Home > Family, Food, Parenting > O B C D

O B C D

February 23, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Yesterday, we were meeting up with the in-laws to have dinner, and for whatever reason, we decided on Golden Corral in Arundel Mills. So this is the exchange between my daughter and I last night, just prior to leaving for the restaurant:

Me: Are you hungry?
Daughter: Hungry!
M: We’re going to Goldren Corral w/ Samchoon (uncle) and Grandma and Grandpa-in-law
D: YAY!
M: YAY! OBESITY!
D: O B C D!!!

I haven’t been to an American buffet in a while but something about going to one always excites me. Maybe it’s b/c I grew up near a Horn & Horn Smorgasboard and LOVED the food there. I especially loved drinking the little things of half and half…or maybe I’m just a fatty. 🙂 But I was shocked by how fat the kids were at Golden Corral. In no way do I exemplify fitness, and I’m not going to judge the way others choose to parent, but good lawd have times changed! We used to call the one kid who was that big in elementary school fatty mcfats. Granted, he relished the role, and he was a lovable guy, but it seems being overwight is the norm. I saw a child, no older than 8, return with 2 pieces of fried chicken and 5 crab cakes. I saw a kid concoct a dessert that would make Willy Wonka cringe.

My daughter sat there happily eating what we gave her: pieces of  rotisserie white meat chicken that had no skin or seasoning on it, unseasoned broccoli, corn, bread, and fruit. When she asks to have cake or ice cream b/c the other kids are having it, I tell her only big boys and girls can have it. I realize this is not going to work indefinitely.

So on the drive home, I discussed with my wife how I’m going to have to wean myself off of AYCEs to set a good example for our kids. 😦 My tongue and stomach were quite sad, while all of my other internal organs and arteries rejoiced.

What’s also increasingly worrisome for me is how kids need to be encouraged to play. If you watched any NFL games this year, you would’ve seen commercials for NFL Play 60, which encourages kids to get 60 minutes of play each day. Encouraged to play? I’m still in my 20s, but I can’t believe how much childhood has changed in just a few decades. We had to be encouraged to come in the house; to stop running and jumping in the apartment b/c the people downstairs would get mad.

To battle childhood O B C D (as my daughter calls it), Pop’s gonna have to do at least 2 things:

1) Eat healthier and control my portions. If you know me, you know this is pretty difficult for me.

2) When I get home from work, don’t just plop down on the couch to unwind. Instead, go out and play with my kids.

Definitely not going to be easy, but hopefully, by starting now, these two things will be ingrained in me before  my daughter realizes why daddy eats the chicken skin while peeling the skin off of her chicken. Go, Pop, Go!

  1. southamerica
    February 23, 2010 at 11:17 am

    ohhhh, AYCE = all you can eat

    i enjoy the obcd. Genius!

  2. February 23, 2010 at 1:56 pm

    Eating out is the worst. In the past month I’ve been exercising less than usual but ended up losing 10 lbs. The major difference has been eating out less, only had fast food once this past month, can’t say I miss it either.

  3. Eleanor
    February 23, 2010 at 7:55 pm

    omg oppa! i remember when our families went to horn and horn ALL the time…ahh your baby is too cute!

    • Pop
      February 23, 2010 at 8:07 pm

      Haha. The old New Carrolton days!!!

  1. June 10, 2010 at 9:59 am

Leave a Reply

