Home > Daughter #2 > A Letter to My Daughter: Keep Smiling

A Letter to My Daughter: Keep Smiling

December 2, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Dear Daughter #2,

I’ve written a few letters to your older sister, like this one, but this is my first letter on this blog to you.

It’s hard to believe, but today, you are 5 months old. I wrote this post a little less than 5 months ago, but it seems like ages since I wrote it. Why? Because it’s hard to imagine my life without you.

I hate leaving for work in the mornings because I have to kiss two beautiful girls goodbye and leave them at home. I can’t wait to get home and hear about all the new things you’re doing – these days, you’re sticking out your tongue and it’s thisclose to cuteness overload. I know this may sound weird, but I love squishing my face in your juicy thighs and arms. Can you blame me? Your thighs are exceptionally juicy. Your older sister carried all of her baby fat in her cheeks (good lawd do I miss sucking those chubby cheeks), but you? It goes straight to your thighs (I may have to go against your mom’s will and post a picture of your thighs on here later so that everyone can see how awesome they really are). Yeah it’s been awhile since mommy and daddy have gotten a good night’s sleep, especially now that you’re teething, but you’ve brought so much joy to our lives.

You made me smile when we took you in for your 4 month checkup and our pediatrician, who looked at your chart outside the office, walked into the exam room and began by saying, “So, D2 is almost a year old….oh, she’s only almost as big as a 1-year-old.” You make me laugh when you strain really hard during tummy time and let out a fart. And you impress me in both the frequency and quality of your explosive poops and I’m often left quoting Ron Burgundy: “How’d you do that? Heck, I’m not even mad; that’s amazing.”

But the best thing you’ve brought into our lives is your smile. Most babies make people work for a smile, requiring them to make funny faces, ridiculous sounds (WOOJEEWOOJEE WOO!!!), spastic movements, or a combination of all three. In fact, your sister used to make me work for a smile and I often looked even more foolish in public. But it was so worth it. Not you. You smile when someone simply makes continued eye contact with you. So much so, that most people we run into comment that you’re the happiest baby they’ve ever seen.

Life, however, will often seek to take away your smile. Daddy’s been stressed as of late, and it’s been hard for me to smile. When you read about the ridiculous things that people do, it definitely doesn’t make you want to smile. Like a county executive who was arrested for corruption who, along with his wife, continue to maintain their innocence, despite FBI agents finding $80,000 in her bra. Or you read that taxpayers are subsidizing a car that 1) they can’t really buy as there’s only limited production and 2) may not help the environment that much. You’ll often find more things to shake your head about and fewer things to smile about.

But you smiling at strangers and friends/family alike is a reminder to me that good exists in people; that someone shouldn’t make me smile because of what they do or don’t do, but simply for existing. Never underestimate the power of a kind word or a smile. Don’t let life suck away your joy; bring joy to the lives of others. Keep smiling, kiddo.

Love,
Pop

  1. December 2, 2010 at 12:06 pm

    That was so sweet. I’m sure your daughter will love to go back and read these letters some day.

    • Pop
      December 2, 2010 at 4:19 pm

      I hope so. And I’m wondering if I should begin to address these in a way that it’s ambiguous which daughter I’m writing to – don’t want to be accused of favoritism. πŸ˜›

      • December 19, 2010 at 12:33 am

        How beautiful, Twin! I’m smiling along with you and D2! It’s wonderful that you can have two favorite daughters :). xoxo

  2. December 2, 2010 at 1:14 pm

    I am silly, maybe.

    But for quite a while now? I cannot watch the news. The stories you mention that wipe the smile from your face? I simply cannot watch the stream of negative and horrific imagery that televised news insists on shoving into my face.

    So I only read the news now. I am informed but not inundated with images I cannot wipe from my mind.

    And so it is easier for me to keep that smile to show my daughters.

    And I find I get more smiles in return.

    I hope your daughter always smiles as easily as she does now.

    That is a lovely gift.

    • Pop
      December 2, 2010 at 4:37 pm

      It sucks to see that only the sensational stuff makes the news and then a happy story is always the “Finally tonight,….” and it’s a 30 second clip. Usually of a squirrel water skiing. But that? That makes me smile.

  3. December 2, 2010 at 1:19 pm

    I want to make a hysterical bra money joke.

    But I’m just not that talented.

    It’s tragic, really.

    • Pop
      December 2, 2010 at 4:39 pm

      I saw your tweet earlier, and I kind of wish you wrote:

      “I want to make a hysterical bra money joke.

      But I’m not try.”

      That would’ve made me smile.

  4. KLZ
    December 2, 2010 at 2:05 pm

    They really do make the world a better place, don’t they?

    • Pop
      December 2, 2010 at 4:40 pm

      They do. But adults who act like babies make the world a more horrible place one tantrum at a time.

  5. kim
    December 2, 2010 at 2:25 pm

    It is amazingly awesome to read these words from a dad. Thank you for sharing them! And she will SO love to read them later.

    • Pop
      December 3, 2010 at 10:07 am

      I hope so. And if not? I will scoff and say, “YEAH! THAT POP! SURE HAD SOME NERVE! Glad I didn’t blog about my family.”

  6. December 2, 2010 at 2:39 pm

    Savor all of those moments! Those are the best, as is this letter.

    PS: Baby farts? Are just goodness. Plain and simple.

    • Pop
      December 3, 2010 at 10:14 am

      They are really, really cute. And they don’t smell either. Or maybe all the years of being a guy have caused me to lose my sense of smell.

  7. December 2, 2010 at 4:34 pm

    what a beautiful letter. a lucky girl indeed to have such a loving daddy.

    • Pop
      December 3, 2010 at 10:17 am

      Thanks, Grace! Honestly though, I’m the lucky one.

  8. liz
    December 2, 2010 at 4:49 pm

    Juicy thighs can only be topped by tiny feet! πŸ™‚

    • Pop
      December 3, 2010 at 10:32 am

      And tiny toes. I never understood the phrase, “You’re so cute, I could eat you!” until I had kids of my own.

  9. December 2, 2010 at 4:56 pm

    So sweet. Wanting to get home from work now to squish Baby R’s chubbiness right now! Since she started toddling, those thighs are already thinning. Sigh. S has already lost all her baby fat – not ready for that yet with Baby R! Such good advice for her. Thanks for sharing!

    • Pop
      December 3, 2010 at 10:33 am

      Yeah, D1 has lost almost all her baby fat and now that she’s out of diapers, she has no butt, too!

  10. Biz
    December 2, 2010 at 5:54 pm

    My vote is to post #2’s thighs! I think that’s the best part of babies – chubby thighs and cute feet!

    Wonderful post! πŸ˜€

    • Pop
      December 3, 2010 at 10:38 am

      Thanks, Biz! And I’m going to have to get a pic up here soon. Maybe a wordless wednesday post

  11. December 2, 2010 at 6:09 pm

    That chipped away at the layer around my icy heart. My kids were all so serious as babies that I wasn’t sure they were mine.

    • Pop
      December 3, 2010 at 10:46 am

      One layer down. How many more to go?

  12. December 2, 2010 at 11:57 pm

    Beautiful letter man. Admist the craziness this world throws at ya, it is awesome to have these little beast look at you at smile. Everything else goes out the window.

    • Pop
      December 3, 2010 at 10:47 am

      I hear ya. And you get to experience it all over again with the He Kamp!

  13. TK
    December 3, 2010 at 12:21 am

    I like every post you write but I think I LOVE these letters to your daughters. I know your daughters will treasure them when they get older.

    I have stopped watching the news completely unless it’s time for a weather update. I just can’t stand to hear bad, horrible and worse spewed out all over the air waves.

    • Pop
      December 3, 2010 at 10:48 am

      Thanks, TK. I hope they do.

      Yeah, I can hardly stand the news. Even radio news is all sensational, but it is better in that you don’t have images ingrained in your mind for the rest of the day.

  14. December 3, 2010 at 3:23 am

    So, so, so sweet! And now you have to post a pic of the thighs!

    • Pop
      December 3, 2010 at 10:48 am

      I gotta get a good pic soon. You will not be able to deny the juiciness of her thighs.

  15. December 3, 2010 at 4:10 am

    I think that the “terrible twos” are stretching out about 40 years these days. You think Super Nanny would take on some business execs? Big fat whiney babies.

    Loved the letter! It was beautiful.

    • Pop
      December 3, 2010 at 10:49 am

      I think even Nanny 911 would be at a loss.

      Thanks, Jennie!

  16. December 3, 2010 at 1:18 pm

    No pic? Where’s the pic? Aww she sounds so sweet. Leave it to children to allow us to see what’s most important. I think God knew that without children and childhood in general, we’d be lost. So I thank God for both.

    • Pop
      December 8, 2010 at 1:05 pm

      I also think if kids weren’t so darned cute, we wouldn’t be able to stand ’em. God knew what He was doing.

  17. December 3, 2010 at 5:43 pm

    Juicy thighs are fabulous. But squishy bellies may be even yummier.
    This is truly such a lovely letter…

    • Pop
      December 8, 2010 at 1:21 pm

      D2 gets zrbtts on the regular

  18. December 4, 2010 at 9:44 pm

    Yummy, yummy yummy delicious dimply thighs..

    just hand me a spoon, I’ll eat her up here…

    • Pop
      December 8, 2010 at 1:25 pm

      Silly Empress. We Samoans don’t share.

  19. December 6, 2010 at 10:59 am

    What a beautiful love letter, Pop!
    And those thighs are tiny heaven on earth aren’t they? πŸ˜€ I miss those a lot!

    • Pop
      December 8, 2010 at 1:28 pm

      Thanks, Maureen! And they are!

  20. December 6, 2010 at 4:20 pm

    rolly polly thighs are the best (at least until you have to take responsibility for them)! You’re gonna have to post a pic now.

    • Pop
      December 8, 2010 at 1:33 pm

      It’s true. No one ever seems to commend my juicy thighs. Maybe it’s the dimples?

  21. December 7, 2010 at 12:13 am

    Super sweet!
    Hubby and I often use the word “juicy” to described our loved ones (children and pets mostly).

    • Pop
      December 8, 2010 at 1:43 pm

      It’s a good word, isn’t it?

  22. December 8, 2010 at 3:32 pm

    So, so sweet. Those girls will know how lucky they are to have such an amazing daddy when they look back and read these letters!

    Juicy. I like it.

    • Pop
      December 8, 2010 at 3:58 pm

      Thanks, BFF!

  23. December 13, 2010 at 8:56 pm

    I love that I’m not the only one writing letters to my baby in blogland (although, yours are much sweeter and don’t have as many cuss words) πŸ™‚ And I have to say that even though my little guy is FAR from juicy, I can’t help but chew on his little legs every chance I get. I’m your newest follower, thanks to Natalie @ mommy of a monster!!

    • Pop
      December 15, 2010 at 3:53 pm

      Any friend of Nat’s is a friend of mine. πŸ™‚

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

