Home > Goals > Goals Deferred

Goals Deferred

January 22, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Sprained my ankle yesterday playing bball. I was on a fastbreak and my feet got tangled w/ a defender’s. Despite hearing a *pop*, the adrenaline kicked in and I walked it off; I even thought I could go back to playing. An oddity about myself is that I have fairly resilient joints. I’ve rolled/sprained/twisted my ankle many times, esp. playing basketball, but then I just tie my shoelaces tight and I can go back to playing within minutes, so I figured it would be fine. It wasn’t.

I got home and for the first time ever, my ankle swelled. I attribute this to the fact that I was running full speed when I rolled on it. Anywho, thankfully we had all kinds of ankle support gear in the house b/c my wife fractured her ankle a year and a half ago. So I am currently rockin the Mega Boot:

The Mega Boot

Going to head to the doctor later today and hope to get an x-ray. Needless to say, my workout goals are deferred. Hopefully not too long though.

Update: Just got back from the doctor and turns out I broke the posterior of the talus. Basically, the tibia crushed the talus and a small piece on the back end broke off. Doctor says immobilization for 4-6 weeks. 😦 On a bright note, the crutches say I’m 5’9″! WOOT! I always thought I was 5’8″! Additionally, he gave me a new, pneumatic boot! Check out the Mega Boot Pump!

The Mega Boot Pump!

Sadly, they didn’t offer me x-rays, nor did I know that I can request them, but I’ll make sure to get them when I go back in a week or so.

Categories: Goals Tags: ,
  1. southamerica
    January 22, 2010 at 11:38 am

    Get better soon buddy!

  2. A Skag in Taiwan
    January 22, 2010 at 7:42 pm

    No workout for 4-6 weeks eh… I also broke the posterior of my talus… but seriously feel better soon, maybe if you complain a lot they’ll give you some painkillers!

  3. January 25, 2010 at 8:39 am

    Oh man! Hope everything heals fast!

  1. April 26, 2010 at 8:27 am
  2. May 24, 2012 at 7:36 am

Leave a Reply

