Home > Blog Memes > Lies, ALL LIES! (Well, mostly)

Lies, ALL LIES! (Well, mostly)

October 18, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

I usually hate being tagged in things, e.g., the current viral status thing going on in Facebook land, which I call, Like This and I Will Fill Up Your Wall and All Your Friend’s Timelines with 8 Facts That May Make You Think I Know You Thereby Justifying Your Existence, or simply, the bastard love-child of 25 Facts About Me, a.k.a., “somebody please read this!!! I’m special dangnabbit!”

I originally planned to post pictures from the BBQ this past weekend but didn’t get a chance to download and upload them, so this will have to do. You can thank Bethany over at Organic Enchilada for tagging me, and Poppy for tagging her, and Lori for tagging her. And besides, how could I pass up the opportunity to title this post after one of my favorite clips from Austin Powers?

So what’s the deal? The following are five lies and one truth.  Your job is to pick out the one that is 100% truth and leave your answer in the comments section.  Let’s see who thinks they know me.

1) I didn’t get a chance to upload pictures from the weekend’s BBQ because I was pooped. Literally. I went to an Indian buffet on Friday, which I normally love but afterward, I felt worse than I usually feel after an AYCE. The next morning, I was cleaning the toilets, which serves two purposes: 1) it ensures guests are not disgusted and 2) it ensures the toilets don’t get clogged by the carnivores and their boulder-like dumps. While cleaning, I had to fart. Except, like a Transformer, there was more than meets the eye. That’s right:

From that point on, I had to visit the bathroom no less than 13 times that day. Let’s just say by the 13th time, I really wish we hadn’t bought the toilet paper that was slightly rougher and $0.012342 cheaper than the brand name one.

The next day, my gas was still undergoing condensation (I think that’s the right term. Science nerds?) so I had to hold in any and all farts. All of this was very exhausting. Not to mention, I was hungry. I wanted to eat but eating meant I’d have to poop, which meant I’d have to wipe, which hurt (I may or may not have had to use a diaper wipe at some point this weekend).

So I went to bed at 7pm and didn’t wake up until this morning. Save for a couple trips to the bathroom.

Also, my wife is a saint.

2) My parents dumped sent me and my sister to Korea to get rid of us for the summer let us experience the rich culture of our homeland for the summer when I was a rising 4th grader. Sadly, my wife and I won’t be able to dump our kids in a similar fashion as sending kids on planes by themselves under the care of the stewardess flight attendant is pretty much a no-no now. When I went, I was 90lbs. When we returned in 2 months, I weighed 120lbs (Yup. I gained 30lbs) and when I went up to my mom at the gate, it went like this:

Me: HI MOM! We’re back!
Mom: *puzzled look*
Me: Mom. It’s me! Your son.
Mom: *trying to hide shock/disgust but clearly looking disturbed*

A week or so later, we had to take pics at Tae Kwon Do and since my belt status didn’t change, I had to wear my old green belt. Except my girth caused it to look like a bow tie.

3) When my wife (then gf) studied abroad for a semester I gained 30lbs and my vision prescription tripled. I told her she was never allowed to go away for so long again because I’d become morbidly obese and blind. Mercifully, she didn’t dump me at the airport. Like I said, she’s a saint.

4) I was leading worship once and I said, “Bring your breast to God.” Another time, I sharted but I made it through the entire set. Then I calmly waddled my way to the bathroom. Somehow, I still have my gig as a worship leader.

5) I once dropped my iFriend in the toilet. While pooping. I was reading something and after I was done, I put the phone in my pocket. Or so I thought. As I got up to flush, the phone fell out of my pocket into the toilet full of poop just as I depressed the toilet handle. The phone was obviously too large to get through the hole, so it sat there as water was gushing over it. Without even thinking about the turds the were likely on the phone and in the grooves of my silicone case, I reached in and grabbed my phone. Flustered, I decided to run the phone under the sink to get all the poop particles off. Yeah, that’s pretty much shortbus material right there. The phone flickered a couple of times and then powered off.

I then fell to my knees and prayed, “God. I know I probably shouldn’t be praying about this, but please, please make my phone work again.” Worst part was, a bunch of my friends chipped in to get me the phone for my birthday and the iPhone was much pricier back then ($300).

The next day, the phone worked. Without any glitches! I used the phone for about 2 months and then experienced an unrelated software issue with the device and had the phone replaced for free under warranty.

I never used my iPhone while on the can ever again.

6) When I was in high school, I dreamed of being a break dancer and KPop idol.

Alas, my dreams of poor lip syncing with teen girls screaming were dashed when I realized I couldn’t A) sing, B) break dance , or C) have girls screaming at me unless they were angry.

So which one is 100% true?

And I tag my Twitter BFFs: Mommy of a Monster and Kludgy Mom.

  1. October 18, 2010 at 3:23 pm

    #1.

    • Pop
      October 21, 2010 at 9:13 am

      Incorrect. Though that manes you were following my FB status updates and tweets.

      • October 21, 2010 at 9:50 am

        HAH. Well I remembered the Indian buffet tweet and you talked about it on Saturday. Though when I answered…it seemed too easy so afterward, I was pretty sure I was wrong.

        I feel deceived.

  2. October 18, 2010 at 3:31 pm

    I am afraid to vote. I’m going with #2, as opposed to one of the options that is ABOUT #2. 😉

    • Pop
      October 21, 2010 at 9:14 am

      I know. Looking back, #2 was definitely on my mind.

  3. October 18, 2010 at 3:31 pm

    I’m going for #6. The least amount of detail is usually closest to the truth. 😉

    • Pop
      October 21, 2010 at 9:14 am

      You are wise, PP. Wise.

  4. October 18, 2010 at 3:36 pm

    I pick #5 because the thought of your poop-infested phone being prayed over and then pressed against your ear for every call you made…it’s just priceless. I like it, even if it isn’t true.

    And I’ll be sure to bestow a chain-letter-type blog award on you in the near future. 🙂 Only kidding.

    • Pop
      October 21, 2010 at 9:14 am

      Glad I didn’t disappoint you.

  5. KLZ
    October 18, 2010 at 4:03 pm

    I vote #1 is true simply because it ends “my wife is a saint”. Must be true if you’re trying to butter her up, no?

    • Pop
      October 21, 2010 at 9:15 am

      She is a saint. And in 5 years of marriage, I’ve learned to butter her up every chance I get. I like to think of it as a down payment for stupidity.

  6. liz
    October 18, 2010 at 4:06 pm

    I say #4 is true!

    • Pop
      October 21, 2010 at 9:15 am

      I’m grateful it’s not.

  7. October 18, 2010 at 4:15 pm

    well SHIT, #1 is true.

    • Pop
      October 21, 2010 at 9:16 am

      It was mostly true. And I still can’t believe I slept for so long.

  8. October 18, 2010 at 4:22 pm

    #4

    • Pop
      October 21, 2010 at 9:17 am

      Again, so glad these things didn’t happen to me. I couldn’t believe it when people told me these things.

  9. October 18, 2010 at 5:16 pm

    Well I know you went to an Indian buffet last week, so I’m going with #1.

    You’ve got poop on the brain. Seriously.

    • Pop
      October 21, 2010 at 9:17 am

      Indeed. Hopefully, I’m done with foodborne illnesses for a while and should be blogging about less crappy things.

  10. October 18, 2010 at 10:16 pm

    #1. Definitely 1.

  11. TK
    October 18, 2010 at 10:46 pm

    I’m going with #5 five because my husband did the EXACT same thing to his iTouch. He had it less than a week when he dropped into the toliet bowl that was currently full of his poop. GROSS!!

    • TK
      October 18, 2010 at 10:47 pm

      I mean #5.

      Writing #5 and the spelling out five….now that is short bus material.

      • Pop
        October 21, 2010 at 9:18 am

        LOL. So what did he do with it? 😛

  12. October 18, 2010 at 10:47 pm

    There are so many choices, and all of them could be true. I’ll go with #4.

  13. October 19, 2010 at 1:18 am

    TMI–TMI!!!! I’m going with #5. Omgosh. Pop. Omgosh.

    • Pop
      October 21, 2010 at 9:33 am

      Haha. Hopefully all the poop is flushed out of my system (literally). 😛

  14. October 19, 2010 at 1:36 am

    I love that so many of these involve sharts or other bodily functions. I’m debating between #4 and #5… but I think #4 is true. Mainly because I can’t fathom you would part from your iFriend for even a moment.

    • Pop
      October 21, 2010 at 9:33 am

      I love my iFriend so much I dug in the crapper for it.

  15. Mommylebron
    October 19, 2010 at 8:29 am

    I’m going with #5 if for no other reason than this is my bigest fear. 🙂

    • Pop
      October 21, 2010 at 9:38 am

      Glad it hasn’t happened to you. 😛

  16. October 19, 2010 at 8:56 am

    As I often take my “iFriend” to the potty with me, and I fear the droppage myself? I have to pick #5

    • Pop
      October 21, 2010 at 9:41 am

      Oh the dreaded droppage. You never think it could happen to you. I certainly didn’t.

  17. October 19, 2010 at 8:36 pm

    No. 5? Hahahaha you’re hilarious and here I am trying not to snort and laugh at work 😛

  18. October 20, 2010 at 3:18 pm

    OMG – you are good… This is like NPR’s Wait, Wait Don’t Tell Me. Anyway, I’m going to go with the iFriend in the can story.

    And I’m going to try to eat my lunch now without thinking about this post. Wish me luck!

    BTW, I left you something on my blog today; if you get the chance, check it out. No worries, it’s not something that was floating with your iFriend.

    • Pop
      October 21, 2010 at 9:41 am

      I love Wait Wait Don’t Tell Me! Such a funny show!

  19. October 20, 2010 at 5:43 pm

    wow. that’s a lot of poop to wade through. i’m going to go with #2 b/c of the random korean videos. though, i would think you would have lost weight there, not gained. i’m totally telling my dh that #5 is true b/c it grosses me out that he plays words with friends while he’s sitting there. maybe your story would be enough to encourage him not to go that route anymore. 🙂

    • October 20, 2010 at 5:44 pm

      oh, side note – love austin powers! my sister could quote the entire therapy scene by heart when we were in college. “my mother was a french prostitute named chloe…”

      • Pop
        October 21, 2010 at 9:43 am

        Haha~ I have an unhealthy love for Austin Powers. And I may or may not play games with friends while on the can.

  20. October 20, 2010 at 6:47 pm

    I think you did all these things and deliberately have not played by the rules to show your sneering displeasure at being tagged.

    That’s what I think is true.

    • Pop
      October 21, 2010 at 9:44 am

      Haha. Oh, empress. You are indeed wise! Live forever! 🙂

  21. October 21, 2010 at 8:51 am

    I will go with the last one being true- least amount of detail, less room for lies.

    • Pop
      October 21, 2010 at 9:44 am

      The scary thing is, my wife says the same thing when I try to lie to her. I’m a terrible liar.

  22. October 26, 2010 at 1:32 pm

    If there’s one thing I know, it’s that you never buy cheap toilet paper or paper towels. Ever.

    Now, I’m gonna say the last one is true…

    And thanks for tagging me! It’s gonna be fun…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment