Home > Merciful Mondays > Merciful Monday: 8.9.10

Merciful Monday: 8.9.10

Themes seem to be a big deal in Blogdom. There’s Friday Flip-offs, Fatherhood Fridays, TMI Thursdays, and Wordless Wednesdays, to name a few, so I figured I’d startup a theme as well. I don’t have any intentions at this point of making this into a blog hop but I will make an icon for it, you know, to make it quasi-official. I have no photoshop skills but I am adept at MS Paint. And voila! Pop’s Merciful Monday logo:For those who didn’t spend their formative years spending Friday nights watching TGIF, my hastily done logo is a reference to Full House and Uncle Jesse, who used to say, “Have mercy.”

So what’s the deal with Merciful Monday? While Flip-off Fridays is reserved for the dumb people and things that make me angry, Merciful Monday is reserved for the biggest dummy of all: me, because Lord knows I do some stupid things that require mercy and forgiveness. And being a Christian, repentance is an important thing in my life so I figure I’ll make it a regular part of my blog as well. Why Monday? I want to start my week of blogging off with a clean slate. So here goes!

To my wife: Have Mercy! Last week, it was (re)discovered that I am a terrible listener – most likely because my attention was divided. Here’s one instance:

Wife: We should go here because they have (blank) <- Again, I’m not a good listener because I don’t remember what they have.
Me: What? They have (blank)?!
Wife: Yes. Remember? I’ve been talking about this forever.
Me: Are you sure? (gentlemen, “Are you sure?” is never a good thing to ask a lady)
Wife: Yes, I’m sure. I guess you haven’t been listening.
Me: Are you sure? I think I would’ve remember if they had (blank). (Again, this doesn’t help you)
Wife: ……. (and all guys know, ……. means you’re dead)

And another:

Wife: [after returning from shopping] wanna see what I bought?
Me: Sure.
Wife: Isn’t this CUTE?!
Me: Uh huh…
Wife: And this one! This was the grand jewel! I can’t believe I got such a good deal on it! Isn’t it CUTE?!?!
Me: Uh huh…
Wife: Are you even looking?
Me: Sure I am.
Wife: What color was the shirt I just showed you?
Me: ……. (CRAP!)

To D1: Have Mercy! You were running and something in a store window caught your eye and you BAM ran into a wall. I tried really hard not to laugh, but I couldn’t help it.

To D2: Have Mercy! When you cry, you make the cutest sour face. So whenever you do, instead of consoling you, I reach for the camcorder.

To the people I’ve been meaning to call: Have Mercy! I promise calling you is on my To-Do list and that it is a priority – though I just keep modifying the date so that it looks like it’s not overdue. I’ll try my best to call you this week and if not, I’ll update the due date on my To-Do list accordingly.

To the Verizon FiOS Salesperson: Have Mercy! I know you want us to upgrade to FiOS but we’re perfectly happy with our DSL service and don’t want to pay extra money. When I said, “Sure, I’m interested. Could you leave the literature please?” I was lying.

To the Jehovah’s Witnesses: Have Mercy! When you rang the doorbell at 9am on a Saturday, I was actually home. And in fact, you probably knew I was as I was making something in the kitchen when you did. Actually, I take it back. Who comes to a home and rings the doorbell on a Saturday morning?! And stop leaving those magazines at our door – save me a step and throw it into the recycle bin as you exit my premises.

Ah, that feels better. Now to do other dumb things to plead mercy for next Monday live right!

What about you? What do you need forgiveness for?

  1. Alicia
    August 9, 2010 at 1:59 pm

    Aww I kinda just laughed at your note to D1. Just make sure you don’t do it when she gets older – I remember when I did something klutzy and my parents laughed and I got really mad at them. :-p Oh wait…this still happens.

    • Pop
      August 9, 2010 at 2:27 pm

      Yeah, I’ve gotta work on my poke face. I especially have a hard time not laughing when I’m supposed to be disciplining her and she says the funniest thing.

  2. August 9, 2010 at 2:57 pm

    I like the logo and got it immediately, so even if it’s only for the sake of using the logo, I may have to steal the theme one of these Mondays!

    • Pop
      August 9, 2010 at 3:08 pm

      Be my guest! 🙂 That hair is so iconic for me.

  3. August 9, 2010 at 4:31 pm

    It’s kinda like when my husband talks about football games when he has no one else around – I kinda zone out a bit!

    To my husband for me spending all day in the kitchen for a work lunch that I VOLUNTEERED for to celebrate MY anniversary with the firm: “have mercy. . . next time Hannah goes out I’ll make it up to you!” 😀

    • Pop
      August 10, 2010 at 10:03 am

      This is true but typically, women have the ability to daydream and listen at the same time, where as men can’t seem to process too many things at once, e.g., I turn down the radio when I need to parallel park.

  4. Veronica
    August 9, 2010 at 9:22 pm

    LOVE IT! I was definitely a huge Full House fan as a child but I actually forgot Uncle Jesse used to say that! Let’s just pretend that doesn’t mean I’m getting old. This was so hilarious–you could have inserted my husband directly into the second scenario with the clothes. I do that to him all the time, showing off what I bought when he could care less (have mercy, honey!, and I always get upset when he’s not as thrilled with the purchases as I am-LOL!

    • Pop
      August 10, 2010 at 10:04 am

      My wife is MUCH better at pretending to be thrilled with my purchases than I am with hers. “HONEY! SEE THIS POWER TOOL I JUST BOUGHT?!?!?!”

  5. August 10, 2010 at 6:47 am

    You know this is hilarious! Uncle Jesse would be proud. And I may have to join this one! I love the one with D1 walking into the wall. Not that it is funny to laugh at our child’s expense, but sometimes, if feels good. My daughter was riding her bike, saw some “pretty flowers” stopped to touch them, and tipped over and fell into the small rose bush. I was laughing, it was funny and I just couldn’t help it. Love this! Have Mercy!

    • Pop
      August 10, 2010 at 10:05 am

      haha, I wouldn’t have been able to hold it together, either, Danielle! Have mercy!

  6. August 10, 2010 at 5:44 pm

    I would have had to ask mercy for the curb, and other drivers that were on the road with my me and my sixteen-year old. She is getting closer to being a smooth operator, but – have mercy!

    Love this!

    • Pop
      August 11, 2010 at 10:45 am

      lol. I’m sure you’re going to have to ask for mercy from your car and your brakes as well.

  7. August 12, 2010 at 11:50 pm

    I never thought I’d be glad that anyone brought Uncle Jesse back! You got it, dude! I can think of something about which I need forgiveness, but that’s a better story for my blog. xoxo

  8. Pop
    August 13, 2010 at 7:42 am

    Looking forward to reading it! If it’s a TMI Thursday post, then Cut. It. Out.

  1. August 9, 2010 at 2:21 pm
  2. August 23, 2010 at 10:17 am
  3. October 11, 2010 at 10:38 am

Leave a Reply

