spew crap.

    Poop. It’s my life.

    • Pop
      April 21, 2011 at 1:59 pm

      “#6 on the scale was making my life hell. From her kid.” Say no more. I wish I could say I can’t imagine. But I’ve experienced that special kind of suffering firsthand.

  9. April 21, 2011 at 1:22 pm

    Get drunk and go on a coke bing?

    • Pop
      April 21, 2011 at 2:00 pm

      Seemed to work for Charlie Sheen.

      Though after having kids, a Coke binge means something entirely different to me. Someone decided to give D1 some Coke (the soda), which turned out to be rather entertaining <— it was at that someone's home, not ours 😛

  10. April 21, 2011 at 1:59 pm

    I LOVE the bristol stool scale.

    In case there was any doubt.

    • Pop
      April 21, 2011 at 2:01 pm

      I wonder how many people have been enlightened to the existence of the Bristol Stool Scale? If even a handful of people, I think my job as a blogger is done.

  11. KLZ
    April 21, 2011 at 2:14 pm

    I can’t put two words together.

    (This comment brought to you be oxymorons everywhere.)

    • Pop
      April 22, 2011 at 10:08 am

      Let’s agree to disagree.

  12. April 21, 2011 at 7:11 pm

    Welcome back! Sorry to hear you’re ‘backed up’. I read, read, read other blogs when I get a bit stuck and something usually inspires me. I second the Bird by Bird recommendation btw. It’s fab.

    • Pop
      April 22, 2011 at 10:09 am

      Sometimes, it’s more fun to read and comment. And I may just have to read that book now.

  13. April 21, 2011 at 7:55 pm

    Bristol Stool Scale? Where haz this genius been all my life?

    Love it.

    Your job is done here.

    • Pop
      April 22, 2011 at 10:11 am

      I do what I can.

  14. April 22, 2011 at 4:41 am

    Nothing like a poop post to stir the creative juices. Btw, I totally would’ve covered for you and told your wife that you posted like three times in April already. I got your back like that.

    • Pop
      April 22, 2011 at 10:12 am

      You can tell who has had kids by what happens when someone begins to tell a poop story: the parents lean in, all ears while the non-parents look on in horror, try not to listen and try to keep their food down.

  15. April 23, 2011 at 1:03 am

    Wait… are we talking bloggy constipation here, or the real McCoy? I’m confused.

    Personally, I find there’s nothing like a good ol’ fashioned poop or fart post to get things moving. Creatively, that is.

    If you’re having problems in the other area, I have only one suggestion. Prune juice.

    • Pop
      April 26, 2011 at 12:18 pm

      When it comes to a parenting blog, it’s difficult to discern whether the poop is a metaphor.

  16. April 24, 2011 at 6:45 pm

    Dude. I’ve been there, and I just keep writing. I like your style better…I can’t help but imagine all the free time you’ve gotten back by staying out of the blogosphere for a month…I might never come back if I did that!

    • Pop
      April 26, 2011 at 12:19 pm

      Of course you’d come back – you’d miss us. Just like I did. 🙂

  17. liz
    April 25, 2011 at 1:57 pm

    It sounds so serious when you say “the whole month of April!”

    I think you need to submit both blogstipation and Interneramucil to Urban Dictionary.

    • Pop
      April 26, 2011 at 12:19 pm

      Sadly, Blogstipation is already in UD. 😦

  18. May 2, 2011 at 2:42 pm

    oh dear. oh my. unfortunately i can relate. it’s starting to get painful.

    • Pop
      May 11, 2011 at 10:27 am

      LOL. Well, the next post is going to be magnificent then!

  19. May 17, 2011 at 2:33 pm

    LOL! I never have a shortage of ideas. I almost always run out of time to put fingers to keyboard to type them up.

    • Pop
      May 19, 2011 at 9:44 am

      This is true for me too. Though most times, I usually forget the idea when my fingers finally get to the keyboard.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

