Home > I'm a Dad > I’m a Dad #11: I Learned It By Watching You

I’m a Dad #11: I Learned It By Watching You

Who doesn’t remember this PSA?


My wife and I used the last line, “I LEARNED IT BY WATCHING YOU!”  as a joke when she was picking up bad habits from me we were picking up bad habits from each like leaving my clothes all over the floor. But now? It’s not funny anymore. I have to remember that I’m a dad.

A few months back, I noticed D1 was in the habit of smelling her feet. No matter how many times I tell her to stop, I often find she sits down and sniffs her feet. And sometimes, she’ll crawl over to me and smell my feet and say, “STINKY! Appa’s STINKY!” For the life of me, I couldn’t figure out where she learned that from. Then one day, we get home from work and my wife notices D1 sniffing her feet and asks, “How long has she been doing that?” “A few months,” I tell her, “I have no idea why she’s doing that.” “Ummmm, hello,” my wife replies, “She learned it from you!” “What,” I exclaim, “That’s absurd!” I then take off my socks after a long day of work and do a sniff check. Yup! Those definitely can’t be worn again.

One day, I was sitting down playing with my iPhone kids and D1 comes up to my seat and picks a scab. “Ow,” I shout, “D1, you don’t do that! That hurts and now I’m bleeding.” “Sorry, appa,” she replied. Later, my wife gets home and she sees blood dripping out of the wound.

Wife: What happened?
Me: D1 picked my scab. What the heck right?!
Wife: OW!!!
Me: What???
Wife: You’re picking my scab!!!
Me: oh…sorry…force of habit

Finally, I often find D1 running around in just her underwear around the house. “D1,” I shout, “You need to wear clothes around the house. That’s embarrassing!” “Uhhh, honey,” my wife inconveniently points out, “You’re only wearing your boxer briefs…”

Sometimes, I forget that I’m a dad and that my kids are ALWAYS watching and learning.

What about you? What bad habits of yours or your spouse have your kids picked up? Do you pick your spouses scabs too? Do you think it odd that I do?

Unabashed self promotion: Mind clicking over and voting for me for the Top 25 Daddy Blogs list? http://www.circleofmoms.com/blogger/go-pop-go-1

Categories: I'm a Dad Tags: , , ,
  1. KLZ
    March 25, 2011 at 11:00 am

    I clean the wax out of Alex’s ears with my finger because they say he’s too young to use a Q-tip. I know it’s gross but I just can’t leave it there. I find it really annoying when he picks my ears. It’s kind of an invasion of privacy. Uhhh, pot, kettle, no?

    • Pop
      March 25, 2011 at 11:02 am

      Your comment makes me think that I should be grateful D1 never tried to wipe my crotch with a diaper wipe.

  2. March 25, 2011 at 11:04 am

    Oh I so know the feeling of being watched. My daughter mirrors even how I remove my boots when I come home. And the things she says? Let’s not even go there. At two, I already feel like I’m talking to a five-year-old. Scares me sometimes.

    And the scab thing? Remind me not to come anywhere near you should we meet someday. That’s pretty odd 🙂

    • Pop
      March 25, 2011 at 11:07 am

      I yell at D1 for picking her scabs and yet, I can never leave a scab on my own body alone.

  3. March 25, 2011 at 11:04 am

    My kids yell a lot, because we are yellers. I’ll find myself yelling, “STOP YELLING!!”. Nice.

    • Pop
      March 25, 2011 at 11:07 am

      haha. I’ve done the same thing.

      Also, D1 will tell D2: “D2, I can’t play with you right now; I’m busy.” Talk about parenting guilt.

  4. March 25, 2011 at 1:23 pm

    Oh, this had me laughing.

    My son picked up a wine glass the other day & did a straight downright imitation of my “there’s one more drop and I need it” wine-glass tip. He can’t even say his own name, but he knows how to drink like daddy.

    I have no idea how I’m going to deal with the “must wear clothing” thing – I’m hoping that my “just wear whatever & go with it” is so embarrassing for the kids that they end up always making sure they’re dressed from head to toe before leaving the room, or the house (I may have forgotten I was wearing only boxer briefs when going to take out the trash a time or two)

    • Pop
      March 25, 2011 at 1:28 pm

      Yeah, I’ve gotten to the point where I don’t notice until I get out to the curb and feel a stiff, cool wind hitting my nads. Even then, I merely look down and think, “Oh…meeh.”

  5. March 25, 2011 at 1:56 pm

    yes, yes, yes, and yes. Sometimes boy wonder reprimands little ceo using the words, tone and cadence that I do.

    It’s creepy. And annoying.

    • Pop
      March 25, 2011 at 2:01 pm

      My wife goes, “UH OH!!!” in this really stern voice. One day, D1 finds D2 playing with her toys and does the exact same “UH OH!!!” That was freaky but kind of hilarious.

  6. March 25, 2011 at 2:23 pm

    Ooooh. Yes. I’ve had these moments.

    I have cleaned up my language a LOT since having my son. But it was an effort. And is occasionally a work in progress. In my defense, he commuted with me (in Maryland ::shudder::) for a couple of years.

    We have animals. Occasionally they misbehave. And when they misbehave? The animals are “stupid.” Stupid dog, stupid cat, etc. My son, however, apparently assimilating some verbiage and its usage from our commuting days, happens upon a pile of dog poo when he & I reach the top of the stairs. He looks at the poo, sighs, and says, very matter of factly “F***ing dog.” O.O

    • Pop
      March 25, 2011 at 2:29 pm

      LOL! Seriously…LOL!

      I’ve now trained myself to say, “God bless you” when I’m in the car with the daughters.

  7. March 25, 2011 at 2:53 pm

    Cripes, I don’t think my comment went through. If this is a duplicate, I’m sorry.

    Boxers are better than are running around commando and Hank runs around in a Pull-Up and no one in my house does that (at least I don’t think Craig has a secret stash of Depends anywhere). I’d vote for you on a top 25 mom blog list!

  8. March 25, 2011 at 4:31 pm

    Bwa ha ha! I don’t know anyone from the 80’s who HASN’T used that line in mock dismay. Love it.

    Oh, there are so MANY things we’ve discovered we do via our children. Apparently I say the word “actually” a LOT. And unfortunately, I’ve been caught muttering “shit” under my breath which has been repeated frequently.

    • Pop
      March 29, 2011 at 9:07 am

      It’s funny how out of all the words you speak in a day, they pick and choose the most inappropriate. They’re smarter than we think.

  9. March 26, 2011 at 12:09 am

    I hope you’re not saying that my kids will try to sniff my butt to see if there’s a poopy in my pants. That would just be gross.

    • Pop
      March 29, 2011 at 9:08 am

      *ahem* This may or may not have happened, but I farted once and D1 happens to be by my butt, sniffs, and says that I pooped. Again, it may or may not have happened.

  10. March 26, 2011 at 5:53 am

    Yeah they watch and learn. But some things are just genetic. Like farting and belching. I’m not taking the blame for those. I am, however, often proud.

    • Pop
      March 29, 2011 at 9:08 am

      lol. Well, D1 likes to scratch her butt from time to time. Not too sure I’m too proud of that one…

  11. March 26, 2011 at 5:55 am

    Oh, btw, I used to love that PSA. I threw it back at my parents often. But then they would say something like, “Really? You learned how to build a meth lab and a narcotic’s distribution chain from us? I am 3rd grade teacher and your dad is CPA.”

    • Pop
      March 29, 2011 at 9:09 am

      You did all this while in middle/high school? I’m impressed.

  12. March 26, 2011 at 8:17 am

    My son has picked up the lovely habit of repeating things I say. Like, whatever, get away from me, hug it up fuzzball; all things said in jest and fun but he tends to say them when he’s mad (except that last one). So when the principal calls to report he’s going to detention at least I’ll know where he got it from…

    • Pop
      March 29, 2011 at 9:10 am

      lol. And will you reply to the principal: Damn right that’s where he got it from!!!

  13. March 26, 2011 at 10:10 am

    Yesterday, I farted and it was loud and pretty awesome thank you very much and my 2 year old looked up at me and said “Ugh Momma. You are nasty. Nasty Momma. Nasty.” I say that frequently to my husband but I learned the musical toots from him so….it’s all the Dad’s fault.
    PS. Smelling your feet. Weird. Just saying. You’re supposed to get your kids to do the smell test for you. That’s what they’re for 😉

    • Pop
      March 29, 2011 at 9:10 am

      When in doubt, it’s always the dad’s fault.

  14. March 26, 2011 at 11:41 am

    It is scary what those little sponges snatch up. Geez! My daughter picked up my nail picking habit – and the youngest step daughter too.

    Oh it’s a horrid habit, almost as bad as feet smelling! HA!

    • Pop
      March 29, 2011 at 9:12 am

      Almost. Almost. But in my defense, it’s not a habit per se – I think of it as being a man with an environmental conscience since I wear my socks again, so long as they pass the sniff test. Same goes for my shirts. 😛

  15. March 26, 2011 at 6:09 pm

    My daughter picks her nose. And thinks that all white shirts and patterned (i.e., plaid, i.e., boxer) shorts are “daddy clothes” … because that’s what Daddy wears.

    • Pop
      March 29, 2011 at 9:12 am

      Sounds like daddy clothes is pretty uniform. And that’s why daddy’s don’t always like having guests over.

  16. liz
    March 27, 2011 at 9:24 am

    I sheepishly admit that I, too, am a picker. Scabs, the big, crusty boogers in little noses – you name it, I’ll pick it.

    • Pop
      March 29, 2011 at 9:13 am

      I CANNOT stand boogers in my kids’ noses. Especially the ones hanging on the very edge that go in and out of their nostrils when they breathe.

  17. March 27, 2011 at 1:50 pm

    Sigh. I have a ton of horrible habits I am passing along including cussing, standing with my hands on my hips (not an attractive stance for a little boy), and yelling too much.

    And hell yeah I just went over and voted for you! Gonna tweet it right now, too!

    • Pop
      March 29, 2011 at 9:13 am

      haha. I can imagine Tatter w/ his hands on his hips, surrounded by babes.

  18. April 2, 2011 at 3:14 pm

    Luckily, I am pretty much perfect. As is my husband.

    So our children reflect out perfection right back at us.

    It is awesome.

    What?

    Hush.

    • April 2, 2011 at 3:15 pm

      Oops.

      My perfection requires that I come back and correct that typo.

      “Our perfection.”

      So annoying.

      Hush again.

      • Pop
        April 4, 2011 at 9:24 am

        Hushing.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

