Home > Parenting > What’s Going On, Pop?

What’s Going On, Pop?

September 15, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

So what’s been going on with me lately, you ask? Wait…you didn’t ask? Well, I’ll tell you anyway because the Publish button is on my side of this here blog…wait, what are you doing? Don’t close the tab! I promise this update will be worth it or I will refund the $0.00 I charge for this blog. Promise.

Back to School Back to Blogging

I’ve joined Kludgy Mom’s Back to School Back to Blogging challenge. I’m the token male in school, so hopefully, I can use my male charm to copy some homework. I know that women’s cycles tend to match up when they’re together for a while, but I wonder what happens for the lone man in that group? Aside from being yelled at by dozens of women PMSing all at the same time. So subscribe and follow along as I live the dream of being the only male at an all girl’s school – and I don’t even have to crossdress. I think.

Being a studious stud–yes, I used the stud finder on myself and yes, it did beep. Loudly–it feels a bit odd to be behind for this week’s assignment. Thankfully, my mom won’t be checking my grades for this school, so I won’t get a beating for getting an A-.

Breastmilk: It Does A Body Good

Took D2 in for her 2month checkup on Monday and she weighed in at 15lb5oz, and was 24.5″ long. For weight she was way off the chart and for length, she was off the chart. She’s on a 100% breastmilk diet so I guess mother’s milk really is best. Perhaps I could do a new dieting book. While most American’s are overweight, there are those we all hate who can’t gain weight if their lives depended on it. For these overlooked Americans, I give you the Mother’s Milk Diet. All you have to do is drink nothing but breastmilk all day, poop in a diaper, and sleep. Any publishers out there want to pick this up? I could be a hundredaire, maybe even a thousandaire!

Goodbye, Summer ’10

Summer ’10 and I said our goodbyes yesterday. I had pizza, Thrasher’s fries (why don’t they offer ketchup? I don’t care if using only malt vinegar is the way you’re supposed to eat it. Give me some tomatoes laced with HFCS!), funnel cake, Kohr Bros. custard (vanilla + orange = creamsicle. Mmmm!), and caramel popcorn – all within a span of 25 minutes. Good thing I don’t count calories because I can’t count that high.

I also had Sonic on the way home. Burger, tots, and strawberry limeade. Is there a better way to get your recommended 3000 calories in one meal? What’s that you say? They recommend 2000? Oh come on now. Have you seen Americans lately? What’s the point of putting a guideline when you know no one’s going to adhere to it? This seems akin to people who aren’t home for trick-or-treaters who put a bowl of candy out with a sign: “Please Take One.” What’s the point? That bowl’s going to be empty after the first kid. So what’s the point of 2000 recommended calories when we get that in one of our milkshakes?

As if that weren’t enough, I had a food baby at the Waterfront Buffet in Atlantic City less than 24 hours before that. The father is doing fine and the baby is now the property of Atlantic City’s public works sewage system.

I normally try to eat healthy, but I eat like I work for the Food Network when I’m on vacation. And this is why it’s good that I don’t have enough money and vacation time to take more vacations: I’d put the die in diabetes. Seriously.

Parenting

Is such a blast. D1 says the funniest things and I could get lost in D2’s rolls all day. Speaking of, I could also spend the entire day watching D2 sleep and I’d be happy. She makes the cutest sounds and I love when she laughs or smiles. When she does, I often wonder what she’s dreaming about. Seeing as how her happy place is when she’s feeding, I assume she’s dreaming about breasts. In all likelihood, if you’re a creeper and watched me sleep, you could probably assume the same about me when I smile in my sleep.

D2’s not sleeping through the night yet, but her feedings are getting further and further apart, so we’re getting close.

Football

Was it just me or was it GOOD to have foosball back on TV? And no, the preseason doesn’t count. And for the Cowboys fans hatin on the Skins, may I kindly remind you that though the Cowboys have had a better regular season record since 1999 (90-86 to 80-96), we have more playoff wins (Skins: 99, 05, Cowboys: 09).

Hail to the Redskins!

P.S. Please stop Arian Foster this Sunday but not too much because a close friend has him on his fantasy team.

So what about you? What’s going on with you these days?

  1. September 15, 2010 at 11:12 am

    We have not yet watched any football, we had nine-thousand hours of the US Open in the DVR to watch. Then, we didn’t get to see the final. Because it got rained out, and our DVR was not smart enough to know that or know what to tape instead. And because we were avoiding news to not see who was IN the final, or, heaven forbid, who WON it, we had no idea.

    We are tennis addicts. We record every slam. And we are something like 2 and 12 for actually SEEING the men’s final in the last few years.

    *sigh*

    I’m sorry…you were talking about some other sport?

    • Pop
      September 15, 2010 at 2:18 pm

      I won’t spoil it for you but I will say that Pete Sampras didn’t win (I used to love tennis a while back, esp. when Sampras, Hingis, Graf, etc….were playing)

  2. September 15, 2010 at 11:16 am

    the only boy at the girls’ school. Nice!!!

    Hey, there have been lots of gals PMSing about the technical stuff. You being an Asian and a guy, and all…maybe you could worm your way in.

    Glad to have you back!

    • Pop
      September 15, 2010 at 2:19 pm

      Token male AND token Asian. This should be interesting.

  3. September 15, 2010 at 11:25 am

    This post killed me and I can’t pinpoint why. It was perfect – rambling without being rambly and funny without trying too hard. I know I’m not explaining that properly, but it’s the best I have today.

    I watch my kids sleep all the time. It reminds me of their inner adorableness that occasionally gets lost in all the outward misbehavior during the day.

    • Pop
      September 15, 2010 at 2:20 pm

      Thanks, Missy! It made sense to me.

      She’s a perfect angel when she sleeps. She should sleep more.

  4. September 15, 2010 at 11:34 am

    How can you say goodbye to summer so soon? Isn’t it still like in the 80s where you are? Watching babies sleep is only second to eating. Seriously.

    • Pop
      September 15, 2010 at 2:21 pm

      Yes, it’s still 80’s (90s tomorrow) but practically speaking, summer is over: no more swimming, no more beaches, no more mosquitoes (thank GOD!)

  5. September 15, 2010 at 12:24 pm

    I could get lost in my 11 month olds rolls too, and LOVE watching her sleep. If only I could bottle up this time and save it!

    • Pop
      September 15, 2010 at 2:22 pm

      If you perfect the bottling, let me know – I’ll buy 2 of your baby bottling system. But seriously, love this time when they are so cute and chubby and can only coo (can’t say no).

  6. September 15, 2010 at 12:41 pm

    I just recently came to terms with the fact that summer is over and here you had to go and bring a tear to my eye about it all over again. It’s cool, though. The fast I can get through fall, the faster this baby will come flying out of me. I actually prefer fall over any other season. Summer is nice because of vacations and stuff… but I’m not a big fan of the sweat rings that I find I’m prone to.

    • Pop
      September 15, 2010 at 2:24 pm

      Sweat rings are never attractive. And neither is a huge clump of antiperspirant.

  7. September 15, 2010 at 2:03 pm

    LMAO at women cycling up. Seriously laughing here!
    We officially say goodbye to summer when we close our pool. We’re doing that on Saturday. I’ll say a prayer, and welcome the pumpkin bread and apple crisp. Fall and me? we’re like peas & carrots.

    • Pop
      September 15, 2010 at 2:25 pm

      You laugh now, but watch! It’ll happen, even through the internet.

  8. September 15, 2010 at 4:02 pm

    LMAO…you had me until the food baby! BLECH!

    • Pop
      September 16, 2010 at 9:51 am

      haha. Sorry about that.

  9. September 15, 2010 at 10:54 pm

    Wahooo for the B2SB2B challenge! Thank heavens we have some testosterone in the group. I had to laugh at your “womens cycling up” comment too! Hilarious!! Can’t wait to get to know you better at the challenge!!

    • Pop
      September 16, 2010 at 9:53 am

      I’m telling you, all of you are laughing now, but when you start cycling up, as the lone male in close proximity I could be in trouble. I better stock up on some chocolate to appease the lot of ya!

  10. September 15, 2010 at 11:44 pm

    You just might get all cycled up with us, I guess! I love that you’re the token male…couldn’t have asked for a better one!

    I added you to my “Blogs I Don’t Miss. Ever.” by the way. I can’t believe I haven’t been reading you all along, my BFF!

    • Pop
      September 16, 2010 at 9:54 am

      Awwww, thanks BFF! I never miss your blog either! Except when I do, but then I’ll go back and read the posts I missed.

  11. September 16, 2010 at 12:01 am

    Oh I like this. Finally catching up. I think it’s great you have so many interesting women reading your blog. Too bad you can’t find away to get us to talk to each other…. Hello out there! But maybe you just want your relationship with Pop unblemished…. 🙂 Nice entry. I’m eating “rocks and sticks” but their tasty 🙂

    • Pop
      September 16, 2010 at 9:55 am

      I’m pretty sure dads read this too – they just don’t comment as often. I guess it keeps with the stereotype that men don’t necessarily compliment each other, at least with words. But I assure you, I’m feeling the love of eAssSmacks

  12. September 16, 2010 at 10:59 am

    Your last summer food fling sounds like my last two years! LOL!

    I love to watch babies sleep. Of course, I imagine them dreaming of unicorns, and somersaults in amnionic fluid. Maybe the breasts are a guy thing. 😉 Ha.

    • Pop
      September 17, 2010 at 8:32 am

      LOL. Must be!

  13. September 16, 2010 at 1:48 pm

    The only guy in the all-girls school? You better bring along that cute baby for protection!

    • Pop
      September 17, 2010 at 8:34 am

      Provide protection? Her and her rolls would probably need protection from all the moms.

  14. September 16, 2010 at 3:16 pm

    My daughter was sleeping through the night at six weeks old. I was in my apartment, I put her down for a morning nap around 10:00 in the morning, and by 8:00 p.m. at night she was still asleep! I called my mom in a panic and said “what should I do?” She’s like “wake her up!” Never thought of that!

    I woke her up, fed her, and she fell asleep again. I would say on average she slept about 18 hours a day. And now, at age 18, she still is the best sleeper and when you can’t find her, just look in her room, she’s probably napping! 😀

    • Pop
      September 17, 2010 at 8:38 am

      That’s amazing. Really. D1 slept through the night at an earlier age as well, and I would often freak out thinking she died. I’d poke her just to make sure she was alive.

      And yeah, sleeping 18 hours at 18 sounds about right. 😛

  15. September 17, 2010 at 4:10 pm

    Interesting concept, feeding skinny people breastmilk to gain weight. After reading about the zillions calories you ingested in 30 minutes, I’m tempted to suggest you yourself may benefit from an all breastmilk diet to lose weight. I doubt you’d be able to gulp down thousands of calories in one sitting! Well, that’s if D2 is willing to share. From her check-up numbers, you may be in for a fight! Glad to see breastfeeding is working well the second time around.

    • Pop
      September 20, 2010 at 9:23 am

      Yeah, I’m not too sure how good she’d be at sharing at this point. 😛

  16. Veronica
    September 17, 2010 at 5:55 pm

    LOL–the die in diabetes! You’re a riot. I entered my baked goods at the fair and won 11 ribbons this year–three of them first place! This weekend is our 32nd annual family Pig Roast reunion and also my nephew’s birthday party. I’m making him a monster cake. That’s about it over here!

    • Pop
      September 20, 2010 at 9:24 am

      Wow! Congrats! I’ll have to head over and read all about it!

  17. September 17, 2010 at 11:13 pm

    Vacation calories never count! I love that you can get lost in D1’s hitting the fun stages of toddler-dom and D2’s rolls. And, yay to football’s return.

    • Pop
      September 20, 2010 at 9:25 am

      Exactly. You don’t go on vacation not to eat. And the NFC East looks wide open.

  1. September 17, 2010 at 10:27 am

Leave a Reply

