Home > God > Revelations from Bird Poop on My Car

Revelations from Bird Poop on My Car

On Wednesday morning, I noticed a bird pooped on my car. Judging by the size of the poop, it was either a condor or a bird who had been severely constipated for several days because the poop ran from the top of the windshield to right near the wiper blade. I wasn’t about to take a picture but I will say that it had a massive brown part and plenty of white – imagine if my windshield were a frying pan and I dropped an egg onto it, only the yolk is brown/green. It wasn’t obstructing my vision, but like a massive booger lurking just inside my daughter’s nose, it was bothering me all day. Thankfully, I realized I was out of windshield washer fluid the day before, so I didn’t end up smearing the poop all over.

Wednesday was a pretty hot day so when I got back to my car, the poop was firmly caked onto the glass. Like that pesky booger that pokes in and out of my daughter’s nose with each breath she takes, the massive, caked on poop was bugging me. It was looking really nasty at this point, so I knew I didn’t want to use the glove compartment napkin + spit technique. I pull into a gas station to use their windshield cleaning brushes and there’s no liquid in any of them. Bummer.

We were running a little late to a birthday dinner (honestly, when do parents ever NOT run late?), so we didn’t have time to stop off at a gas station to clean it off.

At the dinner, 9 people destroyed two sushi boats. YAR! This was the boat I had a hand in overtaking:

Yaaar! The sushi pirates be strikin again! YAAR!

Don’t worry, those stragglers didn’t survive – Pop never takes prisoners when it comes to food. We then hit up Roy Rogers for fried chicken (I can never say no to a cowboy’s chicken) and strawberry shortcakes. Mmmmmm! (I’m definitely going to the gym today).

So there was the poop, firmly entrenched on my windshield after a full day of being left on. It looked terrible and at this point, I was just waiting for some rain to wash it all away.

And this morning, the DMV gets a Rainpocalypse – not nearly as crazy as the Snowpocalypse we had back in February. Thankfully, I made it into work before the storm really kicked in, but man, that was one beastly thunderstorm. Good thing God promised He wouldn’t send another flood, otherwise, I’d have been looking for Steve Carrell and his ark.

Looking outside now, the sun is shining brightly and my car looks like new. In fact, you’d never know bird poop was ever on the windshield. The rain did what I didn’t want to couldn’t do.

I’m far from a perfect son, husband, father, and friend. I poop and make a mess quite often – both in the physical and the spiritual. So this morning was a comforting reminder that Jesus’ blood washes away all my sins.

Particularly as a father, there are a few instances in my life where I really screwed up. One particularly shameful incident occurred shortly after D2 was born. I was tired and D1 was having a really rough time adjusting to her younger sister, much harder than both my wife and I anticipated. At this point, a lot of stress and weariness was built up from caring for a newborn, and D1 was being particularly defiant during a potty training session and I just lost it. I yelled so loud that she peed on the floor. Despite this memory being nearly 6 weeks ago, it still pains me to even type it out. I felt more like a monster and less like a father as I beheld the terror in my daughter’s eyes. I held D1 tight and wept. I told her I was sorry over and over again and all that came out of her mouth was, “I love you, appa.”

After putting D1 to bed and doing my best to reassure her of my undying love for her, I got on my knees and prayed. I knew God promised in the Bible that He’d forgive but I was having a terrible time of moving on as I kept thinking about the look of terror my daughter had. But I knew I had to. Repentance isn’t just about saying sorry; it’s about living differently. So the next day, I sought to be a better father – a more loving and patient father, just like my heavenly Father.

Every now and then, that memory will come back and that nagging voice will remind me what a terrible father I was at that moment. But then I remember: the rain has come, the sun is shining. It’s a new day.

  1. August 12, 2010 at 10:15 am

    Boy, you really took me on a roller coaster of emotions here…. I laughed, I was grossed out, then you got all serious one me!

    Great post though, its great how you can learn important lessons from the small things that happen around us.

    • Pop
      August 12, 2010 at 12:26 pm

      Definitely. I learn the best lessons from the smallest things, e.g., my daughters!

  2. Biz
    August 12, 2010 at 11:07 am

    I absolutely loved reading this post! And your analogy of the bird poop like your daughters boogers gave me an instant visual! 😀

    You are a wonderful writer!

    • Pop
      August 12, 2010 at 12:26 pm

      Thanks for the kind words, Biz!

  3. August 12, 2010 at 12:09 pm

    Thank you, Pop, for a much-needed laugh out loud moment at my desk! Your description that it must have been a condor or severly constipated bird…well, just my kind of humor!

    • Pop
      August 12, 2010 at 12:27 pm

      Of all the cars in our neighborhood that condor could’ve relieved itself on, it chooses mine. I’m beginning to wonder if I have a bulleye or target painted on my roof.

  4. August 12, 2010 at 3:42 pm

    Ok, the booger analogy was spot on. Those things drive me nuts. I have to go pick them out. sorry!!!

    We all do the best we can…and I think one of the best things we can do as a parent is learn that we, too, can say sorry to our kids when we mess up. They’re incredibly forgiving. 🙂

    • Pop
      August 13, 2010 at 7:37 am

      The fact that she forgave me so quickly and just wanted to say, “I love you” melted my heart. I sure love that little booger!

  5. August 12, 2010 at 3:44 pm

    Too funny, and then so humbling and forthright. What a blessing it is to know we are forgiven for ALL transgressions (even the crusty ones). I know those moments of bad parenting too and they are not pretty.

    Thank-you for your everyday reminders that show us, he is always there.

    P.S. I’d like to set sail on that ship! Yum!!

    • Pop
      August 13, 2010 at 7:38 am

      Ahoy! Avast thar matey! Aye, raise the anchor and set sail for the seven seas!

  6. August 12, 2010 at 3:58 pm

    I know these boogers of which you speak. They drive me crazy. And are nearly impossible to remove unless you put your kid in a headlock.

    And I agree with Angelia, it is a very humbling (and funny!) post. As a parent, I think it’s important for us to admit to our children when we are wrong and ask them for forgiveness. I just wish it was as easy for me to forgive as itis for them.

    • Pop
      August 13, 2010 at 7:39 am

      haha~ Yeah, I had to put D1 in a headlock to get a really pesky booger yesterday.

      Isn’t it amazing how quick they forgive? As much as I think I have to teach my kids, I also know I have a lot to learn from them.

  7. August 12, 2010 at 4:23 pm

    Our kids manage to bring out the best and the worst in their parents, often on a daily basis. Parenthood is a humbling experience and helps you develop skills you’d never thought you’d have, or need. How often can we say “no” to our boss every time he/she asks us for something? Gosh, I love that part about being a parent!

    As for the bird poop, I live in a area with lots of large water fowl that sometimes deliver giant surprises on our cars. They manage to be car wash resistant too, so it’s good to see your present was washed away by torrential rain.

    • Pop
      August 13, 2010 at 7:40 am

      Car wash resistant?! Ok, you win. 🙂

  8. Veronica
    August 12, 2010 at 8:44 pm

    Aw, Pop! Loved this post. I was reading it when my hubby was at his computer next to mine and when I laughed almost as soon as I started reading, I decided to read it out loud to him so we could enjoy it at the same time and we both really enjoyed it. I couldn’t have guessed the direction you were going with starting out with the bird poop but I love the analogy you illustrated with our sins being washed by Jesus’ blood. We aren’t perfect and do so many things we regret and sometimes can not even forgive ourselves of (I know I have those skeletons in my closet–mostly concerning my sisters when we were children–I was a tyrant), but God will always forgive us if we are truly repentant and indeed make a change. It shows what a good father you are that yelling at your daughter (something that, unfortunately, many fathers do on a daily basis) hung so heavy on your heart. I truly think your girls are blessed to have you as a Father. God bless you!

    • Pop
      August 13, 2010 at 7:41 am

      Thanks, Veronica! Glad Dennis enjoyed it too! And yeah, almost daily I have to remind myself that the past is the past.

  9. August 13, 2010 at 8:07 am

    I laughed, squinted and made sure I read this right. Too funny about the bird poop (I hate the kind that just smears when you try to wipe it off with the wipers)…and the revelations it made you come to, who knew the powers of bird poop. But in all seriousness, it is understandable why you lost it and why it
    made you feel bad. I once lost it shortly after we had our 3rd when my daughter pooped her pants. I was exhausted and i probably yelled loud enough for the neighborhood to hear it. And you are not a bad father for that, I agree with th eothers, parenthood is very humbling. And you are right, it is a new day, a new start and your are a great father. Go Pop Go!

    • Pop
      August 17, 2010 at 10:14 am

      Thanks for the kind words, Danielle!

  10. August 14, 2010 at 4:56 pm

    You were sleep-deprived and drained from working full-time and taking care of a toddler and a newborn. You are human. But, you’re right to remind yourself that you can only pray for forgiveness and the strength to be more tolerant the next time. Most of the time you will live differently since you’re conscious of what you need to do. When those little slips happen, though, try not to be too hard on yourself. Go, Pop, Go! xoxo

    • Pop
      August 17, 2010 at 10:16 am

      Thanks, Twin. I’m usually my toughest critic, so it’s important for me to remind myself that moments like that don’t define who I am as a father.

  11. January 31, 2011 at 5:21 pm

    I have so been there. I have seen the look of fear in my daughter’s eyes when I’ve been filled with rage. It breaks my heart. Ugh.

  1. August 12, 2010 at 10:07 am
  2. August 31, 2010 at 12:40 pm
  3. September 27, 2010 at 10:14 am
  4. October 13, 2010 at 10:33 am

Leave a Reply

