Home > Daughter #1 > HALP! My Daughter is a Girl!

HALP! My Daughter is a Girl!

November 18, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

I know that title sounds obvious and you are now wondering if I rode the short bus or spent way too much time using rubber cement growing up, but I’m terrifyingly slowly realizing that D1 is, in fact, a girl. <– and that picture of a teenage girl? D1 best recognize she isn’t going outside in just a sports bra.

Sure, the midwife announced she was a girl and her pee can only go in one direction, but a few recent developments have reinforced the fact that she is a girl.

First, she likes to ask me, “Appa, do you like my shirt?” or “Appa, can you say, ‘I like your shirt?'” Not even three and she’s already fishing for compliments.

Second, she LOVES handbags and shoes. And not just any handbags or shoes, but pretty ones. I’m a guy–not to mention, Captain Obvious for the day–so “pretty” handbags or shoes/boots is anything on significant discount or something from DSW or a similar discount place (God bless them). Not D1, however. Once, I asked her to try on my shoes, which I got on discount from Amazon and needed to use SlickFillers to bring it up to $25 for FREE super saver shipping, and she replied, “I don’t like them.” She knows not to dig through mommy’s purses/handbags (apparently, there’s a difference?), but when other ladies come over, she immediately grabs their bag and walks around with it on her elbow.

Third, she loves shiny jewelry. Whenever she sees a piece, she’ll ask, “Appa, when I get older, can you buy me that?” Can any ladies out there tell me at what age the “Sure. I’ll get it for you when you’re older” excuse stops working? I’m also trying to convince her that the Tiffany color is a bad color.

Finally, and most troubling, the other night, she says, “Appa, when I get older, I’m going to marry a prince.” We seriously need to chill with the Disney books.

My daughter is a girl. Any advice? That doesn’t involve being a regular blood donor?

Categories: Daughter #1 Tags: , ,
  1. November 18, 2010 at 11:47 am

    This might be off-point, but I once attended a talk with Anthony Bourdain and he is super anti-fast food and was talking about parents who say it’s hard to get their kids to eat anywhere else. His response? That doesn’t make sense – it’s incredibly easy to frighten children. Just stand outside their bedroom door at night, whispering to your spouse “Did you hear, there’s another child missing. They suspect the clown.”

    Anyway, he was probably joking, but I feel you could do the same psychological trickery regarding most aspects of life.

    It’s now, when they’re young, that you can truly mess with their minds.

    Don’t waste the opportunity.

    • Pop
      November 18, 2010 at 11:55 am

      So Tiffany green is made using the blood of children. I like it.

      • Kim
        November 18, 2010 at 8:33 pm

        Blue, Appa. Tiffany BLUE. 🙂

        • Pop
          November 19, 2010 at 8:48 am

          Really? It’s blue? Looks green to me. As in what it COSTS!

  2. November 18, 2010 at 11:49 am

    Heh, heh, heh…. Ah, a house full of boys. It’s so nice sometimes.

    • Pop
      November 18, 2010 at 11:55 am

      Well, D1 isn’t destructive like some little boys I know, so for that, I’m grateful.

  3. KLZ
    November 18, 2010 at 11:53 am

    Well, I have boy cousins who, when they were 8 and 10 said this:

    10 yo: “When I get older, I’m going to marry a rich girl so I don’t have to work.”

    8 yo: “When I get older I’m going to marry a rich BOY.”

    So, my point is, the weirdness of watching them grow up is not just limited to girls. They all have plans for marriage already.

    • Pop
      November 18, 2010 at 11:57 am

      My marriage plans were made when I played MASH as a kid. And the number of kids I was supposed to have? That thing where you press one end of the base of your palm and see how many dots show up on your wrist.

  4. November 18, 2010 at 12:10 pm

    LOL I have no advice. I am the youngest of four and the only girl, so I was never a girly-girl, and I only have 2 boys.

    Good luck!!

    • Pop
      November 18, 2010 at 1:40 pm

      I figured she’d be a girly girl, just not this early.

  5. November 18, 2010 at 12:54 pm

    My youngest is responsible with purses and costume jewelry already at age 5. My oldest may never get there!

    • Pop
      November 18, 2010 at 1:43 pm

      5? Oh boy.

  6. stephen yang
    November 18, 2010 at 12:55 pm

    perhaps cubic zirconium and the limited too will suffice in her preteen years

    • Pop
      November 18, 2010 at 2:27 pm

      I can only hope

  7. Pooh
    November 18, 2010 at 1:34 pm

    Abandon all hope, ye who parent here. Actually I really like Megan’s idea, shouldn’t be too hard to come up with horrifying examples: Ariel the mermaid loved shiny things! She sang about them all the time, and she ended up MUTE. Dun dun dun

    • Pop
      November 18, 2010 at 2:27 pm

      And she had no legs! Dun dun dun!

  8. liz
    November 18, 2010 at 4:14 pm

    Because I’m so NOT a girl, i can’t help. And in fact I’ll be asking for help when my 2 year old gets a bit older, because she’s such a diva.

    • Pop
      November 19, 2010 at 9:09 am

      Comforting to know that D1 isn’t the only 2yo diva out there.

  9. November 18, 2010 at 5:26 pm

    I am so happy that my baby came out with a penis. However his and my husbands addiction to shiney dinky cars is becoming a bit of an obsession. I think we have enough metal in his collection that we could have actually purchased a real car…

    • Pop
      November 19, 2010 at 9:17 am

      “I am so happy that my baby came out with a penis.”

      You say that now. Just wait until he learns to play with it (sooner than you think, btw).

  10. November 18, 2010 at 5:51 pm

    Man, sorry no advice for you here. Just empathy/sympathy, that sorta thing. My daughter wasn’t even two when she uttered these words ” is pwetty; is like a pwincess”. My jaw fell to the floor. First, we don’t do Disney around here. And second, I never expected my toddler to delight in those realizations so quickly. Not even two! Lately, she’s asked for nothing but pink this, pink that. We’ve been careful to not indoctrinate her with all things pink and girlie since she was born so we always chose neutral colors or tended towards the blues rather than the pinks. YET she still managed to prefer pink over everything else and get excited about new shoes and clothes. Oy.

    Nature v. nurture debate all you want folks. My money is on nature.

    • Pop
      November 19, 2010 at 9:17 am

      Me too. She was definitely born a girly girl. All I know is, I’m teaching her to change a tire and kill bugs.

  11. Kim
    November 18, 2010 at 8:37 pm

    My only advice: teach her to appreciate quality, not quantity. 🙂 Who cares if you have 20 crappy rings? One nice ring of good quality is better. The same is true of all things in life. 20 crappy friends or one true friend? Uh-huh. And, as I said before, it’s Tiffany BLUE. And Coach. A Coach bag. Yummy. 🙂

    • Pop
      November 19, 2010 at 9:19 am

      Does Payless and Kohl’s jewelry count as quality?

      • Kim
        November 19, 2010 at 9:56 am

        Too funny! And the green? love it!Payless and Kohl’s totally counts until she knows the difference. Then you get her the tiniest tiniest tiniest quality thing. Like, I had .17 oz of Chanel #5. Got it for my 17 Birthday. Treasured it! Never used it though . . . hmm. But I totally use my real stuff now. :)(but wait! I don’t go for that crazy expensive stuff!)

  12. November 19, 2010 at 12:24 am

    I may, in fact, me a little jealous about this. My daughter is a tomboy to the extreme, a bit of a surprise for a girly momma. I’m OK with this. Although, she has been taking more of a liking to Disney princess bling. Which, secretly, thrills me to no end.

    • Pop
      November 19, 2010 at 9:27 am

      Princess bling? Be afraid, Booyah’s daddy. Be very afraid.

  13. November 19, 2010 at 12:54 am

    Buy her lots of sparkly stuff, and get used to it! It only gets worse…or should I say better!

    • Pop
      November 19, 2010 at 9:51 am

      That’s what I figured.

  14. November 19, 2010 at 10:32 am

    Maybe D2 will be a little more butch and even things out for you?

    • Pop
      November 19, 2010 at 11:26 am

      Delightful.

  15. November 20, 2010 at 8:51 am

    Hahaha! You’re in so much trouble.

    • Pop
      November 22, 2010 at 10:20 am

      Indeed. Though, thanks to my readers, I now know that it is Tiffany Blue, not green.

  16. December 1, 2010 at 11:46 pm

    Not all girls are like D1, although she is a girl after my own heart ;).

    One of my besties lives in Berkeley. She is very crunchy, wears no makeup and doesn’t like clothes or shopping. When she found out that she was having a girl, she specified that none of the baby clothes could be pink and that any toys or books needed to be gender neutral. By the time her daughter was 2yo, it was clear that this little girl loved clothes, sparkles and princesses. It was neither nature nor nurture, but this girl is a girly-girl.

    My friend tries to encourage her daughter to draw her dream girly-girl items. Friend has also started making pretty princess clothes. Michael’s or a similar craft store is also a gold mine for stickers and “rhinestones.”

    Good luck, Pop :)! xoxo

    • Pop
      December 3, 2010 at 11:25 am

      Thanks, Twin. I’ll need it!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

