Home > Amusings > The New Interrupting Pirate

The New Interrupting Pirate

Since we had guests over for the past week, I was unable to blog but I do have some exciting posts coming on beef brisket, Thai curries and AUTHENTIC tom yum soup, and a review on the looftlighter. Today, I’m going to share something I find amusing.

Most people love pirate jokes. One of my favorites ends with a pirate saying ARRRRR! It’s drivin me nuts. Another is a knock-knock joke:
Knock, Knock
Who’s there?
Interrupting Pirate…
Interrupting Pir
ARRRRRRR!

If you use gchat, there’s a new interrupting pirate:

You usually go through pleasantries and then you ask whatever it is you began chatting w/ the person about.

Then comes that awkward moment.

You consider typing something else, either to justify what you just said or expand upon it, but you notice at the bottom, in gray text:

so and so is typing…

So you decide to clear whatever it was that you typed…but then the gray text changes to

so and so has entered text….

which means so and so felt interrupted by the “Pop is typing…” that he/she just saw on their gchat window and decided to erase their text and type something else. This is usually followed by the “so and so has entered text…” disappearing altogether, which means they are waiting to hear what I have to say. Problem is, I feel like a jerk for interrupting so I move from “Pop is typing” to “Pop has entered text…” to nothing as well.

This process can continue on indefinitely

so and so is typing…

so and so has entered text…


Finally, after a few minutes of gChicken, Google mercifully ends the conversation with:

Sent at such and such time on such and such day

Beyond that, salutations have also become confusing for me in the digital conversation era. Should I feel offended if someone doesn’t offer a Hey Pop and simply launches into their question? Should I wait to ask my question after saying, “Hey so and so” before launching into the discussion? If so, how long do I wait? Do you have to say goodbye to someone when they–and their status and profile pic–are still visible to you? Is ttyl and bbl even used anymore?

And since I converse w/ most people most often through gchat, email or txt, I find I’m a bit socially awkward in that I don’t really know how to say goodbye, and a firm goodbye seems almost rude.

And in the future, are my children going to know how to speak to someone? Are they going to understand the importance of eye contact? Are they going to be able to have thoughts or opinions longer than 140 characters? And are they going to think in terms of characters so much that they’re going to have character requirements/limits for their papers rather than words? What a crazy world we li

You are typing…

Categories: Amusings Tags: , ,
  1. Ina
    April 15, 2010 at 3:35 pm

    gChicken! So true! As for greetings on gchat before launching into a question, I do appreciate the “hi, how’s it going” and then a “hey, quick question–“, especially if it’s someone I haven’t heard from in a while. But if it’s someone who’s really close, I don’t care at all.

    • Pop
      April 15, 2010 at 3:43 pm

      I wonder if I’ve ever overestimated my closeness and launched directly into a question….hmmmm

  2. April 16, 2010 at 10:29 am

    What’s a pirate’s favorite letter in the alphabet?
    Arrrrrr!! hahaha

  3. May 4, 2010 at 8:48 pm

    Really funny. . .

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

