Home > 30 > Thankful

Thankful

November 29, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

Since my family is leaving for a month-long missions trip to Thailand shortly, in all likelihood, this will be my last blog post of 2012. While I’m super excited for visiting our friends in Thailand (not to mention Mr. Donut), I’m positive the stress-levels in our home will be elevated as we have to begin packing and are attempting to send out our New Year’s greeting cards prior to leaving, so I thought it’d be a good time to reflect on what I’m thankful for this past year (in no particular order):

- For funny kids: particularly D1. Sure being a parent can be challenging often at times, but it’s also incredibly hilarious. In Sunday school, D1′s teacher has been teaching them about the armor of God:  belt of truth, breastplate of righteousness, feet fitted with the preparation of the gospel of peace, , shield of faith, the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the spirit. So each week, they learn about the piece of armor and make it. The teacher then collected the item and held on to it until they completed the unit.

A few weeks ago, D1 told a lie to my wife. When she confesses to my wife that she did in fact tell a lie, my wife asks, “D1, why did you lie?” Her response? “Because mom, my teacher has my belt of truth.”

- For that first bite of rice not causing me to go all Nutty Professor:  My goal weight was 175 and I met that in early October, mostly due to a low-carb diet and lifting weights. Once I met the goal weight, I figured it was time to eat some rice. I’m not gonna lie – I thought I’d go all Nutty Professor and all the fat would suddenly come back after that first bite. Thankfully, I’ve been keeping steady at 175 and I hope to do so for the foreseeable future.

- For my parents: we’ve been living with them for more than a year now, and somehow, we haven’t had any major blow ups. I’m grateful that they’d give up their freedom and comfort to house us. It’s easy to let myself become ungrateful and only think of the inconveniences living with them may cause – choosing to be grateful has been both challenging and a source of personal growth for me.

- For juicy baby fat: D2′s thighs were mighty juicy, but S1′s are even more amazing. For his last checkup, he was off the charts for weight and 90th percentile for height. The little guy’s 6 months old and weighs around 20lbs; D2 weighs about 25.

- For my wife: nearly 8 years of marriage and I’m falling more in love with her every day. This year marked a lot of change and challenges for her: quitting her job and becoming a homeschooler, caring for the kids while I nursed my sprained ankle and stomach issues, birthing and nursing S1, and encouraging me as I spent more time at the gym.

- For this blog and my readers: while I don’t update nearly as much as I used to (those who blog regularly with 3 or more kids, I salute you!), I’m thankful that this blog has been an outlet for my musings and helping me to become better at organizing my thoughts. The people I’ve had a chance to meet and converse with have been an invaluable resource & encouragement in my life.

As we look toward the end of another year, what are you thankful for?

  1. November 29, 2012 at 9:52 am | #1

    Great post! I always get a good laugh when I read your posts. Kids really do say the darndest things. By the way, if that is brown rice, you really don’t have to worry so much. Good luck with all your upcoming travels. Happy New Year!

    • Pop
      November 29, 2012 at 10:16 am | #2

      They really do. And now with 2 kids speaking in the house, it’s even more hilarious. You’re right about the brown rice – I’ve actually grown to like quinoa as well.

      On Thu, Nov 29, 2012 at 8:52 AM, Go, Pop, Go!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 78 other followers

