Home > Family > Go, Appa, Go!

Go, Appa, Go!

My family (wife + nearly 2y.o. daughter) and I took an overseas trip to Thailand and Korea this past summer. It was a fatastic trip (is there anything better than beef noodle soup for $0.50/bowl or street food?)! We had a lot of fun and my daughter did much better than we had expected – which is easy since we were expecting the worst. But a peculiar thing began to happen.

Four days into the trip, I went up an escalator and once at the top, I felt lightheaded and my heart began to pound. I took a seat and tried to control my breathing, but to no avail. I began to sweat profusely and felt like I was going to faint. Several minutes had probably passed and I was beginning to get scared. Suddenly, my heart rate returned to normal. What the heck was that?!

It happened a few more times on the trip, with no rhyme or reason to the cause. I decided to see a cardiologist when I got back to the States.

To make a long story short, the cardiologist couldn’t figure out what was wrong and since I’m in my late 20s, the Dr. was hesitant to use some of the procedures typically used on people twice my age.

My wife was understandably concerned; my daughter, obviously had no clue. Since being alive is a requirement of a good husband and father that people from all walks of life and backgrounds can agree on, I knew something had to be done. I had steadily gained weight over the past 2 years from 180lbs in late ’07 to 203 when I returned from my trip in late July ’09.

Cue a friend of mine who started looking for workout partners for a new lifting program he had researched called StrongLifts. I’d tried so many programs to get in shape before, but could rarely sustain them for more than a month, so I definitely had my doubts about this program. But I decided to give it a shot.

Maybe it was the motivation from wanting to stay alive and grow old w/ my wife and see my daughter grow up. Maybe it was the encouragement and accountability of workout buddies. Maybe it was the fact that the program doesn’t require me to be a human hamster for 45 minutes only to burn 3 to 400 calories. Whatever the reason, the program has produced great results.

I’m now 185lbs (even after the holidays) and a lot stronger than I ever thought I’d be. I could never bench press 135lbs in college – that’s my warmup weight now. I hated deadlifting – I now deadlift 225. And I certainly never thought I could keep up a fitness program for well over 4 months!

So one of the things I’ll be tracking in this blog are my workouts – when I lift, where I lift, what I lift, how I lift,  who I lift with. But the purpose of this entry is to inform you of why I lift.

Whenever I’m doing any kinds of sports, my wife encourages my daughter to say, “Go, Appa, go!” (Appa is Korean for dad). So when I tell my daughter I”m going to the gym to exercise, she exclaims, “Go, Appa, go!” This is where the name of this blog comes from and is also similar to one of my daughter’s favorite books, “Go, Dog, Go!”

There are definitely days I don’t feel like working out, and certainly days when I’m tempted to cut a rep or my workout short. When I feel this way, I just hear my daughter shouting, “Go, Appa, go!”

Categories: Family Tags: ,
  1. southamerica301
    January 8, 2010 at 6:16 pm

    Great post! I look forward to reading more of your entries about WHY you do the things you do.

  2. January 14, 2010 at 1:54 am

    Go Pop!!! I am proud of you on working out! Hope to see you and the DC Yelpers soon 🙂

  3. May 25, 2010 at 5:24 pm

    Way to go on getting in shape! You made it sound so easy but I’m sure there was a lot of sweat & maybe even tears (hopefully not blood, though) involved. I bought an e-book on the same subject as the program you are using–using strength training to get in shape and lose weight. But I have never started it. I really hate any form of exertion so I’m trying to lose weight just by eating better. For now. Eventually I will have to start working out but I’m putting it off as long as possible.

    • Pop
      May 26, 2010 at 9:08 am

      Thanks, Veronica! It was a lot of hard work–thankfully no blood–but I had a lot of motivation as well. I’d probably lose more weight if I ate better in addition to working out 😛 I guess I’m the opposite – I don’t mind physical exertion so long as I can eat what I want. Give the strength program a try – my wife tried a program before she got uncomfortable in her pregnancy and despite the initial soreness, she felt much more energetic.

  4. September 19, 2010 at 7:16 pm

    This is freaking ADORABLE. I love this story!

    • Pop
      September 20, 2010 at 9:08 am

      Thanks, Marian. And thanks for stopping by.

  5. April 24, 2011 at 6:41 pm

    I love Go, Dog, Go! and now when I read it, I’ll always think of you 🙂

    Thanks for sharing this story with me…I can see why you love it!

  1. March 24, 2010 at 8:31 am
  2. April 6, 2010 at 8:33 am
  3. May 25, 2010 at 10:03 am
  4. August 10, 2010 at 11:43 am
  5. August 17, 2011 at 10:44 am

Leave a Reply

