Home > Daughter #2 > Hi (Not So) Little Baby

Hi (Not So) Little Baby

So in a little over a month, both you and I are going to be uncomfortable. For the past 8+ months, you’ve enjoyed the comfort of the womb, and I’ve enjoyed the fact that your erratic sleeping patterns in the womb have had little to no affect on me. But a little discomfort is no big deal compared with being able to hold you.

Can I ask you a question? Daddy’s in trouble isn’t he? You see, your sister used to move in the womb, but it seemed she was doing yoga, with large, sweeping motions. You on the other hand, it seems you’re taking a spinning class or working out to music at 160bpm. That combined with the fact that you’re active for most of the day makes me think we’re going to be getting very little sleep.

You’d think this being the second-time around, I’d be less apprehensive, but I’m not. The cord being wrapped around your neck, meconium getting into the amniotic fluid, tearing for mommy, you being healthy, SIDS, etc…but at least every time I look at your sister I can say, “Well, despite my ignorance and foolishness, she’s still alive…so…” 😛 I’m sure that gives you very little comfort, but one thing I can assure you is that I’ll do my absolute best to love and care for you every single day. And not to mention, I’ll BBQ for you – but that won’t be for another year or so, so don’t get too excited.

Enjoy your last month in there kiddo. Daddy absolutely can’t wait to see you!

Love,
Dad

Categories: Daughter #2 Tags: , ,
  1. Dionne Baldwin
    May 21, 2010 at 12:51 pm

    Do you ever stare at the ultrasound photo imagining what the little tiny face will look like? Do fears for our children ever subside? Or is that part of being parents that are hopelessly in love with our children?

  2. Pop
    May 21, 2010 at 2:52 pm

    Since we’re keeping the gender a surprise, that’s probably at the top of my curiosity list. And I’m definitely hopelessly in love with my kid(s), even though I’ve not even laid eyes on #2 yet! 🙂

  3. May 21, 2010 at 4:39 pm

    🙂 Did you read about my son on the verge of manhood “Like all men, my son LIES.” You just wait; it flies by. It’s nice you’re enjoying every minute of it.

  4. May 22, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    I don’t remember my daughter’s Dad having the same fears as me, maybe he just didn’t tell me. Anyway, it’s really sweet and very cool that you worry too. And only a month to go! Awesome! Your new wee one will be so glad to have you for a Dad. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

