Home > God, Parenting > Do Not Worry About Tomorrow

Do Not Worry About Tomorrow

With Baby #2’s impending arrival, it’s safe to say I’m one eager Pop. Thankfully, we’ve settled on a pool of names and we’ll name him or her shortly after we lay eyes on him/her, so that’s one thing off the to do list. The 2nd car seat has been installed; the bag we will be taking to the birth center is packed. Yup, the only things left are to birth the baby and take care of him or her for the next 18 years or so. And that makes me so anxious.

Will I have the wisdom to be a good dad? Will my wife and I be consistent in our discipline? Where will we move to? And will the public schools in the area remain good? Will I be charged with assault when my daughter brings home a boy cordial with potential suitors? Those are just some of the things my wandering mind often thinks about.

Perhaps all this worrying is a product of living so close to our Nation’s capital. A city full of movers and shakers, and their Crackberries, it’s hard to do anything without scheduling far in advance. Even grabbing a nice meal in the District can be a challenge without prior planning. I’m typically rushing between meetings – though rushing in this case means I’m cursing and stressing out rather than moving quickly since the words efficient, fast or pleasant are never associated with commuting in the area. Two steps forward, three steps back usually refers to my ever-increasing to do list. And I still receive phone calls that begin, “WHERE ARE YOU?!?!” To which, I usually respond, “I’m 5 minutes away. I’m right down the street.” Thank God for technology and the preemptive text: “Stuck in trfc. B there in 5.”

Having spent most of my life in the area, it’s hard for me to relax and not plan ahead. Even a good portion of my parenting focuses on planning. Which beach should we head to in August? What should she be for Halloween and which pumpkin patch should we go to? Is my daughter ready for her first ski trip this winter? When will we take her to Disney World to meet the princesses she loves so dearly? Should we put her in pre-school? And if so, we better get started because I hear the waiting lists are ridiculous.

Recently, many of the lessons God has been teaching me revolve around enjoying the moment. From dancing with my daughter, to focusing on who I am with, God has been trying to remind me to stop and smell the roses. But dull as I am, I need constant reminders; Divine Post-It’s, if you will. This morning, I found a Divine Post-It in my devotion:

Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own. – Matthew 6:34

Side Note: with things becoming obsolete at such a rapid pace (so long Asian Avenue and Friendster, I hardly knew ye), it’s comforting to know the Bible is still relevant and still speaks to my situation today.

Often, Christians make a mountain out of molehill on things we’ll never really know the answers to this side of heaven, such as dispensationalism, spiritual gifts, sexuality, etc…and yet, neglect other passages in Scripture that are clear. In Matt 6:34, Jesus preaches that we should not worry about tomorrow because “each day has enough trouble of its own.” That looks like a disheartening statement – troubles are going to be renewed every day. But in context with verses 25-34, it also means that provisions from God are renewed each day as well. For example, the Israelites didn’t have to worry about saving food in the desert, as God provided them manna – God was the original Subway: fresh bread baked daily.

That’s not to say planning or prudent foresight is bad. Even God foreshadowed the coming of Christ in the 3rd chapter of the Bible, and had a plan for the redemption of man. But for an anxious Pop like me, it’s an exhortation to relax. Will I have the wisdom to be a good dad? The God of all wisdom will provide. Will my wife and I be consistent in our discipline? God is the ultimate in discipline – He’ll help. Where will we move to? And will the public schools in the area remain good? God took Abram to an unknown land and made him a nation. Will I be charged with assault when my daughter brings home a boy cordial with potential suitors? God will help me.

Thank You, God for reminding me that you so wisely provide everything I need in my life. With the hustle and bustle of life, it’s easy to anticipate trouble or negative consequences, almost like softening a blow, but You remind me that I merely torment myself in doing so. Give me the strength to bear today’s burdens, the discernment to understand Your plan, and the freedom to enjoy what You have created today. Amen.

Have a great day!

  1. Alicia
    June 23, 2010 at 10:14 am

    Given J’s history with snow, I’m willing to bet she won’t be ready for a ski trip this year. I could be wrong though. :-p

    • Pop
      June 23, 2010 at 10:51 am

      Well, a lot can change in a year. I hope. Or she could just be the cutest kid in the lodge.

  2. June 23, 2010 at 9:47 pm

    Philippians 4:6 (CEV)
    Don’t worry about anything, but pray about everything. With thankful hearts offer up your prayers and requests to God.

    This verse came to mind reading this. It’s such a hard thing for me to do personally. And like you said, every day, we can give it up to God. I am praying for your peace. I am praying you know what a great dad you are and will be again.

    🙂

    • Pop
      June 24, 2010 at 8:19 am

      Awww, thanks Angelia!

      And your verse reminded me of 1 Peter 5:7 “Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.” I think in Matt 6, Phi 4, and this verse, it’s clear that God cares for us. Such a comforting thought.

      • June 25, 2010 at 10:07 am

        I said a lot of “Amens!” while reading this post. You’re right that the Bible is a constant! Time with God does require us to slow down and contemplate. And, in this fast-paced world, that’s never a bad thing. xoxo

  3. June 24, 2010 at 1:05 pm

    Hectic pace is a kind description of our lives since we moved to Colorado. Now there is always someone to visit and some event planned. I have almost every moment of this summer planned. I will endeavor to remember to slow my roll. Thanks for the reminder.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

