Home > Grilling > Grill, Pop, Grill: Steak Part 2

Grill, Pop, Grill: Steak Part 2

Here’s part one in case you missed it. With Father’s Day coming up this Sunday, I figured it’d be good to post on steaks to 1) whet your appetite and 2) convince you not to spend $$$ at a steakhouse. On a recent visit to Sam’s Club, I noticed that strip steaks are now $7.98/lb – a whopping $2.10 more/lb than just 3 months ago. Looks like it’s going to be all ribeyes this summer.

The price/lb remains $6.98 at Sam’s.

3 or 4 for the price of 1

That’s right. $23–or what you’d pay for one ribeye at a steakhouse– for 3 good-sized steaks and 1 smaller steak. Sam’s typically puts 3 in a pack while Costco usually puts 6.

Remember what I said about ribeyes being well-marbled?

Marbled goodness

I do not recommend freezing steaks – just don’t. Buy as much as you’re going to eat, remove the meat pads/bovine hygiene products from underneath the steaks, and season the steaks with olive oil and coarse ground (or freshly ground if you have it) black pepper, which you can see in the background. I season the steaks in the original packaging because that’s one less dish I have to do. If you’re buying the steaks ahead of time, I’ve found up to 2 days in the fridge is ok, but I’d recommend buying them either the day of or the night before.

As long as you’re going to cook the steaks within 2 or 3 hours, you don’t have to refrigerate them. If you bought the steaks beforehand, get them out and season them at least an hour before grilling. Rub in some black pepper, then coat the steaks on all sides with olive oil, and let them rest until they are ready for salting (no more than 30 minutes before grilling).

Black pepper + Olive Oil

I like taking closeups of meat.

Hello, Mr. DeMille

I find most people’s apprehension about cooking steaks lies with over or undercooking the meat. Here are some tips:

  1. Make sure the coals have completely ashed over. With a fatty cut like a ribeye, flareups are inevitable, but waiting until the coals are ready makes a huge difference. Also, you may want to use a glove if you want to save your knuckle hairs.
  2. Don’t overload the grill – if there’s a huge flareup and there’s still plenty of time to go before a rotation or flipping, you’re going to want to move the steak to an empty spot on the grill. Yes, you will affect the grill marks, but as long as you get nice marks on one side, that’s all that matters. Have you ever seen someone flip their steak over?
  3. To check for doneness, touch your meat. No seriously, touch it. Don’t focus on how long you’ve been cooking for – depending on weather and grill/fire conditions, your cooking time will vary from any recipes or instructions you may find. Testing with your fingers works every time.
  4. I undercook my steaks a bit to compensate for carry over cooking, e.g., if someone wants a medium-rare, I’ll cook it just a little bit past rare.

And here they are.

Done

Since I was having several guests over, I cooked the steaks to different degrees of doneness. Here’s a medium.

Some like it medium...

And here’s a rare. Look at that delicious marbling and the juices on the plate.

I like it rare

If you really love your dad, head to a local butcher shop and get some aged cuts. As long as you touch your meat regularly during grilling, you won’t ruin it.

Happy grilling!

  1. the buck
    June 16, 2010 at 9:59 am

    Why do you torture us?

    • Alicia
      June 16, 2010 at 10:16 am

      Seconded.

      • Pop
        June 16, 2010 at 11:19 am

        If it makes you feel any better, I really enjoyed the steak.

        • June 16, 2010 at 6:09 pm

          You’re a jerk, Pop.

        • Pop
          June 17, 2010 at 8:47 am

          Lol. To make amends, I’ll invite you over for steak sometime soon.

  2. June 16, 2010 at 10:41 am

    Pop!! I love it rare too. I should NOT have looked at this post. My God…you take the best meat pictures!! How am I going to make it through the day? In my slew of office buildings, I’ve always wished there was a place to get a good steak! Do you think your wife and children would mind if I came to live with you? I’d be real quiet and would only appear at mealtime.

    • Pop
      June 16, 2010 at 11:20 am

      “In my slew of office buildings, I’ve always wished there was a place to get a good steak!”

      This is one of my gripes about the corporate life, LD – not only is the office LD-worthy, but there’s nowhere good to eat!

      And the buck has been applying for the position of family pet for some time and his application continues to be rejected.

  3. June 16, 2010 at 11:16 am

    I’m printing and framing these pictures. Love it, Pop – freaking love it!

    -GM

    • Pop
      June 16, 2010 at 11:21 am

      I think one of the YaGM posts should be about not eating your steak well-done.

      • June 19, 2010 at 11:01 pm

        you know I’ll absolutely agree to that!

  1. April 14, 2011 at 3:35 pm

Leave a Reply

