Home > Family > Random Update

Random Update

I don’t know about other parents with 3 kids, but after having S1, I’ve had as much success at gathering my thoughts as D1 and D2 have at gathering their toys: the moment they’re gathered, they’re all over the place again, to the point you just say, “This is futile.” So while I’ve had plenty of blog fodder over the past 3 months, e.g., D1 saying S1’s package looks like a bun and me no longer being able to look at a pork bun the same way again, I’ve had difficulty putting 2 or more sentences together in a coherent manner. The result is a random update for you readers:

  • Remember my goals for my 30th year? Well, I sucked something awful at them until this post, and since April, I’ve lost 24 pounds. I was 206 on 4/17; 182 this morning. Been doing a low-carb diet, going to the gym 3 times per week and running with the wife 2 times a week.
  • People ask me if having a son is any different. Yes. He has a junk and said junk is in fact easier to clean. Also, diaper changes are always an adventure because you never know when he’ll make it rain.
  • People warned me, but still, the first time he peed on me, I was shocked by the force and speed the urine traveled towards my face. I mean, it’s akin to a tiny, plastic water gun shooting with the pressure of a fire hydrant.
  • Going to the gym isn’t very fun some days but my kids motivate me. Not just so that I model an active lifestyle for them and do my part to ensure I’m around for a long time, but also to intimidate potential suitors. I know it’s still years, if not a decade(s) away (hopefully), but I want to be able to say to that kid, “I’ve been training years for you, punk.”
  • I used to hate running. Mostly because I couldn’t run very far or fast. Now, I love it. I’m still not particularly fast, but somehow, my wife and I ended up running almost 7 miles in 86 minutes a few weeks ago. You never know how far you can go when you’ve got an encouraging wife by your side.
  • Even more motivating when said wife gave birth less than 3 months ago.
  • Since we’re homeschooling, my wife didn’t need to go back to school this August. I thought she’d be somewhat sad. I couldn’t have been more wrong. Having been a high school teacher for 7 years, this was the happiest I’ve ever seen her in late-August.
  • Instagram is hard to use for stalking random people for people with fat fingers like me. #SorryIWasJustStalkingYourPhotosIdidntMeanToLikeThem
  • We’re still living with my parents. It’s both a blessing and a challenge. I’m sure the feeling is mutual.
  • I wore a pair of short-shorts (5″ is pretty short for me) for the first time last week for a run. Felt like I was running naked. Good thing my thighs are so pale – they’re super reflective. Safety first.
  • With 3 kids, there’s always at least 1 person crying or whining in the house at all times.
  • I may or may not contribute to said whining. *ahem*
  • D2 has NO interest in potty training.
  • Our trashcans are constantly filled with crap. Literally.
  • If you eat a bunch of chia seeds and there’s no bathroom near you a few hours later, you’re going to have a bad time.
  • My wife was away for a 3-day trip. They were in their PJs/underwear/diapers/naked for most of those 3 days.
  • I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: teething is no fun. Yes, S1 is teething at 3 months. *sigh*
  • I’m busier than I’ve probably ever been. I’m more scatterbrained than ever. The number of things I forget is usually greater than the number of things I remember. But I don’t think I’ve ever been as happy or laughed as much as I have in the last 3 months. Having 3 kids isn’t easy but it’s a joy.

What about you? How have you been?

Categories: Family Tags: , , ,
  1. Mei^2
    August 27, 2012 at 11:08 am

    Hey Pop, I am so happy for you on losing weight keep it up (fighting as the dramas says! Haha) I always enjoy hearing how you and the family are doing and I must find some time to visit everyone. Today is N’s first day of school as a first grader (time really flies.) Please do say hi to Wife for N and me.

    • Pop
      August 28, 2012 at 3:17 pm

      Hey MM! Thank you! Fighting indeed. Wow…time flies! Can’t believe how much he as grown!!!

  2. August 27, 2012 at 11:29 am

    Oh, Pop! So happy you guys are doing great. You have NO IDEA how refreshing it is to hear from you and this blog post really made my day. I haven’t giggled in, oh well, 3 days? Let’s just say my weekend was pretty much ruined by the experience of walking in on my nanny as she hit our daughter. :( See blog post: http://muminflipflops.com/nanny-trauma-the-day-our-nanny-hit-our-daughter/

    Btw, I don’t mean to depress you so if you don’t feel like it, you’re welcome not to read it.

    • Pop
      August 28, 2012 at 3:19 pm

      Oh my goodness!!! That’s horrible!

  3. August 27, 2012 at 1:22 pm

    The “bun” comment is killing me!

    When my daughter was born, my son said she had a “front butt”.

    I know. We keep it classy at the Gardner residence.

    • Pop
      August 28, 2012 at 3:18 pm

      LOL. Sadly, front butt is an all to real thing in America these days, no?

  4. Kim
    August 27, 2012 at 9:43 pm

    Good to see you, Pop! Three definitely up the ante and provide a whole new level of fun! So glad to hear you are sticking with the running etc — I need to get back into it. Twenty lbs is GREAT!

    • Pop
      August 28, 2012 at 3:18 pm

      Thanks, Kim! Lots of fun…and cleaning. But mostly cleaning. I mean, fun….

  5. TK
    August 28, 2012 at 3:13 pm

    Congrats on your weight loss! You’re doing a great job. My daughter recently informed me that life is going to be difficult for me when we have three kids in the house. (Yep I’m pregnant.) I’m glad you found a moment to update your blog.

    • Pop
      August 28, 2012 at 3:16 pm

      Oh wow! Congrats, TK! I don’t know how much more difficult having 3 is, but I do know it is MUCH tougher to take pictures now that we have 3.

      • TK
        August 28, 2012 at 3:25 pm

        I didn’t think about that, but your right. Perfect excuse to buy that remote I’ve been wanting for my fancy camera. If my husband asks I’m blaming you. =)

        • Pop
          August 30, 2012 at 1:04 pm

          Actually, tell him you need a camera body and a few lenses too. You know…for the baby.

  6. August 29, 2012 at 3:30 pm

    I did not appreciate the ease of cleaning junk until I had a girl. So much easier! And I find the fountain easier to deal with than the puddle that girls make.
    I still hate running.

    • Pop
      August 30, 2012 at 1:05 pm

      I’m currently changing both his and hers (D2 has NO interest in potty training. Sigh) and it’s no contest on ease. And I guess any poo/pee while in the process of changing diapers is never a fun thing.

  7. the buck
    September 4, 2012 at 2:19 pm

    Chingoo, congrats on your son!

    I swear we really are the same person. I’ve also been doing a hIgh fat, low carb, and no calorie counting diet. I’ve been living off of pulled pork, pork belly, and veggies!

  8. November 8, 2012 at 3:46 pm

    Just caught up on your blog and was laughing a lot. Mostly on the topics of your little man getting circumcised and your white thighs serving as safety reflective gear. :>) Hope you guys are well!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 79 other followers

