Home > Parenting > Being a Pop Rocks!

Being a Pop Rocks!

Parenting is awesome! Yesterday, we went to a graduation party. Since the parents of the graduate own a restaurant, the food was delicious but there wasn’t very much for my daughter to eat. She doesn’t really enjoy green vegetables (carrots and corn are about the only veggies she eats) nor does she enjoy spicy food, so that pretty much ruled out every dish except rice and spicy fried chicken wings.

My wife and I try very hard not to feed our daughter fried foods, but the spicy fried chicken wings were the only meat that wasn’t marinated in something spicy. Since they merely had a spicy coating, all I had to do was eat the skin and the attached meat and give my daughter the remains. My daughter and I make a good team.

You see, I LOVE chicken skin! So much so that I often daydreamed about opening up Skins ‘n Stuff – a restaurant that only sold fried chicken skin and sides. One of my favorite ways to eat fried chicken is to remove the chicken skin and use it like a tortilla wrap. Don’t knock it till you’ve tried it. In fact, one of the things I took as a sign that my wife was the perfect one for me was that whenever we went to Popeye’s, she never ate her chicken skin. Too unhealthy she said. So I ended up eating chicken with double skin. Glorious! I was able to enjoy double-skinned, double-battered chicken without having to do some crazy chicken breeding or genetic mutations. Yeah…maybe that explains what my heart was doing last summer. 😛

So yesterday, I sat there happily eating the spicy chicken wing skin and giving my daughter the inside meat. Between the two of us, we probably ate 15-20 wings. That girl sure loves her some chicken. In fact, I could barely keep up with her demand for more chicken. And the best part of all this? If I went to a Popeye’s or some place for wings, my wife would be really upset that I just sat there eating the skin. But yesterday, my wife smiled and said, “You’re so nice to our daughter…”

So thank you, daughter, for being my enabler. 🙂

Another story from yesterday: when I got home from work, my daughter was incredibly excited to see me. She ran up to me, hugged me, kissed me, and said, “Hi appa! How was your day?!” No matter what I endure throughout the workday, this sequence brings my blood pressure down and soothes any stress I may have been feeling. But the amount of enthusiasm she showed had my Daddy senses tingling…then she started asking, “Daddy, can we play a game? Daddy, can we play a game?” “Uh…sure…what game?” She then runs over to our stash of board games.

You see, we have a stash of board games she’s not supposed to touch – we’re already missing Blokus and Scrabble pieces from her last adventure through the board games. Apparently, she asked my mom to play the games and she told my daughter to ask dad when he comes home. What the?! My mom done set me up.

So my daughter looks at me all sad like, runs up and gives me a hug and asks if we can play a game. But I had an ace up my sleeve. “WHO WANTS TO EAT CHEERIOS!?!?!” “MEEEE!!!” and she runs off to the kitchen. You see, we’ve tricked our daughter into thinking Cheerios are the most amazing tasting things in the world. When we first began feeding them to her, we’d say all kinds of things like, “YUM! These are sooo good! DELICIOUS! MMMMMMMMMM!” and now, she thinks the same thing. Thankfully, she forgot all about the board games.

But alas, I’m pretty sure distraction won’t work indefinitely. I’m sure there’ll be something she really wants one day, and other than a boyfriend, I’ll most likely cave to her demands. Well, as long as I get to eat all the chicken skin, I won’t complain.

Categories: Parenting Tags: , , , ,
  1. May 25, 2010 at 10:34 am

    Pop, you are indeed a lucky man! What a great scenario AND you come out as a hero. I admit I like it too…I’d go to your Skins ‘n Stuff restaurant if you opened it!

    • Pop
      May 25, 2010 at 10:37 am

      And hopefully, you’ll have a better office that you’d want to bring food back for by then. 🙂

  2. Dionne Baldwin
    May 25, 2010 at 12:03 pm

    When they are younger the distractions are easier I think. There is something about a heart filled child-like greeting that minimizes the rest of the crap that happened during the day.:) BTW we would totally come and eat at your Skins n Stuff restaurant too.

    • Pop
      May 26, 2010 at 8:54 am

      “When they are younger the distractions are easier I think. ”

      Yeah…so I’m going to milk it for all it’s worth now 🙂

  3. May 25, 2010 at 5:30 pm

    Ahaha–you are brilliant! Love the Cheerios trick–both the distraction and that she’s convinced they’re the best thing in the world. Bet it wouldn’t work with brocolli though. 🙂 But ew, gross on your love for chicken skin! Eeeek! You sound like MY Pop–at the dinner table we’d pull off chicken skin and cut off fat from our steaks or whatever meat we were having and pass it to him automatically. Then we watched with revulsion as he ate a plate of our discarded fats. *shudder* This was such a cute blog. I don’t have children but it reminded me of how I feel toward my dog and how coming home is so wonderful because she’s there to greet me with her happy face and wagging tail. I’ve done weird things for her too, like chewing up peanuts and spitting them into my hand for her b/c she has trouble chewing them. Haha–now you’re saying, “ew, gross!”

    • Pop
      May 26, 2010 at 8:54 am

      I like your Pop! 🙂 And yeah, I’ve had to do gross things too…e.g., suck off all the spicy sauce on chunks of chicken and then feed them to my daughter. haha~ I hope she doesn’t read this when she gets older.

  4. May 25, 2010 at 5:37 pm

    If you open a chicken skin restaurant, I am soooo there!

    And the Popeye’s chicken skin is the BEST. Can’t believe she gave that up without a fight.

    I am so craving chicken wings now.

    I think Cheerios is great game. You can string em’. Count em’. Use them as poker chips and teach her Texas hold em’. Seriously! Then, whoever wins the pot -yummmm!

    😀

    • Pop
      May 26, 2010 at 8:56 am

      “And the Popeye’s chicken skin is the BEST. Can’t believe she gave that up without a fight.”

      Well, Angelia, she’s never had the skin before, but I’m sure once she does, she won’t be giving it up. One time, we were having fried shrimp and we peeled off the fried batter for her. Later, she ate one when we weren’t looking and when we tried to only give her the shrimp, she demanded the batter 😛

  5. May 25, 2010 at 6:59 pm

    Children are the first wonders of the world!

    • Pop
      May 26, 2010 at 8:57 am

      They really are. Thanks for stopping by, Bugg!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

