Home > Workouts > Workout (3.16.10)

Workout (3.16.10)

Wow! It’s been almost two months since my last workout. Yesterday, my physical therapist cleared me to do pretty much every exercise that doesn’t require any explosive movements with my ankles. Clearly, he doesn’t know me very well…b/c the only time people associate the word explosive with me is when I’ve had some bad Mexican food. I recently renewed my gym membership for 2 years for $16/month through some shrewd negotiating. The secret to lowering your gym membership?

Step 1: Make a face that’s 2 parts concerned, 1 part confused, and 1 part contemplative.
Step 2: Make this face throughout the seller’s talk. After he’s done talking, continue making the face, adjusting the mix as necessary.
Step 3: Bring your hand to your chin and look like you’re deeply contemplating the offer
Step 4: Say, “You know…I’ll think about it some more and come back next time. Thank you.”

I’ve been able to work down our monthly costs from an original offer of $49 to $36 to $30 to $27 to $16 this way.

Squats: 135 5×5

Bench Press: 135 5×5

Chinups: 3/3/3

Pushups: 20/10/15

Reverse Crunches: 3 x 12

Treadmill: 3.0mph for 10 minutes, increased incline incredmentally to 3.0 for the last 3 minutes.

Midweek Weigh-In: 190lbs.

There are those who say that working out felt so great after a long layoff. I am not one of those people. The workout felt terrible. My hips hurt on the squat, I struggled mightiliy on the bench, and the pushups seemed incredibly hard. So the 2lbs it seems I’ve lost since my last weigh-in is misleading. Yes, I’ve lost weight, but I’ve lost tons of muscle. Time to get back into it! Go, Pop, Go!

Categories: Workouts Tags: , ,
  1. soyoung lee
    March 17, 2010 at 7:38 pm

    3.0mph… 10 minutes straight?! ugh.. i feel sick even reading it..

    • Pop
      March 18, 2010 at 8:19 am

      3.0mph is pretty slow…20 minute mile or so.

  2. March 17, 2010 at 7:45 pm

    Your first workout back makes my regular workout look so sad. It’s tough coming back from an injury so keep up the good work!

    • Pop
      March 18, 2010 at 8:19 am

      Thanks Beccah! Hope I’ll be able to keep it up!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

