Home > Amusings > Still Having Trouble with Your Name

Still Having Trouble with Your Name

So after reading my post yesterday, my wife forwards me an article from CNN: Does your name shape your destiny? First of all, don’t you just love all the stuff floating in the wonderful toilet bowl that is the Internets? So many thoughts and ideas but very few conclusions. The CNN article basically goes: blah, blah, blah, blah, blah with a few unmemorable passages of text made into large quotes to A) make the text seem important and B) lend some credence to the article, and then with the conclusion: “These studies are not absolute. But one thing is clear: A name is more than a name.” And then the big finish: a quote. So basically, the article says a lot but actually says very little, and its answer to the question posed in the title, “Does your name shape your destiny?”: it probably does but we’re not entirely sure how. But it probably will, so you probably should name your child something.

The same absolutely holds true for my blog. I hope it’s entertaining for those who stop by and I sure hope visitors come back or even subscribe, but let’s face it – nothing I write is going to make or break your week, your day, or even the time between you reading this and when you Alt + Tab when a coworker walks by. But I continue to write because I hope it makes you chuckle, maybe even LOL, drool, or say, “Hmmmm, that’s interesting.” And of course, having subscribers boosts my electronic ego (eEgo? eGo?). But back to the article and baby names.

A few quotes I found interesting from the article. First,

Professors reported children with “black-sounding” names such as Lakisha and Jamal are 50 percent less likely to receive a call back for a job interview compared to “white-sounding” names such as Emily or Greg.

So sadly, our child won’t be named Watermelondrea or Colla’Greeniqua.

Second,

Pelham attributes the naming phenomenon to ‘implicit egotism,” the idea that people unconsciously select things, places and other people that resemble them.

So I guess Marylandre and Koreandrea are in play.

Finally,

A name can affect academic achievement, said professors Leif Nelson, now at the University of California-Berkeley, and Joseph Simmons at Yale University, in their 2007 study. After analyzing grades, they found students with names that began with a C or D earned lower grade point averages than those that started with an A or a B.

You know us Asians are all about academic achievement, so maybe we’ll go with Astute or Brilliant.

Somewhat more seriously, I do have a list of girl names that I’d like to use but for some reason, my wife doesn’t like them:

Virginity
Chastity
Purity
My Dad Knows Karate

One girl name we definitely won’t be using is Lindsay, for obvious reasons. Britney’s out too. Add Kate to that list.

Sometimes, I’d like it if God made my life easy and like in the Bible, send an Angel of the Lord and tell us what to name the child. Although, if He did, I’d probably Google the name, research the meaning, etymology and how popular it is, and come back and say, “Are you sure, God?”

  1. Alicia
    May 27, 2010 at 11:57 am

    Hahhaahah. Name #4 is my favorite.

    • Pop
      May 27, 2010 at 12:29 pm

      Me too! Not sure why the wife doesn’t like it. 😛

  2. southamerica
    May 27, 2010 at 3:26 pm

    Those are stripper names my friend.

  3. May 27, 2010 at 4:09 pm

    I’m so glad you found my blog so that I could discover yours because you make me smile or laugh every time I read it. 🙂 I think yours is the funnest one that I read! Don’t stress over it–you guys will come up with something perfect. Are you going to know what sex the baby is b4 it’s born or be surprised?

    • Pop
      May 27, 2010 at 4:55 pm

      Awwww, thanks for the kind words Veronica! As for the sex of the baby, we’re keeping it a surprise. We kept our daughter a surprise and it was really exciting!

  4. Ina
    May 30, 2010 at 10:46 pm

    One theory I have is that the more recognizable the name, the more confident the child will be. I think having to repeat my name several times every single time I meet someone new did something to me as a kid! That’s one thing I’m considering when our time comes.

    • Pop
      June 1, 2010 at 1:23 pm

      That’s a plausible theory. Having a Korean name, it was often more trouble than it was worth introducing myself.

  1. June 23, 2010 at 9:55 am

Leave a Reply

