Home > I'm a Dad > I’m a Dad #10

I’m a Dad #10

November 10, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

This morning, I was about to walk down the stairs to get breakfast and D1 came beside me and asked to hold my hand. She told me to walk slower and we walked step-by-step, hand-in-hand. When we got downstairs, I asked her why she wanted to hold my hand and walk slower and she said, “Because I want to marry you, appa.” “Why do you want to marry me,” I asked. “Because I love you.”

It’s not even 7am and my heart is completely melted. IAD

Categories: I'm a Dad Tags: , , , ,
  1. November 10, 2010 at 11:17 am

    Precious.

    These kids, they’re so smart. Mine always do something undeniably adorable just when I’ve had about all I can take. They also seem to preempt really rotten behavior with some timely cuteness. Smart, I tell you.

    Hold that in your heart and remember it when you have a long day!

    • Pop
      November 10, 2010 at 2:35 pm

      Definitely. And considering how sweet the moment was, I have a sneaking suspicion it may be a long night.

    • November 12, 2010 at 5:43 am

      I know it sometimes look that way, but kids aren’t really that smart or manipulating. We can safely take these sweet moments for face value. It’s just unfortunate that we grown-ups have learned that things are not always that simple in adult life.

  2. Kim
    November 10, 2010 at 11:50 am

    They truly are the best. My son takes my face in his hands. Then I’m done. I’ll give him whatever he want. I think he knows. Have a lovey day.

    • Pop
      November 10, 2010 at 2:36 pm

      I want to see it as innocent sweetness, but I know I’m just being manipulated. And thing is? I don’t care.

  3. TK
    November 10, 2010 at 11:58 am

    My daughter hugs me and says “Momma I love you everyday.” I humbly melt into a puddle at her feet. I will do anything for that girl when she says that to me.

    • Pop
      November 10, 2010 at 2:37 pm

      I fear for the day when D1 uses her melting powers against me. So far, it’s just for good.

  4. November 10, 2010 at 12:00 pm

    Oh my god. That is so precious! It’s stories like this that sometimes have me wishing away my daughter’s babyhood to get to heart-melting quotes. Of course other days I could almost cry over how I already miss the newborn stage and can’t believe she’s already playing independently and crawling around the house.

    • Pop
      November 10, 2010 at 2:42 pm

      Well, one minute she’s saying something heart-melting; then the next, she’s walking around leaving poop trails around the house. You can’t win ’em all.

  5. November 10, 2010 at 1:15 pm

    So sweet! There’s nothing better than hearing them say they love you.

    • Pop
      November 10, 2010 at 2:46 pm

      Agreed. Except when they say it right after they did something they know was wrong. 😛

  6. November 10, 2010 at 1:16 pm

    I thought the first time my daughter smiled at me (the real smiles, not just gas), my heart was going to explode. But the first time I heard “I love you,” I literally went to pieces. It is the best feeling. Ever.

    • Pop
      November 10, 2010 at 2:46 pm

      Caused by gas or not, I’ll take it!

      And even better than eeking out a fantasy football win? 🙂

  7. Veronica
    November 10, 2010 at 1:58 pm

    awwwwwwwww!

    • Pop
      November 10, 2010 at 2:47 pm

      Meeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeelting. Meeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeelting!

  8. November 10, 2010 at 2:05 pm

    That is so so sweet. I just love moments like that. They are so special.

    • Pop
      November 10, 2010 at 2:48 pm

      Definitely. I’m treasuring these moments b/c I know in no time, she’ll avoid me and hate giving me hugs and kisses.

  9. November 10, 2010 at 3:29 pm

    this is pure joy. LOVE!

    • Pop
      November 11, 2010 at 9:20 am

      Definitely. Being a parent is a challenge, but it’s moments like these that I wouldn’t trade for anything.

  10. November 10, 2010 at 5:15 pm

    A wonderful way to start the day 🙂

    • Pop
      November 11, 2010 at 9:24 am

      I didn’t even need coffee after that! That’s how awesome it was.

  11. November 10, 2010 at 7:52 pm

    Now that right there is a small moment.
    You know that you’re in huge trouble, right? 🙂
    So adorable and heart melty.

    • Pop
      November 11, 2010 at 9:32 am

      Big trouble. My girls are going to have me wrapped around their fingers.

  12. November 10, 2010 at 8:39 pm

    jeez, pop. isn’t that the best thing in the world? so precious. my boys wanna marry me. I’m totally ok with that.

    • Pop
      November 11, 2010 at 9:40 am

      Today? They want to marry you. In 10 years? They want to marry that hootch down the street. Enjoy today.

  13. November 10, 2010 at 11:54 pm

    What a sweetheart.

    • Pop
      November 11, 2010 at 9:44 am

      Definitely. Later, my wife says, “She SOOOO knows how to work you over.”

  14. November 11, 2010 at 10:39 am

    I’m assuming she waited until after this discussion to ask for a suspicous amount of cash and the ability to spend the night at a “new friend’s house.”

    • Pop
      November 11, 2010 at 10:42 am

      Thankfully, she’s not at that age. Yet. But they are coming.

  15. November 11, 2010 at 12:02 pm

    That is super sweet! Love it.

    • Pop
      November 11, 2010 at 2:07 pm

      Thanks, Jean!

  16. November 11, 2010 at 11:13 pm

    Aww! That melted my heart! xoxo to you and your sweet girls

    • Pop
      November 12, 2010 at 9:19 am

      Thanks, Twin!

  17. November 12, 2010 at 5:44 am

    Awwww. That’s just so sweet.

    • Pop
      November 12, 2010 at 9:19 am

      Thanks! And thanks for stopping by!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

