Home > Merciful Mondays > Merciful Monday: 3.23.11

Merciful Monday: 3.23.11

I know, I know – it’s Wednesday. But I need to begin my return to more-regular blogging with an appeal for mercy.

To my readers: Have Mercy! I know, I know. When we first got together, I gave you what you wanted regularly – sometimes, multiple times a day. Things were fresh, fun, and sometimes, a bit wild. Ah, youthful love. Next thing you know, I’ve got more subscribers to my RSS feed and blog, and followers on Twitter, and suddenly, it’s like we’ve been married for a very long time. Now, I don’t give it up as regularly, often citing how tired I am, or how busy I am at work, or how I’ve been getting headaches so often. And then last week, I didn’t give it up at all.

I won’t lie to you – I’ve been wondering. Wondering if your love for me has waned. Wondering if you’ve found a new, hotter piece of butt. Wondering if our relationship will ever return to what it was. And I’m sure you don’t want to hear any excuses, but like any guy in the midst of an argument with a significant other I’ll keep talking and digging a deeper hole for myself offer the following reasoning: it’s not you; it’s me.

A lots been going on (trying to sell/buy a home, planning a family missions trip to Thailand, work has actually been busy, kids have been sick, etc…) and while I still find you irresistible and want you, I just haven’t been able to give you what you want as of late.

But all that’s going to change. I’m going to give it up (more) regularly and maybe even learn a few new tricks. RAWR.

What about you? Has 2011 been crazy busy?

  1. March 23, 2011 at 9:41 am

    To answer your question: Yes, 2011 has been crazy busy. This is my first five second break of the year. And now it’s over. See you in a few months.

    • Pop
      March 23, 2011 at 10:18 am

      I feel honored that you’d spend your 5-second break with me.

  2. KLZ
    March 23, 2011 at 10:10 am

    This winter has lasted so long that it’s sapped my will to live. But I’ve been missing you. there’s a new dad coming around my place, and he’s great, but every time he shows up I think “Where’s Pop?”

    • Pop
      March 23, 2011 at 10:18 am

      Another dad? Oh! It’s on like Donkey Kong!!! (What does that even mean?)

  3. TK
    March 23, 2011 at 10:18 am

    You do have some good excuses. But I will expect more regular posts from this point forward….or else! I have a lot of things going on too and I still blog. Not that you care. Not that you comment. GAH! I am such a girl.

    • Pop
      March 24, 2011 at 10:19 am

      Woah, TK. You just went through 3 mood swings in one comment. That’s impressive. 🙂 I’ve missed your blog.

  4. March 23, 2011 at 10:25 am

    Let’s see, 2011 has had me start a new job, brought about the unexpected death of my step-brother, transitioned my youngest from a “potted plant” to a full-on “mover & shaker” (she’s not exactly crawling, it’s this sit up, scoot self, smile at the marvel that she’s moved, make the next movement), started the molars & incisors growing in my son just as he developed a bronchial infection and double ear infections, training for two marathons (not simultaneously, though it certainly feels that way) and a bike ride across the great state of Iowa, left me with bronchitis and the mongolian death flu, had my wife starting back at school…

    Yeah, you get a pass from me on just how busy you’ve been – I’d NEVER, EVER blame anyone for neglecting a blog…except Mad’s Mom, because, you know, we’re say too lenient on the pregnant in our society. :-p

    • Pop
      March 24, 2011 at 10:21 am

      Wow, John. 2011’s off to quite a start for you and your family! D2’s starting to get around now too – you know it’s bad when your wife asks you, “Where’s the baby?” and you reply, “I swear I left her right here….”

  5. March 23, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    You’re right it is you not me. But I forgive ya! Welcome back:) been there done that.

    • Pop
      March 24, 2011 at 10:21 am

      Thank you!

  6. March 23, 2011 at 12:57 pm

    You find me irresistible? That’s the nicest (and creepiest) thing another man has ever said to me.

    • Pop
      March 24, 2011 at 10:33 am

      Absolutely. In a noncreepy way of course

  7. liz
    March 23, 2011 at 2:50 pm

    Pop, you’ve got bigger fish to fry and meatier butt to smoke. 🙂

    No worries!

    • Pop
      March 24, 2011 at 10:38 am

      You know me too well. I’ve been BBQing up a storm the past few weekends. Though I haven’t been able to eat it myself b/c I’ve been sick. 😦

  8. March 23, 2011 at 5:22 pm

    Yep, I’m not sure what it is with 2011 but it’s turning out to be one of those eventful year for many people, with plenty of good and bad. I have a feeling it’s going to be one of those years we’re happy to say goodbye to!

    • Pop
      March 24, 2011 at 10:39 am

      Definitely been one of those years. I still can’t believe it’s already the end of the March.

  9. March 23, 2011 at 5:36 pm

    Yes…crazy busy with new job and good things, but I totally get you about the blog posts. I feel really guilty that I’ve slowed so much, but hope to be a little more regular soon. Plus, now that I left Bad Boss behind, I don’t have the same level of…uh, anger. YOU and your blog are worth waiting for!

    • Pop
      March 24, 2011 at 10:42 am

      Thanks, LD! And you’re an inspiration to all the current LDs that are still out there.

  10. March 23, 2011 at 8:20 pm

    You have quite the fan club and even if you went all Brittney on us and shaved your head, we’d still be here after you got out of rehab.

    • Pop
      March 24, 2011 at 10:43 am

      So you don’t mind giving me a ride home after rehab? Thanks, Poppy!

  11. March 24, 2011 at 1:04 am

    Ah, Pop, I forgive you and will always be here when you have time to pop up with a new post! yes, 2011 is busy for me too and I haven’t been able to blog as much as I would like either. Honestly, I don’t know how parents have any time for blogging! You guys are superheroes.

    • Pop
      March 24, 2011 at 10:44 am

      Oh. I’m sure every other dad/mom blogger here will attest and affirm: we MAKE time for blogging 😛 It’s cathartic.

  12. March 25, 2011 at 3:05 pm

    Yeah, 2011 has been kicking my butt, too. Hence the comments on posts days after they’ve posted. *sigh*

    It actually makes me feel better that there are a few others out there feeling a little irregular lately.

    • Pop
      March 29, 2011 at 8:58 am

      Oh, I’m more than a little irregular. Blogstipated even.

  13. March 29, 2011 at 10:20 pm

    Hey Pop–so since I’ve started I only post once a week with the rare week where I post twice. Works for me. You just need to get yourself to a reasonable schedule. Multiple times a day is crazy time.

    • Pop
      March 30, 2011 at 9:15 am

      Crazy time indeed. I still haven’t decided on a regular schedule and probably never will – seeing as how my kids can’t seem to settle on a regular schedule 😛

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

