Home > Parenting > When Did This Happen?

When Did This Happen?

Lately, I feel like time is flying and things are progressing so fast.

I lost 10lbs after a bad bout of food poisoning? Sweet! And then I gained it all back and then some? When did this happen?

It’s March 2? When did this happen?

D2 is already 8 months old and her top teeth are coming in? She’s now trying to crawl with her belly off the floor? When did this happen?

Our 6 year anniversary is fast approaching and I better start making preparations for celebrating? When did this happen?

And lately, D1’s been more “human.” I mean of course she’s always been a human, but I can hold a conversation with her and I find myself saying, “How did she/where did she learn that?!” When did this happen?

Just three years ago, she was little more than a little blob that had to eat every three to four hours and couldn’t support her own neck, and whose prime objective and reason for existing in life was to get fat. SIGH. If only that were my prime objective in life.

And now? We have conversations. When we read books, she knows all the characters, animals, and text by heart. When I tell her, “Thank you,” she says, “You’re welcome.” She poops and pees in the toilet, and afterward sings the “Wash your hands” song I’ve been singing to her since she was a baby: Wash your hands, wash your hands, come on! It’s a lot more fun that it reads, you have to trust me.

She says I love you without prompting. When I had food poisoning, she came and laid hands on my stomach and prayed for me. When I was in bed the other night with a bad migraine, she laid hands on my head and asked God to make me feel better. She plays by herself, eats by herself, reads by herself, changes her Disney Read Along tapes by herself, and generally wants to do most things by herself. I almost feel like Independent Women by Destiny’s Child is the soundtrack of her life right now.

When did all this happen?

Time is flying so fast. Consequently, it’s so easy to be overly fixated on the future, especially as we look forward to a missions trip to Thailand this summer and potentially moving this year. But I was reminded this morning to slow down and enjoy the moment.

What about you? When did your baby/kid become a “human”? Can you believe it’s March already?!?!

Categories: Parenting Tags: ,
  1. KLZ
    March 2, 2011 at 10:58 am

    Not only is it March, it’s 2011. How and when did THAT happen?

    I feel like I’m losing it.

    • Pop
      March 2, 2011 at 3:59 pm

      Seriously. When I was a kid, I thought we’d have flying cars by 2010.

  2. March 2, 2011 at 11:02 am

    I actually swore at the calendar yesterday when I realized it was March. And I didn’t realize our youngest were so close in age. Mine is 8 months and somehow managed to get across the room the other day when my back was turned. She’s threatened to crawl, but I’ve never seen her move. Yet, in the span of a minute, she managed to travel at least 20 feet, stealthily.

    What scares me is that she already demands to feed herself, and the independent streak is just going to grow. Damn kids need to stop getting older.

    • Pop
      March 2, 2011 at 4:01 pm

      Crazy right? D2 can’t really “crawl” yet – she scoots along though. But if you don’t watch her, she’ll make her way across the entire room.

  3. Joxy
    March 2, 2011 at 12:16 pm

    Pop, I feel you.
    @John, my youngest was all about stealthy moving. She didn’t start crawling officially till she was almost one, but she covered great distances without seeming to move. Even when I was watching her. Now she’s 20 months old and says ‘move’ if she wants to sit where I’m sitting. Time flies.

    • Pop
      March 2, 2011 at 4:02 pm

      Time definitely does. I kinda miss being able to place her down and come back and find her in the same place 10 minutes later.

      The other problematic thing? Now that she moves around, she hates laying down for naps.

  4. March 2, 2011 at 2:53 pm

    MY youngest will be turning 4 in May! When did this happen? I Guess because I know she is my last it is sad to see her get big so Fast!

    • Pop
      March 2, 2011 at 4:03 pm

      Yeah, D2 is getting big way too fast. Thankfully, we plan on making another one in the next 2 years or so.

  5. March 2, 2011 at 4:28 pm

    It’s kind of happy/sad to see them turn into humans, isn’t it? I love watching them grow, but I mourn the loss of my babies. I think the shift starts to happen around the age of 2, but for us age 4 has been huge on the Baby-to-Big Boy change.

    We’re about to celebrate a 5th birthday. Really, five years under our belts? When did that happen??

    • Pop
      March 4, 2011 at 10:26 am

      I hear age 4 or 5 is the big change. I’m pretty much torn about it, and I imagine I’ll be mourning the loss of my babies too.

  6. liz
    March 2, 2011 at 6:03 pm

    Once kids start to converse with you, SOOOO much changes! I love when that happens!

    • Pop
      March 4, 2011 at 10:28 am

      Yeah – I love it too. It’s so much fun. But I’m still shocked. It’s like she just got it one day.

  7. March 3, 2011 at 11:41 pm

    I’m almost 37. WHEN THE H DID THAT HAPPEN??????

    • Pop
      March 4, 2011 at 10:28 am

      The back of your head w/ pigtails doesn’t look a day over 30.

  8. March 4, 2011 at 2:12 am

    Sorry to hear about your food poisoning. Did you eat some bad balls?

    And how happy would that make me if my only objective in life was to sit around and try to get fat? Oh, to be a baby.

    • Pop
      March 4, 2011 at 10:29 am

      Maybe I had too many balls?

      Seriously. And have people change you when you poop/pee and hold you when you’re cranky. I can’t wait to be 80!

  9. March 5, 2011 at 2:26 pm

    Yeah! Where is my flyng car already.

    Talk about time flying, my boy is 13. I am way to young (and pretty) to have teenager.

    • Pop
      March 7, 2011 at 11:26 am

      Agreed. I feel pretty, oh so pretty.

  10. March 7, 2011 at 11:14 pm

    My youngest recently turned three and that was exactly my reflection! Time flies even faster when you have kids, so you’d better slow down to enjoy those special moments.
    http://perfectingmotherhood.wordpress.com/2011/02/25/im-not-a-baby-im-a-boy-turning-three-turning-3/

  1. March 24, 2011 at 10:06 am

Leave a Reply

