Home > Cooking > Easy Creamed Spinach Recipe

Easy Creamed Spinach Recipe

Creamed spinach is fastly becoming one of my favorite things to have with steak. A good steak should be tender but you should also have to wrestle with it at times. Gristle, tendon, large chunks of fat…no one ever said love was easy. So to give a nice contrast and respite from the chewing, I prefer my sides to have the consistency of food that has already been chewed once, e.g., mashed potatoes and creamed spinach.

Tonight, I made strip steaks with mashed potatoes, broccoli and creamed spinach. It was my first time making creamed spinach, so I didn’t think to take pictures, but all my guests seemed to like it, so I’m sharing my recipe with you. This is also why I don’t have any pictures.

For pop, cooking is all about simplicity. Sure, using fresh spinach and wilting them perfectly seems nice, but it takes way too much effort. So I used frozen spinach. And guess what else I use to make creamed spinach? You’re so astute…cream! That’s right! Cream + spinach + seasonings = creamed spinach. I looked up recipes on the Web and found the typical seasonings are salt, pepper and ground nutmeg, the latter of which seems to work very well with spinach. I tweaked the ratios to my liking.

Pop’s Easy Creamed Spinach Recipe
Serves: 6-8

Ingredients:

1-10oz package of frozen chopped spinach
1-10oz package of frozen cut leaf spinach (provides a contrast w/ the chopped)
3tbs of unsalted butter
2-3 shallots – I love me some shallots, so I used 3
4-6 cloves of garlic – I love me some garlic, so I used 6 cloves
6oz heavy cream
1tsp kosher salt
1/2tsp coarse ground black pepper
1/2tsp nutmeg

1. Follow the instructions on the package of the frozen spinach to cook them. Strain and cool.
2. Chop up the shallots and garlic all fine like – I like to use the Oxo Good Grips Chopper to save time.
3. Melt the butter in a sauce pan
4. Toss in the shallots and garlic and using a silicone spatula or wooden spoon, cook ’em for a few minutes – they should change color–more yellower–and smell good. Aren’t my descriptions so precise? 😛
5. Toss in the spinach. Make sure you get the garlic and shallots all throughout the spinach and let the flavors meld a bit.
6. Add the cream and mix well. Mmmmmm…heavy cream!
7. Now add all the spices.
8. Keep cooking until the consistency is about what you’d want it – mine took about 5 minutes. If it’s too watery, throw in some corn starch.

Mmmmmmm!

UPDATE: Made it again over the weekend, and this time, I have pics. I also made more (used 3 packages of frozen spinach) so I adjusted the other ingredients accordingly.

Spinach prepared, drained, and ready to go

Shallots and garlic chopped

Mmmmmelted butter

Salt, black pepper, nutmeg

Garlic + shallots + butter = delicious

Spinach + shallots + garlic + butter

Added the heavy cream and spices

  1. Janice
    March 17, 2010 at 11:26 pm

    me likey 🙂

    • Pop
      March 18, 2010 at 8:17 am

      Twas pretty tasty!

  2. March 18, 2010 at 10:58 am

    it was delicious. aha! i see you used frozen spinach which probably works better than raw. It’s too hard to stuff enough raw spinach into a pot without it coming out. And then it shrinks to the size of a pea and I tell myself, “I should have used more spinach!” but there’s no way, cause when it’s raw, it never fits! I will make this!

    • Pop
      March 18, 2010 at 12:47 pm

      Yeah, I like spinach but it’s a pain to deal with. In addition to overflowing a pot only to end up with a tiny bit of cooked spinach, you have to wash them really well b/c they have dirt on em and everything. Frozen is the way to go!

  3. August 29, 2010 at 7:42 am

    Here is a recipe for The Berghoff’s famous creamed spinach:
    http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/08/29/the-berghoffs-famous-creamed-spinach/

  1. May 17, 2010 at 9:57 am

Leave a Reply

