Home > Daughter #2 > Hi Little Baby

Hi Little Baby

It’s hard to believe, but you’re going to be here soon. Daddy was leading worship at a retreat this past weekend, and at one point I cried because I imagined holding you in my arms. What can I say? I’m a sappy pop. I imagined the rush of emotions as I held and laid eyes on you for the first time and I was overwhelmed. The tears were overflowing when in that moment, God said He felt the same for me.

As you get ready to step out into this world of ours, I have a few things I’d like to tell you. First, you are a blessing, not a burden. The Bible says, “Behold, children are a gift of the LORD, the fruit of the womb is a reward” (Ps. 127:3). So what does it mean for you to be a gift? Let me explain it this way – your mom is God’s perfect gift for me – not only because she’s wonderful, but because without her, I wouldn’t be who I am supposed to be. We’ve had conflicts, arguments, and fights in our 5 years of marriage, which, though painful, have helped me become a more patient, loving man. In the same way, your sister is God’s gift to me. Not only does she bring me lots of joy and laughter, but she also helps me to be a more loving, caring father, mostly by testing my patience and tolerance for pain – stepping on toys isn’t fun. So that’s a gift from God – not only something that I’m supposed to enjoy, but something that helps me to become who I am supposed to be. You’re a gift;  don’t ever let anyone–including me–tell you any differently.

Second, you were created as a solution to a problem. In fact, every created thing was created as a solution to a problem. People got tired of walking, so they invented the automobile. Then people wanted to travel further and faster, so they invented the airplane. People are strange needed to use their hands while under a blanket so they invented the Snuggie. People are really strange and perverted needed to…well honestly, I don’t know why they created the Shake Weight. So God created you as a solution to a problem. Maybe it’s to help fight poverty or hunger in some foreign nation. Maybe it’s to teach students and help guide them to a brighter future. Maybe it’s to simultaneously help the terrible Washington Redskins and help mommy and daddy retire early – there’s maybe 0.001% chance that this is what you were created for, so I won’t get too excited. And of course, there likely isn’t just one problem you were created for, but know and understand that your life has purpose and meaning.

Finally, I’m going to do all I can to be the best dad I can possibly be for you. I’m still unsure how I am going to balance caring for you and your sister. Your sister got all our attention for close to 3 years. When she was inutero, we were constantly thinking about her -we even did this baby journal thing. We did buy a journal for you as well, but it’s really quite sad how rarely we read and wrote in it. When she cried or wanted something, she got all of our attention. Now our attention is going to be split. So while I’m still unsure how I am going to balance things, I will tell you that when I’m with you, you will have my undivided attention.

See you soon, kiddo.

Love,
Pop

Categories: Daughter #2 Tags: , , ,
  1. June 30, 2010 at 11:13 am

    So beautiful and heartfelt, Twin! I know that you and your family will treasure this words for years to come! I’m tearing up at my laptop and anxiously awaiting the arrival of God’s next wondrous gift in your life! xoxo

    • Pop
      June 30, 2010 at 1:05 pm

      Thanks, Twin! Can’t wait. Although my wife is even more eager – the heat last week was KILLER! Thankfully, the weather’s much nicer today! xoxo

  2. June 30, 2010 at 12:00 pm

    This is so touching. Congratulations to you–children truly are a blessing.

    • Pop
      June 30, 2010 at 1:06 pm

      Thanks, Veronica. They really are. Tiring? Sometimes. Exhausting? Sometimes. Frustrating? Sometimes. A blessing? Always.

  3. June 30, 2010 at 3:34 pm

    Superb! I have two kiddos of my own. Balancing your time and attention takes practice but you’ll get the hang of it quickly. As your children grow up it gets easier because they want to do everything together. At least my two kids still want to do everything together. I think you are going to have an easy time with this new addition to your household.

  4. June 30, 2010 at 3:40 pm

    Beautifully written and heartfelt, loved your moment on realizing how God sees you.
    I only had one child for 14years, now I have two (almost) step kids and it is soooo hard to give them equal attention. I have learned one on one “dates” work well and they are sooo happy to be together again after. 🙂 Congratulations, can’t wait to hear the news shouted from the rooftops. 😀

  5. Snake
    July 2, 2010 at 11:00 am

    …Or maybe her purpose is to create an awesome, two-piece band with J and change the face of Christian music for a new level of awesome!

    • Pop
      July 8, 2010 at 10:23 am

      That would be awesome!

  6. July 6, 2010 at 5:49 pm

    People say having a baby changes everything, but having two changes everything again! It’s an exciting, challenging, exhausting and rewarding adventure. I was very conscious that my first child would feel left out since he was only 19 months old at the birth of his brother. A friend of mine recommended what turned out to be a GREAT idea. She said, have the baby give him a present when he comes visit him in the hospital for the first time. Babies get all of the attention in the beginning, so it’s a kind gesture for the baby to offer a gift as a sign of respect and kindness to the older child. My son loved the tractor trailer his brother gave me and they both play with it to this day. I would recommend every parent to do that when welcoming the arrival of baby #2, #3, etc.

    • Pop
      July 8, 2010 at 10:21 am

      That’s a great idea! I had no idea how complicated managing the emotions of our first born would be.

  1. July 14, 2010 at 1:15 pm

Leave a Reply

