Home > Goals > Injury Update

Injury Update

February 26, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

So I got a CT Scan done a week ago and the report came back to my podiatrist this week. I went in to see him yesterday and turns out that instead of a talus fracture, I have an accessory bone – something similar to this. So while it looked like a break on the x-ray

BOOM! WHAP!

turns out it’s just another bone. Or it could be that the break healed?

The puzzling thing is, why didn’t he order the CT scan earlier? Ah well, I’m just glad I’m on my way to a full recovery.

So today I began my first session of physical therapy. I had an ultrasound done to reduce the swelling, a massage, and the therapist showed me some stretches and exercises.

Turns out that

  1. My Achilles are very tight – I strained both my Achilles back in 6th grade and never really took of them. In my uninjured ankle, I’m supposed to be able to bend it about 20 degrees; I can only bend about 12.5. My injured ankle was much worse at 5 degrees.
  2. My hamstrings are also very tight.
  3. My hip flexors are also tight.

In summary: I NEED TO STRETCH!

The therapist sure knows how to keep people wanting more b/c he didn’t show me all the stretches or exercises b/c he said he wants to build them up later. Asked if he could just show them to me now so that I can try them later on when I get stronger, he replied he’ll show me at my next visit. Not what I was hoping for since every time I go I have to cough up the $30 co-pay.

Ah well, I’m going to milk it and make sure I get my hip flexors worked on too so that I can get full range of motion on my squats.

  1. February 26, 2010 at 10:12 pm

    Hoorah, almost healed! Then you can show us these stretches, I’m probably in need of more flexibility as well.

    • Pop
      March 2, 2010 at 10:05 am

      Seriously. Stretching is paramount for me now. The PT guy warned me that if I don’t get more flexible, I’ll likely tear my achilles in the future.

  2. southamerica
    February 26, 2010 at 11:07 pm

    Accessory bone? Everything goes with Prada.

    • Pop
      March 2, 2010 at 10:05 am

      Oh you know it! You gotta accessorize!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

