Home > Parenting > Ten Best Things About a Newborn

Ten Best Things About a Newborn

I think babies and parenting are getting a bum rap these days among young professionals. I’m not a scholar like this guy

so I won’t rattle off any studies, polls, or data, but anecdotally, I know a lot of my peers aren’t thinking of having kids until they get their life straight, travel, and all that – which usually means around their mid-30s. In Korea, I’ve heard that young people aren’t interested in being tied down to one person let alone procreating with one individual. For my friends, the reasons for not going forth and multiplying are usually:

  1. The lack of sleep (it’s true: newborns typically feed every 3 hours, so you won’t be sleeping a full 6-8 hours)
  2. Kids are too expensive (they can be)
  3. I don’t want stretch marks and birth seems traumatic (after reading my birth story post, I quipped to some of them that they probably upped their birth control dosage)
  4. You can’t travel with kids (you can, but it can be a challenge)
  5. I can’t deal with the crying (Yeah…that part kind of sucks)
  6. Are you kidding? I don’t want to get pooped or peed on (Yeah, that’s not cute either)
  7. I’m focused on my career (sadly, some of their careers aren’t going anywhere or they hate their job, so maybe they’re not focusing hard enough? :-P)

And there are other reasons too, but those are the most common ones I get from friends. Today, I’m here to give newborns their due. And with D2 now approaching the 3 week mark, all of these are fresh in my memory and I’m gonna miss ’em like crazy when she gets bigger. So here goes.

Ten Things I Love About Newborns, or, Why Lack of Sleep Isn’t so Bad

  1. You feel like you won something or made a huge achievement when you soothe or burp a newborn – I complain I never win anything; with soothing and burping, I’m a winner multiple times a day
  2. Their cute sneezes and HUGE yawns
  3. The funny face they make when they shart
  4. The soft skin and hair, and the fuzzy fur on their bodies
  5. The way their thighs and arms go from incredibly skinny, to having fat folds, to full-on Michelin man (the stink that can be housed in the fat folds however, are not so awesome)
  6. Cute little clothes and teeny, tiny diapers

    D1's Size 4 and D2's Size N

  7. The way they smell – and their breath smells like butter
  8. The way they look at you with wide eyes and smile their toothless smile
  9. The look of sheer bliss when they finish feeding
  10. The way you become selfless to care for a mostly helpless being (and the fact that you hope they’ll do the same for you when you are smiling a toothless smile and wearing diapers)

This last one might be just me, but I LOVED biting D1’s cheeks – they were SO juicy.

For the parents out there, what about newborns were you most fond of? What do you miss now that they’re all big and not as cute anymore mature?

Categories: Parenting Tags: , , , ,
  1. July 22, 2010 at 9:49 am

    The baby smell. Nothing is better than new baby smell. If you could bottle it, you’d be a rich[er] man.

    • Pop
      July 22, 2010 at 9:50 am

      Agreed. Too bad it doesn’t last. D1 started emitting some pretty gross smells as a late-infant/toddler.

      • Alicia
        July 22, 2010 at 9:54 am

        That’s because you were feeding her BBQ!

        • Pop
          July 22, 2010 at 9:57 am

          *ahem* I happen to like it when D1 smells like grilled meat. She sweats a LOT (that’s probably my genes she got) and ends up smelling pretty funky every now and then.

  2. Alicia
    July 22, 2010 at 10:01 am

    D1 is so not going to enjoy reading that you wrote that about her when she’s older…hah!

    • Pop
      July 22, 2010 at 5:40 pm

      haha. Prob not, which is why I won’t tell her about this blog! 😛

  3. July 22, 2010 at 5:12 pm

    This is so sweet. I loved the baby sounds my nephew would make when he was breast feeding. Does D2 do that? The little grunty sounds? I also love their smell. And when they get old enough to laugh, that is the bomb. That delighted giggle that practically bubbles out of their chest. This is making me sad since I can’t have children but I’m always delighted to read about yours. Thank you for sharing your joy with us. 🙂

    • Pop
      July 22, 2010 at 5:41 pm

      Oh man! The little grunts are SO cute! Sometimes, I’ll touch her teeny toes–which look like tiny peas–while she’s feeding, and she’ll grunt repeatedly.

      I can’t wait till she gets old enough to laugh. When D1 started laughing, it made my days -that- much better.

      And thanks for sharing all your wonderful cakes w/ me! Those pictures bring me joy too! 😛

  4. July 22, 2010 at 8:17 pm

    Good Post. My favorite part about newborns were their teeny feet and toes, I liked how they smelled and felt. I know weird. I love the way my youngest son, 8 months just lays on your belly, as you are sitting his back against your stomach, like a recliner and just sprawls out, arms wide and hooked on your arms, so trusting and calm. Now that my first and second are bigger I miss the way I used to be able to pick them up and cuddle them, easily, all their body parts in my arms. Now my 5 1/2 year old is over 4 feet tall and that makes it kinda hard! Like I said before…good post.

    • Pop
      July 23, 2010 at 9:35 am

      Not weird at all, Danielle! And I loved when D1 used me as a recliner.And I also love how I can pickup D2 with one arm.

  5. July 23, 2010 at 1:30 pm

    One wonderful thing about newborns is how tiny they are! They cuddle and curl up in the fetal position and while resting against your belly. It almost feels like they’re still in your womb. A few years later, when they cuddle against you in the same position, you realize how fast they’ve grown…

    Oh, and newborns don’t have temper tantrums and don’t answer no to all of your questions!

    • Pop
      July 26, 2010 at 8:31 am

      When D1 curls up against me, it’s hard to believe she was once as tiny as D2. Where has the time gone?!

      Haha. Gotta love the fact that they can’t say, “No!”

  6. July 23, 2010 at 1:42 pm

    Those fuzzy soft heads and those little baby toes. Awe!

    • Pop
      July 26, 2010 at 8:31 am

      I think D2 is going to have a bald spot–or 10–because I keep rubbing her head. Her hair is so soft and fuzzy!

  7. July 24, 2010 at 5:22 pm

    I love that spoof of the Old Spice commercial. =)

    I miss all the sounds a little baby makes and how they just want to be held all the time. I miss watching a baby sleep. Babies always look like little angels when they sleep.

    • Pop
      July 26, 2010 at 8:32 am

      haha. When the babies fall asleep, I think I hear choruses of angels singing Hallelujah! Or maybe that’s just me. But you’re right, they do look like little angels.

  8. August 3, 2010 at 1:50 am

    yup totally a biter. Every once in a while I STILL bite the kids– good thing they got used to it as babies; they tolerate this little “mom tax.” I can’t help it; babies are just so yummy! And it means I love them even thought there’s no softness or fat to nibble on my youngest.
    Also love nibbling and nuzzling that incredible little baby neck. Mmmmh mmmm mmm mhhhh hmmmm!
    Other than that, miss breastfeeding– as I said before, the second most satisfying part of life! That’s like an award and major achievement every three hours! So I understand the burping achievement etc…
    MAn, I could go on for quite a while here, so I better stop before I’m teary about the fact my nest is quickly getting empty…..
    Thanks Pop!

    • Pop
      August 3, 2010 at 11:25 am

      The other day, D1 bit me. Even though she’s 2.5, I still bite her chubby little arm from time to time. I guess it’s time to stop.

      And your comment just shows how awesome newborns are.

  9. August 17, 2010 at 4:17 pm

    thanks i’ve got seven weeks to B day!

    • Pop
      August 17, 2010 at 7:38 pm

      Awesome! Enjoy it! D2 has already grown so much in 6 weeks!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

