Home > BBQ > It’s So Hard to Say Goodbye

It’s So Hard to Say Goodbye

Maybe it’s the fact I grew up in a home where we reused everything, even ziploc bags; where the term one-time use was merely a suggestion. Maybe I’m a planeteer and want to reduce the amount of waste I create. Or maybe I’m just cheap. Whatever the reason, I hate throwing things away. You might say, “There’s nothing wrong with that.” Well…behold!

5-year-old grill brush

This is what I use to CLEAN my grill. For you enthusiasts of “Chinese” food–you know, the Chinese “restaurants” that serve steak & cheese–and woks, you might say, “Man! That’s perfect! That brush not only cleans but it also adds flavor!” But there comes a time when the bristles are so worn down that you’re brushing with wood you have to say goodbye.

Dear Grill Brush,

I know what you may be thinking…we’ve been together for 5 years and I’m breaking up with you on my blog…yes, I am a coward.

And yes, the rumors you may have heard are true: I’ve met someone else.

Side by Side

She looks a lot like you but she’s younger and cleans up nicely. I know the cliche is, “It’s not you…it’s me.” But in this case, it’s definitely you. Look at you…you’re not what you used to be. Look how worn down you look:

Worn down

I know…it’s my fault for not taking better care of you. But it is what it is.

And yeah, what other people were saying about you did get to me. “Good God man! Get rid of that thing!”, “HOW CHEAP ARE YOU?! A new brush costs $6! Get a new one!”, “You’re not going to serve me something that was cooked on a grill cleaned with THAT are you?”

And it’s true…you look terrible…it’s a fact that neither of us can deny.

And look at the new chick: her back posture is so much better than yours. Granted, you always had bad posture, and we’ll see if the straighter back is more beneficial, but so far, it looks like it’ll be really good.

Listen, I’ve really enjoyed our time together. It was a great run. But I really can’t seeing this going any further than it has. I hope you get recycled into something awesome some day…but if you end up in a dump, I hope you end up next to a fine piece of discarded meat and decompose in peace.

xoxo,
Pop

Categories: BBQ Tags: , , ,
  1. Alicia G
    March 11, 2010 at 9:43 am

    Nice DoF! 🙂

    • Pop
      March 11, 2010 at 9:47 am

      It’s all about the lens. 🙂

  2. March 11, 2010 at 9:48 am

    I miss your BBQ 🙂 Love reading all your post. Keep up the good work 🙂

    • Pop
      March 11, 2010 at 9:51 am

      Thanks Karms! Maybe another BBQ soon! 🙂

  3. The Buck
    March 11, 2010 at 10:08 am

    The blackness isn’t char or ashes or dirtiness; it’s flavor, Pop. But at least you were honest with both her and yourself.

    I guess you may now end up healthier due to Ms. Grill Brush 2.0

    • Pop
      March 11, 2010 at 10:11 am

      The Buck :

      The blackness isn’t char or ashes or dirtiness; it’s flavor, Pop.

      So true. But GB2.0 should get flavor quickly and then I’ll age her gently over the next decade.

  4. southamerica
    March 11, 2010 at 10:54 am

    Somehow I feel dirty after reading this.

    • Pop
      March 11, 2010 at 12:34 pm

      southamerica :

      Somehow I feel dirty after reading this.

      That’s probably due to all the “flavor” you’ve enjoyed over the years.

  5. Ina
    March 11, 2010 at 4:05 pm

    I wonder what that brush would taste like if you seasoned it just a little…

    • Pop
      October 22, 2010 at 9:02 am

      It has all the seasoning and flavor it needs.

  6. October 22, 2010 at 8:57 am

    Okay, that totally cracked me up. I cannot believe you used that brush!!

    • Pop
      October 22, 2010 at 9:03 am

      ……

      Then you wouldn’t believe that I still have the brush – I couldn’t bring myself to throw it away.

  7. February 18, 2011 at 1:33 am

    My husband has a t-shirt that’s about 20 years old and full of holes. He still wears it around the house but I’ve forbidden him to wear it outside. He won’t throw it away so I can only guess that an old girlfriend gave it to him… Men do tend to have separation (detachment?) anxiety, and you’re living proof!

    • Pop
      February 24, 2011 at 4:31 pm

      LOL. I have one of those shirts as well.

  1. March 23, 2010 at 10:43 am
  2. May 14, 2010 at 11:33 am
  3. June 9, 2010 at 3:11 pm
  4. April 26, 2011 at 11:33 am
  5. April 26, 2011 at 11:41 am

Leave a Reply

