Home > Product Reviews > Baby Gear: Little Tikes Super Chef Kitchen

Baby Gear: Little Tikes Super Chef Kitchen

January 11, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

My mom watches my daughter while my wife and I are at work. My mom is quite the cook and she loves cooking up healthy meals for her granddaughter. I’m also into cooking (and eating), so I’m in the kitchen quite often as well. So over the last few months, my daughter has shown an interest in helping out in the kitchen but there’s not much for a <2y.o. to do in a kitchen other than make a mess.

So for Christmas, my mom told me to buy my daughter a kitchen set online on her behalf. My wife researched all the various kitchen sets online and settled on the Little Tikes Super Chef Kitchen:


The price was good ($76 shipped) and it arrived in 2 business days – 2 days before the earliest delivery estimate according to Amazon. My daughter was ecstatic when we brought the box in and she saw the picture of her “oppa unni dul” (older brothers and sisters) playing with the kitchen set on the box.

As with most kid’s toys, “Some Assembly Required,” so I told my daughter daddy would be done with it soon and she can play with it then. Twenty aggravating minutes later, I was done and I also grew a deep hatred for Little Tikes designers who decided it was a good idea to use 3″ long screws on unthreaded holes.

The Item:

– Not terribly difficult to put together but be careful putting the stickers on. I tried my hand at one and it was totally off-center and there’s no way to remove the sticker w/out ripping it. My wife took over the rest of the sticker placing.
– Comes with 2 plates, a phone, a coffee pot, a set of utensils, and 2 cups. Translation: your child is going to need an active imagination to “cook” anything or you could get one of these.
– Has a knob that makes a sizzling sound if you turn it one way and a bubbling sound the other way (requires 2-AAA batteries). The sizzling sound is decent but the boiling water sounds more like a really bubbly fart.
– Pretty small, which is perfect for our smaller townhome.
– Solid and pretty high quality for the price
– Recommended for 3+, probably for height and the need for imagination. Not many small parts – unless you don’t tighten a screw all the way.

The Fun:

My daughter loves it! She plays with it constantly and even pretends to wash the dishes after she makes us a meal. She better get used to it because chores are just around the corner.

The Verdict:

Well worth $70. The sizzling and bubbling sounds are much more tolerable than the myriad other electronic toys she has. Maybe she’ll be a domestic goddess one day. You’re welcome, future son-in-law.

Categories: Product Reviews Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

