Home > Merciful Mondays > Merciful Monday: 8.23.10

Merciful Monday: 8.23.10

It’s another Monday and it’s time for me to once again say, “Have Mercy!” in this second installment of Merciful Monday!

To my mom: Have Mercy! My wife went back to school last week, so my mom was back on baby duty. When we got back home, my mom was talking to me about something, but I was playing on my iFriend, and nodding my head and saying, “Uh huh,” even though I clearly wasn’t listening. According to my wife, this was pretty much the conversation.

Mom: So for breakfast, I fed her Cheerios with blueberries. She really liked that.
Me: Uh huh.
Mom: And for lunch, she used to like tofu a lot but now she won’t eat it.
Me: Uh huh.
Mom: So I gave her rice with soup and she seemed to like that ok.
Me: Uh huh.
Mom: And she really likes the fruit snacks I bought her. It’s ok to give her those right?
Me: Uh huh.
Mom: Then for dinner, I fried some eggs with veggies and she picked out all the vegetables!
Me: Uh huh.
[pretty long pause. I finish up playing with my iFriend]
Me: So. Did D1 eat today?
Mom: Are you serious?! I just told you.
[I look over at my wife and she’s shaking her head]

To D1: Have Mercy! So mommy gave you a bath and she had to do something so she asked me to brush your hair. She showed me how to do it last time and I tried my best but good Lord did I make you cry. Those knots sure are tough to get out and though I thought I held all the hair I was brushing in my hand, I guess I missed a few (or a lot). To make it up to you, you can pluck daddy’s nose or eyebrow hairs when you get older.

To D2: Have Mercy! You’re less than 2 months old, but you already have the womanly ability of discerning when a male isn’t giving you his full attention. I was holding you in one hand and playing with my iFriend in what I thought was outside of your view. But you knew. And you let me know. Sorry I tried to get that by you.

To my toes: Have Mercy! Perhaps it’s the fact I haven’t slept 6-8 straight hours in 7 weeks, but I keep stubbing you on all kinds of things. Being a father to an infant makes you more loving and patient, but also infinitely more clumsy. And I seriously don’t need any help in that last department.

To my gym: Have Mercy! I know. I know. I promised I’d visit you more often. Even setting lofty goals like 3-5 times a week. But I mean, after knowing me this long, did you really expect any different? I promise I’ll come visit you this week.

Ah, that feels better. Now to do other dumb things to plead mercy for next Monday live right!

What about you? What do you need forgiveness for?

Categories: Merciful Mondays
  1. August 23, 2010 at 10:37 am

    I’ll ask for mercy from hubby for spending more time on my computer than cleaning the house.

    • Pop
      August 23, 2010 at 11:08 am

      haha. Ummm, that’s probably something I should apologize for too.

  2. August 23, 2010 at 10:52 am

    Defintely, have mercy to Jason! Poor guy, I refused to answer a question I thought was dumb and he was just trying to get clarification from me so he could answer! This, just after he bought me a brand new car with 5 miles on it! Have mercy! Lol.

    Hope your toes get better. I hate when I do that!

    • Pop
      August 23, 2010 at 11:08 am

      Have mercy indeed! And congrats on the new car!

  3. August 23, 2010 at 12:33 pm

    Merciful Monday – great feature. I missed the last one (have mercy?), but this is now a Monday-Must-Read.

    To my family, who has asked me to refrain from checking Twitter before breakfast. Have mercy on me. I have a problem with the Twitter. I kind of love it. But not more than I love my family, so no more tweeting until the waffles are consumed.

    • Pop
      August 23, 2010 at 12:39 pm

      LOL! This is a true conversation that happened a week or so ago.

      Wife: Wow hon. You sure are eating fast!
      Me: Oh. It’s b/c this dinner you made is so good.
      [I finish dinner]
      Wife: Uhhh, where are you going?
      Me: Oh. I need to just find something in the living room.
      [Mac makes the BBBBBBBBBung sound]
      Wife: ARE YOU CHECKING YOUR TWITTER?!?!?!?!

  4. August 23, 2010 at 1:16 pm

    “To make it up to you, you can pluck daddy’s nose or eyebrow hairs when you get older.” Hahahaha!

    • Pop
      August 25, 2010 at 8:33 am

      My wife actually likes “grooming” my eyebrows and says I should be thankful since she’s offering her services for free.

  5. August 23, 2010 at 3:51 pm

    Hilarious. My first read of your blog … good stuff.

    Man, the kid’s and the wife’s ability to become annoyed with me for paying more attention to a digital toy than them is unparalleled. I have had almost the same kind of conversation with my wife. My kid, who isn’t even two, constantly tries to slap my phone or iPad away from me when he wants to play.

    • Pop
      August 25, 2010 at 8:34 am

      Isn’t even two and slapping away your phone or iPad? Wait till he’s older – he’ll be stealing your phone or iPad to play with it.

  6. August 23, 2010 at 4:54 pm

    You can get detangling creme for when you brush D1’s hair out. I remember lots of screams and knots with my hair and the kids I nannied for, tho. Lol that D2 doesn’t like you hanging with your iFriend. Chunks was the same way — only with me and his Mom!

    I’m asking forgiveness right now and sure that He hears me. xoxo

    • Pop
      August 25, 2010 at 8:37 am

      Detangling cream. Do such things exist?!

      Awww, Chunks! He just wants to be a part of the conversation!

  7. August 23, 2010 at 5:21 pm

    That conversation is exactly like so many I’ve had with my husband. Except most of the time our “talks” are about the location of our various children right before I leave them in his care. It’s a scary thing.

    • Pop
      August 25, 2010 at 8:38 am

      LOL. Well, you’re still posting about your kids, which means they’re still alive and well, so good job, DAD!!!

  8. August 23, 2010 at 6:06 pm

    To my “To Do” list… have mercy! I am sorry that I haven’t gotten you out in several days. I am sorry that I haven’t payed any attention to you since you were created. I promise, i’ll put it on my list to do better.

    • Pop
      August 25, 2010 at 8:39 am

      You know you’re behind when your To-Do list gets on your To-Do list.

  9. August 23, 2010 at 7:31 pm

    LMAO…this was an awesome post. To my Pneumonia. HAVE MERCY!!!!

  10. TK
    August 23, 2010 at 8:23 pm

    My daughters teacher sent me an e-mail last night telling me she was having a birthday party TODAY for my daughter. Then the teacher told me what “I” could bring to the party. No cupcakes, cookies without frosting, clear colored juice and napkins. Then the teacher told me to be there no later than 2 pm with aforementioned goodies in hand. I could forward the e-mail to you if you don’t believe me. Bossy bit of goods needs to show some mercy!

    • Pop
      August 25, 2010 at 8:41 am

      You’re kidding! I hope my kids teachers aren’t like that when they get that age.

  11. August 23, 2010 at 10:53 pm

    I love it–the funny thing is I’m on the computer right now & my little brother is sitting next to me trying to talk to me & I’m just not listening–well I’m half way listening! lol

    • Pop
      August 25, 2010 at 8:42 am

      Honesty seems to be the best policy. So I’ll tell my wife, “Ok, hon. I’d love to listen to you but I’m checking my Twitter right now. I’ll be back with you in a sec.” Almost makes me wish I came with automated Away Messages like AIM back in the day.

  12. August 25, 2010 at 8:21 am

    Hahaha I so love this! I’m guilty of uh-huh too a lot of times. Oh and most of the times my son hairs goes un-brush because he hates it and it always turned into a tug of war between the two of us. Gotta love those curls but they are darn hard to take care of lol.

    • Pop
      August 25, 2010 at 8:43 am

      Curly hair? I can’t even imagine. My daughter has THICK hair (thanks to me) so the knots are insanely tough!

  13. August 25, 2010 at 10:02 am

    I’m just like you in the listening-but-not-really-at-all. Sometimes I can look someone in the eye, feign interest and nod in agreement but all the while, I’m thinking about what I’m going to make for dinner that night. It drives my guy crazy. But after a few years together, he’s on to me now. He knows the moment my mind wanders and stops talking until I snap my attention back to him. He’s SO demanding sometimes. 🙂

    • Pop
      August 26, 2010 at 9:18 am

      My wife does that from time to time too, but she’s much better at feigning interest as well as not getting caught. I may need some tips from your guy!

  14. August 25, 2010 at 11:14 pm

    My hubby does the I’m-listening-uh huh and I know he isn’t. You guys are masters of that!

    And I’d like to ask the Gods of Getting Children Sick to find somebody else’s kids to harass…

    • Pop
      August 26, 2010 at 9:19 am

      Huh? What’d you say? I wasn’t listening.

      Seriously GGCS FLIP OFF! Wait…it’s not Friday yet, is it?

  15. August 31, 2010 at 12:35 am

    The lack of food in the house has H & me scrambling to find food. I have yet to find the time to go grocery shopping. Trying to whip up something to eat has turned into a show on the Food Network. What can you make with eggs, fish sticks, & chocolate?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

