Home > Amusings > The Silver Lining Post

The Silver Lining Post

December 1, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

I feel like a swimming pool in the winter: drained. Lately, many questions have been floating around in my head, but few answers…so very few. Stress has been building up like my daughter builds up her Lego’s: tall and ready to fall over in an instant. And yet, there’s good in my life…so much good. Every cloud has a silver lining, and every issue in my life right now has a positive side.

The Cloud: Homeschooling – as you know, my wife and I have been contemplating homeschooling our children. There’s so much research to do and still tons of worry associated with which method we will choose.
The Silver Lining:
we live in a country where the compulsory education system is good and citizens are afforded various degrees of freedom on choosing how and where they want their children to be educated.

The Cloud: Church move – Our church is moving from the location we’ve been in for nearly 15 years and moving to a temporary location at a local elementary school. As a deacon and leader of the praise team, there’s been a lot on mind to ensure the transition is smooth.
The Silver Lining:
We’ve got a new place to worship. Although we’ve been an independent congregation for nearly 3 years, we’re finally moving out on our own and it’s exciting to think about how God will lead us.

The Cloud: Selling our home – There are numerous foreclosures and short sales in our neighborhood, so we’ll either have to take a hit on our home price or wait it out and hope a buyer is out there who doesn’t want to deal with distressed properties.
The Silver Lining: We absolutely love our current home. In the midst of searching for a new house, I was reminded of how we fell in love with our current home and how excited I was that morning in December of 2005, when my real estate agent called me and informed me that the seller accepted our proposal. It was a gift then; it’s a gift now. Though we’ll need more space (we’re planning on having 4 kids still), until our home sells at the price we’d like it to, we’ll enjoy the gift.

The Cloud: Getting fat – Here’s the vicious cycle I’ve been caught in as of late. When I’m stressed, I eat a lot. When I eat a lot, I get fat. When I’m fat, I get tired. When I’m tired, I get stressed. I haven’t been to the gym since October and it shows.
The Silver Lining: I’m now ready for hibernation and all this extra fat will serve as insulation for the winter.

The Cloud: D2 is teething – Fact: D2 goes through more bibs in a day than she does diapers. Her teething has thrown off her sleep schedule and she’s pretty cranky.
The Silver Lining: That little chomper, that’s now peeking out of her gums, is awfully cute.

The Cloud: Life – It’s no secret that life can be tough.
The Silver Lining: But I’ve got family and friends that put up with me love me. Clouds come and go but the love of people in my life shines like the mid-day sun.

What about you? How’s life been? What helps you see the silver lining in a situation?

  1. December 1, 2010 at 3:29 pm

    Cloud: My kids school(s) stink. They don’t give my kids what they need.
    Silver Lining: Come August we’ll be headed to ——- where they have not 1 or 2 but 13 gifted schools across the city. And my son will be in one of them.

    Cloud: Three houses in my neighborhood are empty and for sale.
    Silver Lining: Hopefully something will sell before I worry about adding mine to the mix.

  2. KLZ
    December 1, 2010 at 4:23 pm

    That is a lot all at once…but the silver lining is, some people don’t have any clouds. Which has to be really boring. Or they’ve got just one big, fat, dark cloud which has to be pretty terrifying.

    So, I think you’re doing great.

  3. liz
    December 1, 2010 at 4:30 pm

    thank goodness you are in a position where you don’t HAVE to move and take a hit. Because that just opens up a whole other can of worms… 🙂

  4. December 1, 2010 at 8:40 pm

    I’m glad you can see the silver lining.
    The Cloud: Business is slow. We sell advertising to real estate agents.
    The Silver Lining: We’re planning to approach the entertainment industry with a new publication and possibly a local t.v. show.

  5. December 1, 2010 at 9:51 pm

    I feel like there’s a lot of clouds hanging around me lately. I can only hope to be as optimistic as you.

  6. December 1, 2010 at 11:55 pm

    There’s always a silver lining, huh? Happy that you are finding yours! I would say that my faith and giving it up to God help me remember that there’s a plan with everything that happens and look for the good in every situation. xoxo

  7. December 2, 2010 at 1:00 am

    Looking at the silver lining is almost a lost art. We’re all moving so fast, doing so much. It’s refreshing to read about someone who remembers to shift focus back to what matters.

    Oh, and teething. I think we’re doing that here, too. It’s my best guess – two year molars, maybe? Just had a long night last night with no other explanation. I feel your pain!

  8. December 2, 2010 at 10:55 am

    I totally relate with the extra cushioning/warmth for winter! Glad you can see positives in not-so-stellar situations. xoxo

  9. December 2, 2010 at 1:10 pm

    I am not even going to list the clouds in my life. Too many clouds, and I refuse to acknowledge them. Here in Oregon, it rains a lot . . . so I just add my clouds to the ones constantly hanging in the skies. And a little extra rain? Just makes everything greener and more lush.

    Nothing to hate about that.

    I will say that every night at dinner? We go around the table, and everyone has to list three good things that have happened in the day that were not of that person’s doing. This ritual has helped me to remember that there are so many small lovely things in our lives.

    And the things that my daughters remember and discuss as the highlights of their days?

    Sometimes surprise and delight me.

    So it rains a lot where I live.

    But then there is lush beauty.

    Not so bad.

  10. December 2, 2010 at 4:31 pm

    great post. & way to see the positive in all of these trying situations.
    i’m right there with you on the teething (two year molars, hurry up already!) and the extra layer of “skin.” argh.

  11. December 3, 2010 at 12:42 pm

    Hee….I love this structure.

    Cloud: Got really sick, didn’t work my normal complement of hours. Christmas is coming.
    Silver lining: My kids are not materialistic or demanding. They’re just as happy opening little fun things as they are big things.

    It’ll be joyous.

    Way cheap, but joyous.

  12. Veronica
    December 4, 2010 at 2:45 am

    Good for you for countering the clouds by finding their silver linings! That always makes me feel better when I’m stressed, but prayer is what helps most!

  13. December 7, 2010 at 1:56 pm

    Hibernation rocks.

    Just pretend it’s blubber.

  14. December 14, 2010 at 1:55 am

    Ah, I just reflected on this past year in my blog. I guess it’s that time of the year to figure out the good, the bad and the ugly.
    http://perfectingmotherhood.wordpress.com/2010/12/13/what-happened-to-2010-reflections-2011-countdown/
    Cloud: being laid off a few months ago… Wait, that’s my silver lining! I took a new job in January after being enticed with a position description that didn’t turn out to be what it was supposed to be.
    My real silver lining is that I’ve started my own freelance business, just created a new website endeveour, and get to spend more time with my kids.
    Loving it!

  15. December 19, 2010 at 6:43 pm

    Thank you for the reminder. Thank you thank you.

  16. December 20, 2010 at 1:11 pm

    Fantastic post! I’m going to use your silver lining about getting fat for me as well. 🙂 My favorite, though, is the last one. So very true. Keeping that in mind makes all the difference.

  1. December 2, 2010 at 11:10 am

Leave a Reply

