Home > Daughter #2 > Birth Story: The Beginning

Birth Story: The Beginning

Baby #2 wasn’t nearly as difficult to conceive as my daughter was, but that didn’t mean I wasn’t anxious. How would we all handle having another in our family when it seemed we just got used to being a family 3? After being the center of attention for 2+ years, how would my daughter handle all the attention and affection that was sure to be focused on our second child? How could I possibly love another being as much as my first born? These were just some of the questions on my mind, in addition to the typical ones like, “Is the child healthy?” and “Why are people so ignorant when they ask pregnant women questions?”

To complicate matters, the due date for our daughter was during a major retreat our church operates at the end of June. When my Pastor asked me if I could lead worship for the retreat as I normally do, my wife and I talked it over for a while, but we both were hesitant. On one hand, I want to be there for the retreat. I love leading worship and I’ve been a part of this retreat from the very beginning. But on the other, I wanted to be there for my wife.

A lot of my anxieties were alleviated when a friend of our church came to lead a conference this past February. Our church has been working with this particular Pastor/speaker for 9 years and he has the gift of prophecy. Whatever your thoughts may be regarding prophecies–or THE prophetic as it’s commonly called in certain circles–understand that this man was a polarizing figure even in our church. Some loved him and were encouraged greatly by him; others shrugged him off, were hurt by him, or thought he was operating under the power of the devil. This blog doesn’t exist for the sake of argumentation – because Lord knows we Christians can argue with one another – so I won’t say more about my views on THE prophetic or prophecies other than I was really encouraged by what he said.

He said a lot about me and my wife, but in particular, he prophesied that we were about to have a child – a fact which everyone at our church knew at that point but he didn’t. He later said he usually doesn’t say anything about people having children because of the potential damage it could cause just in case he didn’t hear right, but he said the image was so certain. Anywho, he said a lot of encouraging things, but one phrase stuck with me: “it will happen in the 7th month, there’ll be a perfect child that’ll come forth.”

For whatever reason, the phrase “perfect child” gave me incredible comfort and this helped alleviate much of my fears. But what about the child being born in the 7th month? Could I and should I believe what he said? Should I lead worship at the retreat, trusting that our child wouldn’t be born until July?

I kept think of Hebrews 11:1 – “Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.” This test of faith, if you can even call it that, was minor and frankly trivial compared to the tests the heroes of faith mentioned in Hebrews 11 faced, but for this Pop, it was a test of faith nonetheless.

What to do?

Tomorrow: Pop and his wife discuss the prophecy and come to a decision.

  1. July 6, 2010 at 6:04 pm

    Love this! Gave me a lot of warm fuzzies! xoxo to you and your girls 🙂

  2. Pop
    July 8, 2010 at 10:23 am

    Thanks, Twin!

  1. July 7, 2010 at 9:03 am
  2. July 9, 2010 at 9:04 am

Leave a Reply

